We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Botucatu
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Upgraded”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you very much for the upgrade to a Suite Room you gave me.
This is a well located hotel with covered parking lots and very comfortable rooms. Services (Front Desk, housekeeping and maintenance) are also good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Levon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Levon A ,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Novotel Ottawa.

It is great to hear that we were able to meet all of your needs.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    678
    262
    91
    42
See reviews for
344
398
96
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Front desk is not well versed on service or area. No bell hops or concierge. Stayed in room 739. Next to elevator. Not a good night of sleep yet as it is too noisy. Bed is comfortable but no plug ins near bed for phone. Best part is Albion restaurant but mostly due to one person, Nevit. Free wifi is a plus over Westin next door. But, thinking Westin may have been a better choice. At least for a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Request away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Corina B,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that our staff at the front desk were not able provide you with the information you were looking for.

It is great to hear you have a wonderful experience at the Albion Rooms. The restaurant has been a great addition to our hotel.

We are always happy to accommodate any requests you may have for your room and if your future travels do bring you back to Novotel, please let me know so I can ensure a nice and quiet room for you.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
tconstantineau@novotelottawa.com
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Helpful and friendly employees
Free internet in all rooms
Located in downtown
Very Clean and good services
Near to one of the largest mall at Ottawa
iMac computer available to access the internet @lobby

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajidNasirinejad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear MajidNasirinejad,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to hear that you found our staff and services to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Ottawa.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I just spend a wonderful night at the Novotel in Ottawa. The location is fantastic within walking distance to the great restaurantss in the Byward Market The people were freindly and the hotel appeared to have had a recently updated. I was travelling on business with other associates and we were all overwhelmed by the friendly, caring staff from the front desk to those working in the bar and restaruant. Although I am a regular at Novotel in other cities, I only get to Ottawa once a year so you can imagine how pleasantly surprised I was when I walked into my room and saw that I was given a 1 bedroom suite and a lovely bottle of red wine and a fruit tray waiting for me.
Nice touch Novotel. When in Ottawa, you are the only place I will stay.
m

Room Tip: There is street construction going on so you might want to ask for a room on the other side. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear maggie k,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Novotel Ottawa.

I am very happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again at Novotel Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

it is a pretty decent location where you can walk to most places
fair rates, friendly staff and sufficient rooms
gym is tiny but there may be access to a larger gym off site?
didnt try the restaurant, but it's menu looked nice

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yawadnapupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear yawadnapupu,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa.

We currently do not have any official agreements with any gyms close to Novotel. We are currently planning a complete renovation of our wellness areas, this would include a larger gym facility to be built.

We look forward in welcoming you again!

Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Novotel Hotel is in the heart of downtown Ottawa. Great value, with very clean rooms and basic amenities. Within seconds of Byward Market, Ottawa Convention Centre....There is no food service if you arrive mid afternoon and I was not able to try the only restaurant in the hotel.

The hotel was very quiet and sleep quality was good although bed was a little on the hard side. I would have liked some body cream in the room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granddamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear granddamme,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

Although our restaurant The Albion Rooms, is not open during midday on the weekends, Room Service is available for our guests requesting a meal during that period.

Rest assured, body cream is a available upon request.

Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We had a weekend getaway in Ottawa and booked Novotel. We traveled with a small baby so we have ordered a crib. When we came late in the evening the crib wasn't there, but the moment we complained about it they broght a playpen, which we refused, and they got us a crib immidiately. Other than that, no issues at all. Room was clean. And maid came every morning to clean it up, good pillows, ac was in every room and working properly for heat and for cold.
We had king superiour room and it was a bit small for us. Open concept made it impossible to watch tv in the luving room when baby was sleeping.
TIPS: 1) To save on parking get the daily pass. They did not tell us about this option. We had to figure it out.
2) Do not eat at local restaurant. The food was gross and expensive. We paid $100 for club sandwich, pasta, salad and 2 ice creams.
Hotel is in the area full of yummy places.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Platok,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies if you received a play pen instead of a baby crib. I am also surprised about the fact that you were not advised of the parking arrangement at check-in. Our associates systematically explain the advantages of setting up parking directly with the hotel.

I am sorry you did not find our restaurant to your liking. as you mentioned the area has several alternatives for food.

Thank you.

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
234 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Property: Novotel Ottawa
Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing