We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is good. Rooms are small/average size. I have stayed in this hotel several times and the hotel is very clean, staff is really helpful and location is ideal. There are no views from this hotel except for office buildings around it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U-Choudhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Umair C. We are very pleased that you choose to stay with us while you are in Ottawa and are happy to provide you with your 'home away from home'. Please let us know should you require any additional preferences on any future bookings to make each stay better than the last. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    440
    180
    85
    33
See reviews for
117
451
99
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

During my winter stay in Ottawa I most appreciated free tea and coffee in the lobby after coming back from the frozen city :-). Rooms were nice, though I had the view of the wall of the neighbouring house, anyway it is not unexpected for a hotel located in the centre of the city (very conveniently). The air-condition in the room was a bit noisy. Staff was helpful. I also liked the well-equipped gym which was always empty.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Katerina5656. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you took advantage of our facilities including our hot coffee and tea during those cold days. Hopefully we will see you again, perhaps during Winterlude? All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel in July which started with a warm welcome greeting and complimentary glass of sparkling wine! The staff were very helpful and gave us great suggestions on where to eat. This hotel location is excellent for getting to most of Ottawa's downtown sights. Our room was cozy, and the decor was very hip. The magnifying mirror in the bathroom was helpful too! This is a great "getaway hotel" choice for anything you may have planned in downtown Ottawa!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newfie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, Guest Experience Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Newfie27. We are delighted you enjoyed our sparkling wine reception and our Guest Experience Staff. We always strive to improve and provide our guests with the best experience possible and welcoming you back would be indeed a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Though there was road construction just outside the hotel, the valet/doorman, Lu, made it a hassle-free experience. This boutique hotel is a great location - close to all that is interesting in the Capital. Tough the room was smaller than you would have in a larger hotel, it was comfortable and inviting. Comfy bed and big screen TV. Only stayed one night but would do it again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieandJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi JeannieandJono. Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that our valet was able to assist you around the unfortunate road work. We can't wait to see you again to provide you with continued guest service excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My fiance and I spent a night in Ottawa and he was debating between whether to book the Arc or a chain hotel and I encouraged him to compare both on Trip Advisor. He booked the Arc because it wasn't a chain hotel and their reviews were good.
After realizing there is not much overnight city parking we used the valet service where they parked his car behind the hotel, underground for about $28. Upon checking in we received a complimentary glass of sparkling wine which was lovely! The room was very clean and the hotel itself was quiet (this was on a long weekend). The only thing I would comment on (which did not affect us) was that the hotel itself it not accessible upon entering i.e. for people with mobility issues, unless they have an alternate accessible entrance I did not see one. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdvisorChic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi and thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are very glad you decided to give ARC The. Hotel a try on for size! We wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon and continue to give you a truly amazing guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I spent the night at the hotel July 19th, having stayed previously and loved it.
The service was impeccable starting with valet service and sparkling wine at check. The room was perfect and the bed soooooooo comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel for a night away from your (kids) and cares!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Danak77. Thank you very much again for your comments. I hope we can expect you with us each time you are in the city. We take great pride of our Luxury Boutique ARC The. Hotel and hope are gracious that you do as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I can't begin to explain how disappointing my stay was at the Arc in ottawa. Not only was my room filthy, the service from the staff was absolutely terrible and unresponsive to my concerns. I would recommend that folks avoid this place. Sad to see how far this place has fallen in quality and service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher M, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi Sthume. First off, I would like to sincerely appologize for what you described as a less than pleasant experience with us. This is certainly not the standards to which we adhere to as mentioned in previous guests comments. I can only hope to welcome you back so we can show you waht we are truly about here at ARC The. Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#21 of 67 in Ottawa
1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Ottawa City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Property: ARC The Hotel
Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing