We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For Low expectation travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #62 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For Low expectation travellers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

You might chech same price hotels if you get almost same price this Location is persuasive. Airport down town number 97 bus can take you close. Breakfast free but American (low) standard. No window for fresh air , air condition works noisily. Bathroom is large enough. towels and bed sheets was clean. I did not see bugs or mold around. If you travel by car there are courtyard parking spaces free.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank managment5680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    36
    71
    32
    43
See reviews for
38
61
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked this room so we could park the car and walk. We were going to BUSKERFEST on Sparks St. On the way, we passed Rideau Centre. Byward Market,the Cannal, Parlement Buildings, and the War Memorial. The hotel was just what we needed for a 3 day trip. It wasn't much to look at from the outside, but the room was clean and spassious . It had no pool, it had free parking, a great continental breakfast, it was quiet, and the staff were great.We will go back.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good and they all face the courtyard parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grampab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel about 8 years ago and based on my recent stay I'm positive that the management has not done any renovations since then. The paint is falling off the walls, screens in windows are ripped, The hotel is in a state of disrepair.

The front desk staff seemed annoyed if I asked a question and with the fact that i reserved the room with one credit card but paid with a different one. That was a sign of what to expect with the hotel.

The room itself on the inside wasn't too bad, about what I would expect for the price of the room. However I wasn't happy that the door had about a 1.5 inch gap on the bottom to the "outdoor" hallway.
The breakfast can be skipped as the dinning area is in no better shape than the rest and the fact that the breakfast consisted of toast, cereal or waffles no yougurt, fruit, or even bagels/muffins it was by far the smallest breakfast i've ever seen in a hotel.

I also thought the location was a little sketchy, and didn't want to venture out after dark. I wanted to go eat in Byward, but knew it would be dark on the walk back, so didn't bother.

Not having a fridge in the room , i went to get ice in the morning to fill my cooler for the drive however, found that the door to the ice machine/stairs wouldn't open for me so I had to walk all the way around the hotel from the other entrance to get to the ice machine. When I got there i had to squeeze by the baby strollers that were stored there by the "monthly" residents of the hotel.

I would recommend spending the extra $25 or $30 and staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: ground floor has drive up rooms, with windows looking into the parking lot rather than windows which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenflyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

It is worst hotel that I have ever had. The hall wasn't indoor in my opinion, the hall would need a lot of reservation. Some lights were out smell like cigarette and a lot of spider webs. Also I got several bug bite on my leg so I really didn't want to use the blanket so I used my towel that I have brought from my home. Also I wanted a room change because my original room didn't work WIFI so I requested a room change and got my room changed but the key didn't work. I was really disappointed. When I depart for the Ottawa from my all the way back home from Winnipeg, I was really excited for the vacation but when I arrived at this hotel that made me puke. I really don't recommand this place! Never

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Rooms need updating, location is fairly far from downtown (only works, if you travel by car). The room smells and air conditioning does not seem to do the job. I DO NOT RECOMMEND staying there, unless everything else is booked.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bus_leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here as I regularly come into Ottawa for a night of work. Location is just east of King Edward, meaning just beginning to leave downtown and it is a run-down neighbourhood. If you walk from downtown you should be prepared to be asked for a lot of handouts from those on the street. The hotel itself looks like it rents room by the hour from the outside. I am surprised, to be honest, Choice Hotels lets something so run down keep it's name. However, the inside is much better and my room was likely recently renovated. One double sized bed (although square pillows like on a couch) with clean sheets. The room seemed very clean. I expected bugs so checked - didn't find any. A nice, large TV with about 80 channels of cable. The picture was really fuzzy but when I jiggled the cable it cleared up. Somethings are odd, like the windows into the hallway. Front staff was pleasant. My room had a fridge and a coffee maker. There was one pack of coffee, no decaf, no tea. There is a domestic-style window air conditioner in the room. It certainly had enough power to cool the room, but was loud and did have a strange location where it is basically impossible for it not to blow on you in the bed. Breakfast is very minimal - packaged baked goods, white toast, no bagels or cream cheese even. No fruit for sure. Nothing warm outside of waffles. Coffee is rather watery. Travelling by myself, I would likely stay here again. But if I had my wife and daughter with me - no way! The inside of the room looks like a different hotel compared to the outside. The best shawarma place in town is across the road and there are two nearby grocery stores.

Room Tip: Corner suite has a window to the outside, instead of a shower window facing the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingPriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

i waited to write this review with the hopes that the hotel or choice hotels would offer me something
for the horrible nights stay we had and compensate us for the inconvenience of no sleep and bug bites but all i got from choice hotels is we will contact the hotel and have them respond and all we got from the hotel is sorry we stripped the room and sprayed it . now let me tell you about the stay.
pulled into a run down motel checked in room , it was old but looked ok bathroom looked a like they trying to update a little so ... parking lot had children running around ( families living in motel ) dropped our stuff off and went to meet our other party for dinner ( reason we stay in ottawa ) spent the evening with them and returned to econolodge. sat up watching some tv and went to sleep around 2 . woke up several times through the night felt like bugs crawling on me and husband could not find anything on bed or ourselves but continued to be woken up through the night finally at around 6am ( NO SLEEP ) could not take it anymore so we got up and showered and left. visited the breakfast bar - pathetic not a fruit in sight a waffle maker some toast and juice:( within the next 2 hours my husband complaining about something on his elbow looks like a bite and my neck and arm started swelling ( i am allergic to spiders and so it began ) . beware of this place spend the extra 60-80 for a good nights sleep and a decent breakfast . very sketchy neighborhood would not recommend elderly or children to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o1_diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#29 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#50 of 67 in Ottawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ottawa East
Comfort Inn Ottawa East
#54 of 67 in Ottawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 475 Rideau St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Downtown Ottawa The Econo Lodge(R) Downtown is in a prime location minutes from the University of Ottawa and close to many national capital attractions including Parliament Hill, the Royal Canadian Mint, the National Arts Centre and the National Gallery of Canada. The nearby Rideau Canal is perfect for canoeing, kayaking, skating in winter or simply strolling along the shore. Some of the area's best shopping facilities are nearby, including Rideau Centre mall, ByWard Market and the Sparks Street Mall. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. All spacious guest rooms at the Econo Lodge hotel are air-conditioned and have cable television. Some rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves and whirlpool bathtubs. Non-smoking rooms are available. Guests of this Ottawa hotel enjoy many amenities, including free continental breakfast, free coffee, free local calls, free parking and wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Econolodge Hotel Downtown
Econo Lodge Ottawa
Ottawa Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing