We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We had a weekend getaway in Ottawa and booked Novotel. We traveled with a small baby so we have ordered a crib. When we came late in the evening the crib wasn't there, but the moment we complained about it they broght a playpen, which we refused, and they got us a crib immidiately. Other than that, no issues at all. Room was clean. And maid came every morning to clean it up, good pillows, ac was in every room and working properly for heat and for cold.
We had king superiour room and it was a bit small for us. Open concept made it impossible to watch tv in the luving room when baby was sleeping.
TIPS: 1) To save on parking get the daily pass. They did not tell us about this option. We had to figure it out.
2) Do not eat at local restaurant. The food was gross and expensive. We paid $100 for club sandwich, pasta, salad and 2 ice creams.
Hotel is in the area full of yummy places.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Platok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Platok,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies if you received a play pen instead of a baby crib. I am also surprised about the fact that you were not advised of the parking arrangement at check-in. Our associates systematically explain the advantages of setting up parking directly with the hotel.

I am sorry you did not find our restaurant to your liking. as you mentioned the area has several alternatives for food.

Thank you.

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Ottawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked in advance and got a very reasonable rate. We generally prefer large, efficient, anonymous chain hotels when travelling, so had no problems with what this Novotel offered. It was comfortable, clean and in a great location for exploring Ottawa on foot. There are also numerous restaurants and shops nearby but do try the Albion Rooms restaurant and bar in the hotel - we had a very enjoyable evening there. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Magic C,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night with a 10month old. They did not have cribs available ( even though we requested at booking), and when we went to guest service all we were told was "its first come first serve and we are "out of luck". We paid our bill by debit and yet the hotel put a hold on our credit card which they failed to release for over a week, it took a dispute from the credit card company to get them to release the funds. When we called to complain the manager was beyond rude . I guess I was "out of luck" for choosing this hotel... and it wasn't cheap!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Anna K,

Please accept my sincerest apologies if we did not fulfill your expectations on your last stay with us.

I am sure our staff did the best they could do to accommodate your many demands. Unfortunately, there was a high demand for cribs on the dates you were a guest. Since your reservation was made through a third party, your request did not make it through to our end.

I am glad you were able to resolve the hold on your credit card with your bank.

On your next trip, I hope you will be able to find accommodations that will be able to suit all your needs.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the Novotel hotel this past weekend (May 23-25th) with my sister and mom because we were participating in the 1/2 marathon on the Sunday. This was the third year in a row we have stayed here and I have to say that this year I was not imprssed with the customer service we received at the front desk. On Saturday night we went to bed early as we had to get up to run the next day but we were unable to fall asleep due to the noise coming from the room next to us. There was banging, yelling and loud music that lasted for hours. After 30 mins we called down to the front desk to let them know the situation. About 5 mins later someone from the hotel came banging on our door and when we opened it, they loudly said to us "Were you the ones who called us about the noise complaint?". We explained the situation but they did not go next door to speak to the loud guests. About an hour later the noise was worse so my sister and I went down to the front desk. An employee came up with us and on the way told us that he was suprised it was this loud at midnight and said it would probably get worse at 3am. He also told us that if we found it too loud, we should go over ourselves and knock on our neighbour's door to tell them to quiet down. Once we were upstairs and while we were still in the hallway trying to get into our room, the hotel employee knocked on our neighbour's door and told them that we had complained about the noise and that they should lower the music. That didnt happen and we did not get to sleep for several hours.

The next morning when checking out we were asked how our stay was and we said it was good besides the fact that we had been kept up all night due to partying neighbours. The hotel employee just laughed and gave us our bill.

Overall the hotel is in a great location, the restaurant for breakfast and dinner are wonderful but I feel our situation should have been handled better. We were not the only ones who experienced it as we heard other guests complaining about the same thing but on a different floor. When you are paying $215 and up for a room, I expect to be able to sleep in a peaceful environment.

We will be thinking twice about booking here for next year's run.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Kimberly A,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay during race weekend in Ottawa.

Please accept our sincerest apologies if your stay was not up to what you have had experienced in the passed. I will certainly follow up with our night staff on how to deal with a noise complaint. I'm sure our associates did the best they could under the circumstances and the people they were dealing with.

I would like for you to contact me directly so we can discuss proper compensation for this past stay. Please call me on my direct line at 613 760-4778. I will be glad to discuss further.

Looking forward to speak to you,

Best Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager'
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good location but service was weak. Called front desk regarding broken desk chair and never got a response nor was it replaced over 4 days. Also other guests were given my room number and tried to key in - no response. Electrical outlet at desk only works if overhead lights are on - ridiculous. The bar does excellent craft cocktails and bartenders and servers were great - maybe they should run the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Steven S,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

Please accept my sincerest apologies if our offerring was did not satisfy your expectations. I am quite surprised that another guest was sent to your room. I am sure that once advised, our front office associates did everything to resolve and restore your secutity. I will certainly follow up with the Front Office Associates concerning this matter.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me should you want to discuss this matter further.

Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
613 760-4778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The location is downtown, walking distance to everything. The room was clean, beds were ok and bathroom was good. The front desk staff we just ok, not very knowledgeable about events happening in the city. We were there for the Tulip festival. I would return to Ottawa, but I think I would try another hotel.

Room Tip: I had 4th Floor, no view, try much higher
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Mike M,

Thank you for your words concerning your recent stay.

I am surprised in reading that you find that the agents were not knowledgeble about the festival, as they all had information about hte different sites and the free transportation schedule.

Please accept my sincerest apologies if our agents were not able to answer your questions about this festival.

Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Staff and amenities were fine

Check in and out efficient

Booked Deluxe double and found the rooms incredibly small

Certainly not what we expected after researching this Hotel

Will not be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buhhda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Buhhda,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your recent stay at our hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies if the accommodations with two double beds did not fulfill your expectations.

I am sure you shared your impressions to our Guest Services Associates and they did their best to find you with alternate options.

If you would like to discuss further about your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 613-760-4778.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Best Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
2,135 reviews
Lord Elgin
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 67 in Ottawa
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £98 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing