We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful introduction to Ottawa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Ranked #20 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elsternwick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful introduction to Ottawa”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great staff throughout the hotel, especially in and around the restaurants and bars. When/if we return to Ottawa, we would certainly stay there again. On the subsequent experience at other Fairmont hotels/resorts, they certainly rate extremely high on all aspects of the stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed your visit to our nation’s capital.

Thank you for sharing your comments with others on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    823
    368
    168
    101
See reviews for
663
1,040
113
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haliburton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A high end hotel with high end prices. I don't mind an occasional splurge at a hotel like this, but at these prices the least they could do is throw in internet service. I was disappointed that it cost $16 bucks a day. Seems petty to me. The parking garage was not accessible (faulty card reader) and there was no hot water in the bathroom sink unless you ran the water for at least 7 minutes. The staff however was very pleasant at all times!

Room Tip: Rooms are small and we had a very unattractive view of the roof - and only the roof!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLCHalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Your experiences are certainly not typical of the high standard of service we strive to offer our guests and I sincerely regret your disappointment.

We encourage you to join our President’s Club. Membership is complimentary and provides many benefits including free wi-fi.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel smell. Disappointed with this due to reputation and Fairmonth name. I had stayed in Halifax and experience but this Ottawa was a dump from a smell point of view> I think the carpets has to be changed or use a deodorizer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Karen,

We sincerely regret your disappointment but assure you that your experience is certainly not the norm. We do hope you allow us the opportunity to provide the high level of service that we are known for, by returning one day soon.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay in the hotel. It was made special as it was our first trip here. We thoroughly enjoyed it from the ease of booking, to parking the car to the stay in our room.
Location was fabulous and central. The staff showed us different places to visit too. Couldn't recommend this more. Loved it and thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jacquie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jacquie,

So good to hear that your stay in Ottawa’s Castle was a memorable one.

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife retired on the day of our most recent stay. Steve at the front desk was excellent on check in and also the next day for check out. Our room had been upgraded from Queen to King with view of east tower of parliament buildings and Rideau Canal Locks. We had an evening planned in the Market so the hotel was a short walk to everything. Enjoyed a swim in the "original" pool before check out. Decor of building is very interesting and upscale.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rideauski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Sounds like a wonderful retirement celebration!

We are delighted that your stay in our Castle was a memorable one!

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Beautiful rooms and overall ambiance and excellent excellent staff!! The location and views could not be better - literally next door to the Parliment Buildings and a two minute walk to Byward Market - put this on your bucket list!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Angela,

We certainly are fortunate to have the premier location right in the heart of our Nation’s Capital.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

While quite majestic on the outside and even on the main floor level the rooms of the hotel are horrible. Check in was quite stressful. The young lady at the desk could not find my President's Club information nor my name. She advised I'd have to pay for internet until I could find my information. Finally a supervisor came and found me without a problem. I was told I'd have a Courtyard View. I did not go to Ottawa for a view of inner walls of a hotel. The room was very over priced. $309 which was "conference" price. I was moved to a room with a better view, but I can't say the same for the state of the room itself. The room is badly in need of an upgrade - from carpet, to furniture to the tiny bathroom with the straight shower rod and ancient counters. There was dental floss on my floor and a hair on the bathroom door. The walls were dirty. I asked for a wake up call at 7:45 a.m. and was called at 7:25 a.m. They haven't even automated a wake up service. I can stay at a Hampton Inn which includes breakfast, internet and parking. This hotel nickle and dimes guests. Eg. they wanted $9.00 for the bottle of water that was in the room. Guests deserve better than what the Chateau provides.

Room Tip: Ask for higher updated room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyleighOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
You will be pleased to know that we will continue our next phase of our guestroom renovation program this summer. We hope you return one day and we are confident that you will be pleased with the results.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
278 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
2,107 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Property: Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing