We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Staff was friendly. Hotel was within walking distance of many museums and Byward Market. Kids enjoyed the pool and the hotel room. Free wi-fi Parking was a little pricey and no fridge in the rooms. Other than that I would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Cassy G,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be happy to know that we are currently planning our upcoming renovations to our guest rooms which will include a mini fridge for personal use instead of the minibar that we currently provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Ottawa.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in a king room and it was amazing! Very comfortable room, lots of space, two seater lounge, arm chair, desk with swivel chain, full shower and free wifi. The staff were very helpful, our tv remote wasn't working well and after leaving a note housekeeping replaced it. Also our iron was a little sticky and they sent someone up straight away to replace it. Great customer service. Check out is at 12 which is a good time, no need to rush to be our early morning. The hotel is close to the Byward Market which is perfect for anything you need to eat, it is also a short walk to the Rideau Mall and Parliament House (which is where you can board the hop-on-hop-off buses). The only negative of this hotel was the pool. It is shared with the hotel next door and due to the hotel weather it was full every time we tried to visit, also there was a strong chlorine smell on level 5 where the pool is. However despite the pool I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Well done Novotel Ottawa!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aus-vick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear aus-vick,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from our guests, especially from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back shortly.

Best Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the heart of "everything to do" great restaurants, street performances and bars. The hotel is very clean and great for families. Park your car you won't need it. You are able to walk to everything

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear James A,

Thank your for taking the time to review your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa.

It is wonderful to hear that the location perfectly met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel Ottawa.

Tanya Constantineau
Lead Guest Service Agent
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rooms are clean, beds comfortable but room small. Would of liked a useable fridge instead of a minibar. Breakfast buffet worth including in cost very tasty. Locations was great, walking distance to parliament and byward market. Staff was friendly. Disappointed car was scratched in parking garage. Gym is cramped and traffic to pool cross through.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear D M,

I am glad to read that you find our location to be perfect for exploring the city by foot.

Thank you for mentioning our breakfast buffet offering, certainly one of the best kept secrets the Albion Rooms has to offer, did you try our croissants?

I am sorry your car got scratched. The facility attached to the hotel does have some tight spots that one has to be careful when parking.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Great location (although currently across the street from a huge construction project) and newly renovated, but just doesn't really all come together.

Byward (and all that brings with it) and Parliament are right round the corner.

The WIFI was either absent or non-functional the entire time, and our room smelled wet and musty, even though it never seemed to get itself cooled off. Average sized rooms for the price.

Wouldn't pick this property again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Edspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Edspar,

Thank you for reviewing your last stay with us. As a Senior Reviewer, your opinion certainly carries it's weight.

Please accept my sincerest apologies if the coverage of the WiFi network was deficient, the difficulties you encountered with the air conditioning and odor you found in your room.

Our teams work hard everyday to provide a memorable stay for our guests, I would like for you to get in touch with me so we can discuss about your experience in order to avoid dissatisfaction from future guests.

I hope you will view this as an isolated incident, and will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
613 760-4778
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. It's a great location right in the centre of town. However parking is very expensive, No breakfast provided, And had things taken from the room by housekeeping. Hotel staff were very unhelpful in dealing with my missing property and were also rude. Would not recommend this hotel

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear ktd84,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on your recent stay.

At Novotel we take our guests security and peace of mind very seriously. Please get in touch with me directly, as I would like to personally investigate this matter.

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com
613 760-4778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was nice. Two staff on separate occasions said we could have breakfast at buy one adult get 2 children free. I am travelling with a group of girl guides, we thought it was a good deal. Once we'd started eating they told us the deal wasn't for groups and we had to pay the full price!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowyowl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Snowyowl29,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us.

Please accept my sincerest apologies if there was any confusion on our breakfast offer. I will be addressing the issue with our Food and Beverage department to clarify on how this policy applies.

Please contact me directly and I will look into rectifying this situation for you.

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com
613 760-4778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 69 in Ottawa
451 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#11 of 69 in Ottawa
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 69 in Ottawa
1,298 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 69 in Ottawa
795 reviews
The Metcalfe Hotel
#18 of 69 in Ottawa
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £96 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing