We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
389
400
137
32
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
400
137
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews byward market great location york street typical courtyard within walking distance parliament hill ottawa downtown beaver tail weight room front desk staff rideau canal market area restaurants and bars quiet room underground parking walked everywhere central location
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

My wife and I have been staying at this location ever since it opened as a Holiday Inn well over a decade ago. The Marriott chain did a fine job upgrading some years ago. The hotel's draw for us is its still reasonable prices and really central location in the Bywartd Market close to good restaurants, Parliament Hill, and many other Ottawa sightseeing attractions. The bedrooms are spacious and pleasantly decorated, although the decor and bathrooms could now do with some upgrading. There is a "bistro" in the hotel where one can get a decent basic nosh and drink at reasonable prices. If you really want to stay at a Marriott with higher prices and further away from all the action, there is the high-rise Marriott on Kent Street. But for us, the colourful Byward Market location is still where it's at!!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bman222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you bman222 for your delightful comments!

I am so glad that to hear that you have had so many wonderful experiences with us here at the Courtyard. There really is always something going on in the vicinity of the hotel. Looking forward to hosting you again!

Regards,

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Best location for a fun stay as you walk out the door to the Byward Market - restaurants, National Gallery, Ridesu Centre, Parliament Builfings, picturesque views and more all within a short walk. The hotel is kept very clean, friendly staff, Starbucks on site etc. Very nice.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank HarronThomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you HarronThomson for sharing your experience!

I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our central location. Did you get a chance to visit mosaica on the Gatineau side? It is a spectacular exhibit of more than 45 horticultural masterpieces that are set up around Jacques-Cartier Park. A great way to get some exercise in an afternoon.

I hope we get the chance to host you again in the future,

Best,

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel recently while attending a wedding in Ottawa. The location of the hotel was fantastic for us. If you intend to spend a fair bit of time in the Byward Market, this would be a good value hotel. Now for the pros and cons. Pros: location, amenities, ease of parking, etc. Cons: noisy (both noise outside and noise between rooms), smaller rooms, fairly basic.

I would stay here again if in the area, but I did want to point out a couple of things that kind of irked me about our stay. The first is that our room was not ready until almost 30 minutes beyond an already late check in time of 4:00. Given that the reservation was under a group booking it was obvious that we needed to be at a wedding that evening so it was quite inconvenient that our room was not available until 4:30. I was given a chocolate bar from the snack area as an apology. The other issue is that housekeeping entered our room twice when they would not have been expected to do so. This is not a hotel that offers turn-down services, so it was highly unusual that house-keeping (or someone else) entered the room in the evening while we were out and again on check-out day before we had checked out. The room wasn't tidied or cleaned, we could just tell that someone had been in because lights were on that we had turned off before going out.

I feel as though this was just a matter of disorganization - house-keeping entering rooms at the wrong time - which is probably what led to the late check-in.

Room Tip: The third and fourth floors would likely be a bit quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us cansal!

I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location here in the by-ward market. There are lots of restaurants and touristic sites to see within walking distance of the hotel. Parking can be challenging to find here in the market so I can see how you would appreciate our onsite parking lot.
I am saddened to hear that we were unable to provide you with an earlier check-in. It can be quite challenging when the hotel is sold out on the weekends because we do receive a flurry of early check-ins. In the future, feel free to call us early in the day so we can try to block you in a room ahead of time. That being said, I will be sure to bring this up with our housekeeping team so we can look to improve our efficiency and get everyone checked in a timely manner.

I hope everything went well at the wedding and we get a chance to host you again!

Regards

James D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

After our previous visit to Ottawa we knew that we wanted to stay in the Byward Market area. The courtyard is centrally located here and is convenient to everything that the market has.
Since its a courtyard you know what you're getting. Same standard rooms including colors and decor. The same lounge serving breakfast in the morning and food in the evening ($$ no free breakfast at courtyards).
They have paid parking with pretty much room for everyone.
So it's the standard courtyard you can count on with an awesome location.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank svogels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel was nearly perfect! It is located in the perfect spot, within walking distance to everything you’ll want to do, food, shopping, farmers market, etc. The beds were comfy and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only reason it didn’t get a complete perfect is breakfast was late getting out one morning and threw us a bit behind.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank browneyedcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews