We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel!”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel!”
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

A colleague and I recently stayed at Arc - very nice! Both rooms were small but very well appointed. Reminded me of some of the nice boutique hotels in Europe that I have stayed in. Good for business travel - great location - good desk area to work at.

Wouldn't recommend itbif traveling with a child as the rooms are very small - mind you neither of us had a room with 2 beds so those may be larger.

Parking is valet only and it is $26 per day! Steep! I am sure there is parking nearby but then you have to schlep all you baggage aroumd - just not practical.

We got an excellent rate by booking online and pre-paying. Standard rate was a bit steep.

All in all nice hotel - I would recommend it as long as you are getting a decent rate!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your comments and vital feedback. We are always striving to do our best for our guests and your experience will ensure we do just that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    440
    180
    85
    33
See reviews for
117
451
99
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here just one night but it is a great hotel. Excellent location to everything. Room well appointed, clean and very friendly staff. Only thing really lacking was a view but can't do much when the other buildings are taller.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We are glad you were able to stay with us during your trip to Ottawa. It sounds like we were able to meet all of your expectations and we hope to have you return on your next visit so we can exceed them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Staff welcomed us with glass of sparkling champagne on house and rooms were very clean. Newspaper was delivered to door but ac was too loud and couldn't turn it off so I was freezing in the room. Small fridge in the room was useful as well. Lastly dont pay for valet parking there's $7 parking across street.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay with us. As General Manager, your comments are invaluable to me. I look forward to welcominig you back when you next visit Ottawa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We slept one night and went for breakfast the next morning. Awesome, the food was delicious and the service was great. I would strongly recommend this hotel to all! Very well situated, great atmosphere, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for your sincere comments about ARC The.Hotel. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your say with us and would recommend us to other visitors to Ottawa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal quebec
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We only stayed one night but really liked this hotel. Nice room, comfy bed, nice bed linens and bathroom. Didn't eat in the restaurant because there were so few items on the menu. Well located downtown. No parking nearby and $25. valet parking available at the hotel. Friendly staff, quick check in and a welcome glass of wine is such a nice touch. We got an excellent rate through Exedia. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will be sure to share your comments with my guest services team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

It was overall an ok stay , but nothing special and "boutique hotel"
bed: comfortable
bathroom : very small
view: terrible
the only thing that got me "excited" was the body milk by thann in the bathroom

Room Tip: ask to not have a wall of brick in your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
We are dismayed that you had an average experience. We hope you will come visit us in Ottawa in the future, so we can improve your opinion of ARC The.Hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

An interesting 'boutique' hotel well positioned in Ottawa to see the various sights.
Rooms are good sized however the bathroom is the size of a telephone box.....small!
Because the hotel is located on a main road it gets noisy when works take place in the evening for the various offices opposite so maybe ask for a room at the back. Valet parking is efficient but at C$30/night somewhat expensive. The hotel seems to be staffed by young Canadians who seem to now what's around the area and are all very polite together with the housekeeping staff who beat the standard I get in many European hotels.
Wifi is chargeable however it's free in the lobby along with free coffee and tea but......impossible to connect so try Tim Hortons or Starbucks nearby instead.
I liked the water, apple and chocs as part of the turn down service.
Overall a very good stay helped with great weather.

Room Tip: Choose one at the rear....there is no loss of view as there is no view anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Your feedback is welcome at ARC The.Hotel. Although we are always disappointed to hear that someone’s stay was not to their satisfaction, we appreciate knowing what issues you experienced so that we can take the appropriate steps to correct them. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing