We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bumped to the Courtyard!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bumped to the Courtyard!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were actually booked at another Hotel and were bumped so we ended up staying here for one night. I was worried because I read 'not favourable' reviews on Trip Advisor but it was actually a nice place. It was clean and nice but there were 2 things - first there's a couple of stairs to go up and with a luggage trolley that's impossible; secondly, they put us on the first floor and when I opened the drapes I was looking at a person staring back at me on the street outside (the sidewalk is directly beside the windows). That was creepy & a bit disturbing. It is located in the Byward Market so the location was good. I wouldn't avoid this place but I would insist on an upper floor. The parking was odd in that I wanted to bring my car to the door to load the luggage but you cant do that without leaving the secured parking lot. The room itself was nicely decorated but the beds and pillows are horrible. I expected better from a Marriott Hotel but its a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: do not stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for providing feedback for your experience at our hotel.

We were happy that we could improve your impression of the hotel in a positive way. The first floor rooms are along the streets of the downtown area. We understand that not all guests enjoy main floor rooms so we do our best to accommodate guest’s requests. However, there are certain factors that can affect this, such as occupancy.

We are sorry to hear that you had a difficult time with the luggage cart. Typically, we try to have a bellman or front desk agent available to assist with such matters. Also, we are currently verifying all rooms to ensure that the beds and pillows meet Marriott standards.

We hope the next time you visit Ottawa that you will choose our hotel!
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    339
    122
    30
    18
See reviews for
207
225
62
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was in Ottawa for a business trip and extended my stay to take in some of the sights. I decided to go to a Senators game and the front desk staff were extremely helpful with ticket and transportation information about the game. The hotel was very clean, with modern décor, and was very quiet. I am a very light sleeper and never heard a door close during my entire stay. Would absolutely stay there again and recommend to anyone who is looking for good value in downtown Ottawa!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galpal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We’re so happy to hear that you were having such a good stay with us you decided stay with us a little longer and take in some of what Ottawa has to offer! We hope you enjoyed your Sens game and are glad that our staff took the time to get you the information you needed. We understand the importance of customer service and clean rooms so we’re glad we meet your expectations! We are in a busy location, so light sleepers can request rooms away from elevators or which face our inner courtyard and we will be happy to accommodate to the best of our abilities.

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we hope to host your next visit to Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for five nights and received excellent service at this hotel. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and eager to be of assistance. The facility met my expectations; the staff exceeded my expectations. Check-out was simple. The location is excellent. My only complaint was the lack of A/C in the cardio room. I did not use the pool or hot tub.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank torontojen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor!

We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff exceeded your expectations with their attentiveness and friendliness. We truly believe that each of our guests deserves excellent customer service! Our location is probably one of the best in Ottawa offering our guests a large variety of things to see and do all within a short walk. Our gym are does have AC, however being a small area it may warm quickly. There is also direct access to outside so the sliding doors can also be opened for fresh air. I highly recommend using our pool if you have the chance as it’s kept at a nice 73 degrees Fahrenheit!

Again we want to thank you for giving us your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to host your next visit to the Nation’s Capital!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of Byward market which makes for great dining choices. You are also very close to Parliament Hill for tourism. Unlike many Courtyards, this hotel still has bath tubs which is a plus for me. The rooms have been recently refurbished and the beds were nice and firm and the pillows were in great shape. Very friendly staff. Only downside, the windows don't open and I like fresh air (though not a problem at this time of year). In the past I have stayed at the Marriott Ottawa but I stayed here my last two trips and this will be my "go to" hotel for future visits to Ottawa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inside courtyard (but close to the elevator or you can have a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We’re glad to hear that you intend to return to stay with us! There truly is no greater compliment!

We strive to offer our guests excellent customer service and clean and comfortable rooms so we’re pleased to hear we met your expectations in that regard. Our location certainly helps our guests take full advantage of the city by offering a large variety of restaurants, stores, local attractions and more all within a short walk. And while our windows unfortunately do not open, we do have a “vent” option on our heating/AC units which will draw fresh air from outside without heating or cooling it. If you have any difficulties finding this option on the control, please don’t hesitate to contact the Front Desk and we will be happy to help you!

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon in Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was a family trip top downtown, Ottawa for some sightseeing and relaxing.
The front desk staff, namely Stephen was very helpful, accommodating and pleasant.
We had booked two rooms and found then clean and comfortable.
The pillows were a bit too firm but the bed was fine.
A note on the night table warned of possible external noise b/c of the hotel's location and ear plugs were provided for use. Also white noise machines were available on request.
My spouse and I were not disturbed although another family member in the other room had difficulty sleeping.
Perhaps, summer may be loud but I had no trouble sleeping on this trip and am usually awakened by noises.
There are diners nearby and a hotel bistro and most everything is within comfortable walking distance.
There is an indoor pool but my nephews did not swim as another family had used the pool and said it was not as warm as they would have hoped.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summer789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers!

We’re very happy that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and I look forward to passing on your kind words to Steven! We always try to give our guests the best service and that includes clean comfortable rooms so we’re glad we met your expectations in that regard as well. We are in a very busy area with over 100 restaurants, boutique shops, a farmer’s market and more all within a short walk. This can sometimes lead to increased street noise, however we do our best to accommodate all guests and ensure they are having a good night’s sleep. Rooms which face our inner courtyard can be requested and they are not affected by the goings on in the area. Our staff is always ready to make restaurant recommendations as well! We do try to keep our pool at a pleasant 83 degrees Fahrenheit so I’m going to have our maintenance department verify to ensure it is being heated properly.

Again, we thank you for giving us your feedback and we’re glad you had a nice trip with your family! We hope to see you again soon!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a wonderful experience when we stayed here. The staff were the friendliest ever and our room was great . We were right in the middle of everything and enjoyed it immensely . There was lots to see and do and all within walking distance .One of our best stays by far ! Would definitely reccomend this to anyone .

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was great .We quite enjoyed the hustle and bustle of a busy downt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for the review! Your feedback is appreciated.

Customer service is important to us and we want our guests to feel welcome. We’re happy to know that you found our staff friendly. Our hotel was recently renovated to update to the Courtyard style. The rooms, lobby, Bistro and halls were all redone.

Our location is unbeatable and provides guests easy access to restaurants and attractions. We hope you took advantage of this during your stay.

We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for the review.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Nice place, located downtown, check in is easy, check out just as easy, the room was nice, typical hotel room, the bed was comfortable, pillows were a little to firm for me, but overall not a bad place to stay. There are a couple of nice places around the area to eat/party...nice pubs in the area. Ottawa is a nice place to visit, and would come back in a heart beat, maybe not in the winter. Brrrrrrrr.....

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelingKnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We appreciate the time it took for you to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay! We are in a phenomenal location and within walking distance to over 130 restaurants. We are also happy to know that you found the staff efficient and the beds comfortable.

Thank you again for the review. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ottawa Downtown

Property: Courtyard Ottawa Downtown
Address: 350 Dalhousie St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing