We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
321 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Location!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is very well located, a 2 minute walk from the downtown area and also close to the canals and the Parliament. Location is hard to beat. I got a room upgrade which was nice since I stayed for 5 days.
Breakfast was ok, could improve with some more variety.
Staff very helpful.

I tried to get a water cooker to make tea but that proved to be hard. They did get this fixed the next day.

Not an overwhelming hotel but you won't be disappointed either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear degtravel,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa.

As a Top Contributor, it is great to hear you find that our location is hard to beat. I apologize that we were not able to provide you with a kettle on your first night with us, but I am glad that we were able to resolve the issue the next day.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Novotel Ottawa again.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    671
    261
    92
    41
See reviews for
335
394
96
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Parking at the Novotel is $23 per night, so if your driving and staying for any length of time forget it cheaper to fly or take the train. Lots of construction in the area and noise from the street. The rooms are adequate, some nicer than others. For the price I expected a bit more, however, the staff was excellent. The location was close to everything and the Convention Centre where I needed to go everyday. Had dinner in the restaurant for a business function and was not impressed. The soup was burnt tasting and meat tough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrio57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear terrio57,

I sincerely apologize that your dinner experience and the size of the room did not meet your expectations.

I am glad to hear that you found the staff excellent. We strive to consistantly provide outstanding customer service, and it is great to know that we followed through on that promise.

You mentioned that you felt that some rooms were nicer than others. We always do our best to accommodate any requests that our guests may have. If your travels bring you back to Ottawa, please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to stay with us again and I will be happy to assist you with any requests.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
tconstantineau@novotelottawa.com
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We regularly stay at the Ottawa Novotel with a family of five, although we're getting close to the kids' ages when we'll have to find another regular hotel we like that can accommodate larger families more comfortably. For now we're fine with two kids in one bed and their toddler sibling sleeping in the other bed with us, but that can only work for so long and this is a smaller hotel without much variability in room/suite size (or at least we've never found, or been offered, any larger suites).

That's a shame, because we much prefer the Novotel to the Les Suites next door, which can easily accommodate larger groups in their apartment-like suites, and which is obviously geared toward families, but frankly has never been very enjoyable for us, because of the inevitable crowds during summer months, the unimpressive cafe, and the absurdly slow and busy elevators in the mornings around checkout time.

The two hotels share a very nice pool and a small gym, but therein lies the problem we've begin noticing: the pool facilities the past few trips, and especially during our latest stay, have been incredibly crowded---mostly, we assume, with families and large groups from the Les Suites (which I think may actually own, or at least is charged with much of the management? of the pool ... I may be wrong on that). Moreover, on the last two trips the hot tub has been out of commission most or all of our stay.

I'm not sure if this is typical and we've simply managed to avoid busy holiday weekends in the past (quite possible), or if these are growing pains for two hotels that are of very different sizes and target clientele, trying to share modest recreational facilities.

As a family we definitely prefer the Novotel's vibe, and the breakfast, over the crowds and bottlenecks that we've faced in the Les Suites when we've stayed there (although I can see why families our size and bigger prefer the latter suites). For us, the breakfast has always been the big draw with the kids at Novotel: they eat free, and love the buffet, even though they rarely end up eating much.

In the future we may start staying at the Lord Elgin (which has a very nice pool and hot tub, and seems fine with fitting three kids into a room with two queen beds) or the Fairmont Laurier (much more expensive for suites that could accommodate a family of five, and a big, nice, but a bit odd pool, and weird stuffy vibe for kids - fantastic location, though).

Still, for business or vacation travel alone or a couple? or for a family of four, or even five (with young kids)? The Novotel is probably the nicest downtown Ottawa hotel we've found at that price and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingacademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear ramblingacademic,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about Novotel Ottawa.

I am very happy to hear that you prefer the Novotel Ottawa over other hotels in the area. I understand that for a family of 5 it is very difficult to accommodate all of you in just one of our rooms. I strongly encourage you to enquire about our Family Rate next time you are traveling to Ottawa. This rate gives you 50% off of a second room that is booked for your children. We can always accommodate adjoining rooms so that you will still be next to each other.

We have plans to renovate our gym and pool area in the near future to better suit our guests' needs.

At Novotel Ottawa, our loyal guests are very important to us and I hope we will still be able to provide you with what you are looking for in the future.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
tconstantineau@novotelottawa.com
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I just returned from a four night stay at Novotel, Ottawa and had a restful experience. I stayed In a regular King room on the ninth floor ( FYI...the hotel has nine floors but there are several more floors higher in the building...Novotel appears to share the building with some government offices.)
As mentioned, the room was small but tastefully decorated. The mattress and pillows were extremely comfortable and the linens were top notch. Instead of two sheets, the bedding consisted of a flat bottom sheet and a lightweight duvet for a topper...very European.
The bathroom had a large walkin shower and no bathtub. Shampoo and soap was provided but I didn't notice any conditioner or skin lotion.
There was an electrical outlet on one side of the bed and we ended up recharging our devices from across the room. The windows open and the air/heat was easy to control.
The stay was peaceful and housekeeping was great. Be careful with the stocked mini bar. I was afraid to touch anything after I read about the "sensors" that immediately charge to your account when an item was moved.
I didn't eat in the restaurant and breakfast is NOT included in the room rate.
The location of the hotel couldn't be any better and you are in walking distance of several of Ottawa's prime landmarks...Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, National Art Gallery.
Check in and check out was seamless and the front desk personnel were friendly and efficient.
No trouble with parking...cost around $95 for four days...quite reasonable considering the location.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views...there is a lot of construction all around the building...and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Jacksmom_9,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

I am glad you found the room comfortable. As you said, the way the bed is made is a european style, but there is always a top sheet available in the closet if you prefer to add it to the bed. The shampoo provided in the room is actually a 2-in-1 shampoo and condtioner. The minibars are sensored, but rest assured we will not charge you for anything you did not consume and our guest service agents will always confirm the charges upon your check-out.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again in the future.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Get away weekend amazing
The decor really nice and high tech. The location walking distance from ByWard Market
There's always something happening downtown. Closed to all tourist attractions. The pool amazing and the water nice and kind of warm. Inside parking that's was great. I will go back anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Martine L,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about Novotel Ottawa.

It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic time!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botucatu
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you very much for the upgrade to a Suite Room you gave me.
This is a well located hotel with covered parking lots and very comfortable rooms. Services (Front Desk, housekeeping and maintenance) are also good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Levon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Levon A ,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Novotel Ottawa.

It is great to hear that we were able to meet all of your needs.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
193 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Property: Novotel Ottawa
Address: 33 Nicholas St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $23+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing