We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The servince was very prompt and friendly and from the bellman to the desk staff we were looked after well. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The decor is gorgeous.
The bellman were the friendliest and

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Gloria,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Ottawa’s Castle.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 3,217 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at this imposing French Chateau styled hotel, which is located right in the heart of the city and close by the Parliament Buildings. The hotel is within easy walking distance of most major tourist attractions and it sits alongside the beautiful Rideau Canal.
Our room was spacious and well appointed with in room coffee/tea making facilities and the usual mini bar. The bed was very comfortable, but the bathroom was on the small side with a short length bath. A pity the extremely dirty windows spoilt the view.
A word of warning to the unwary about the bottled water and the tempting array of snacks laid out by the TV without a price list. Of course they are there for you to sample if you want,but Fairmont do charge if you do- and not at supermarket prices. Also if you are not already aware the mini bars have pressure sensors, so if you move anything in the bar the hotel assumes you have consumed the item disturbed and automatically charge to your room account accordingly.
We had dinner in the restaurant which had a good ambience and we found it conducive to a relaxing eating experience..The food was excellent, both in quality and presentation and services was friendly and efficient. The menu is fairly extensive, but of course it comes with prices to match, although overall we felt it was fair value for money. Breakfast is served buffet style,but again we found it excellent with something to suit virtually every ones taste.
Reception and conscierge services were efficient and everyone we dealt with was helpful and very pleasant.
All in all a very enjoyable stay in a character hotel which did fully live up to its reputation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarleyRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

It certainly sounds as though your stay in Ottawa’s Castle was a memorable one!

Each of our guestrooms should have a price list for items from our Refreshment Centre and I regret one was not present in your guestroom.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you are looking for an experience to remember while in Ottawa choose the right hotel - the Fairmont Chateau Laurier. The hotel room location gave us a view of the Parliament building. The staff are amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Valarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Valarie,

We truly appreciate your nice comment and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon!

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Location is perfect, Nice hotel. bed was comfortable, room was spacious and nicely decorated. Air conditioning unit was somewhat noisy. On arrival the men's room on the main floor was messy but staff called both to have the men's room cleaned and to have the air conditioning looked at as soon as reported. Asked in the evening at the desk to see a breakfast menu for the 1 restaurant that serves breakfast but 1 could not be located.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for sharing your comments with others on Trip Advisor.

We hope to see you soon!

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed at the chateau laurier first week in June joint work and vacation. Lovely large room- oustanding service- came from the train station by cab greeted by chat laurier door man by name! Whisked to the front desk and next thing I knew I was in my room super efficient and amazing service. As if they magically transported me to my room. Plus I sent promo materials ahead of time and they had them for me right away. Service very warm, friendly professional and polite. all staff in all areas lovely to interact with. Bar is superb- service, food and drink. Building is gorgeous and kept up - lots of attention to details. My favorite is the pool experience. Right out of a scene of Great Gatsby- very art deco- very large and perfect diving pool. Salt water makes it even better. Would go back here in a heartbeat. They made my stay in Ottawa- amazing. Thank you Chateau Laurier! I'm a president's club member- you get free wifi if you sign up- may want to consider this if you need it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victravelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

What a lovely review! Thank you for sharing your comments with others.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Castle and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Gorgeous building but lacks some of the amenities now taken for granted in hotels: expensive wifi, no make up remover in the bathroom, $9 bottles of water on offer.
Parking is expensive and dirty.
Staff was selectively friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We regret your disappointment and assure you that your experience is certainly not typical of the high standard that we strive to provide all of our guests. We hope we have another opportunity sometime in the future.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Outstanding high quality place. Central location. Smart, efficient staff.
Best beds in any hotel we have experienced in many years of wide travel experience. Great restaurants although a bit pricey. Grand Experience overall!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

It certainly sounds as though your stay in our Castle was a memorable one!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,
Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
448 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#11 of 69 in Ottawa
2,218 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 69 in Ottawa
1,144 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 69 in Ottawa
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#11 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £148 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing