We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WelcomINNS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WelcomINNS
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Bathurst, Canada
1 review
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Great hotel for the price. Room was clean and spacious. Location was convenient for us - close to Highway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    63
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
42
36
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay here last year so we came back. Everything was great. We requested the same 2 adjoining rooms we had last year and the staff accomodated us nicely. The rooms were clean and very comfortable as before. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms had a small fridge but no microwave. Didn't like having to go to the basement to use one. The hotel is a short drive from downtown and is convenient to a large shopping mall and several restaurants, some within walking distance.
Free parking and free WiFi was a plus and the value is excellent, especially the weekly rate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mustangsallie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We are a family of 4 that stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. I booked on Expedia and got a great deal. This hotel was much cheaper than all the other hotels in the area.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. This hotel is a budget hotel but the price for the rooms is unbeatable for what you are getting - free continental breakfast, complimentary parking, high-speed wireless internet, etc. All the hotels in the downtown area were charging $20+ per day for parking. Our room was very clean and maid service was good. The room had a mini fridge and the air conditioning worked well.

The continental breakfast is served in the small front lobby. There is a basket of muffins, coffee, cereal, toast - very basic. I only went down once for the continental breakfast. There isn't much space to sit so I grabbed a coffee and a couple of muffins for the kids and went back to my room.

Across the street is a very large shopping mall (St Laurent Shopping Center) and downtown Ottawa is a short drive away. Close by are several restaurants.

We were very pleased and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellieb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were quite disappointed with the cleanliness of the public area right from the entrance to the lobby that stunk with cigarettes smoke and the reception that was surrounded by painting tapes(green tapes) for the unfinished jobs, coffee stains on the lobby floor(lobby used as breakfast room too), overflowing garbage bins, unfriendly staff especially the lady that replenishes the empty milk jugs, bread trays(Ihave to call them to replace/fill up) the trays and milk jugs, very limited and running out of loaf bread for toasting.
The room we had was okay, clean and quiet. The corridor you walk on is dirty, the elevator was uncleaned, right down to the lobby. Not staying again in this budget hotel. Breakfast was awful!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havensprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We travelled to Ottawa this past weekend for Winterlude. This hotel met all of our needs, the continental breakfast in the morning was just what the kids, mom and I needed to head out into the cold. The beds were great, service was fast and friendly and the hotel even though it was a busy weekend was super quiet all of the time.
There really were no downsides, it isn't downtown which has it's pluses when going to Winterlude but we knew that going in.
Good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masher_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

Stayed two nights. Never again. Room wasn't cleaned. Trash was overflowing. No fresh towels. Bed not changed. Complained. Problem not resolved. Desk clear said sorry maids are gone for the day. Reported to the manager after returning home. He claimed I had a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door which was a lie!! Price too high for the service or lack of service provided. Don't do it if considering a stay.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler11001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I rented the accessible room as I was traveling with my young son who is in a wheelchair. My first impression was not good as I had to wheel his chair onto the road as the sidewalk leading from the parking lot was blocked by a planter. The smoking area is right by the front door so we had to endure the stench to get into the building. There are no automatic doors so I attempted to open the front door using a door stop but the one on the right door was missing and the left door didn't work all that well.

The accessible room is right off the lobby on the main floor. The room was a good size and had a queen sized bed, dresser, desk, and couch/sofa bed. It was supposed to come with a fridge but I had to call to have one brought in which happened the next day. The fridge is actually a mini fridge so not much room at all. Overall I was quite pleased with the room/bathroom although it was quite tight to get the wheelchair into the main part of the room as the space between the bed and the desk is small.

Another issue with this particular room is the location. It is right by the main lobby, a stairwell, and the ice machine. There was a fair amount of noise and if I go back I would certainly ask for a room away from the main areas.

The website boasts a large comfortable lobby but in fact it is smaller than most and not cozy at all. There may be a fitness center but I didn't look for it. Apparently there are complimentary newspapers, there was none left at my door so I suspect they might be available in the lobby. The continental breakfast is served in the small front lobby. There is a basket of muffins and the such, coffee, cereal - nothing special and I didn't partake of it. There isn't much space to sit so you are better off grabbing your muffin and going back to your room. There are no microwaves in the rooms ( a disappointment) but there is one in the basement, just a little hike to pop your popcorn. The basement looks more worn than the rest of the hotel, and they have the laundry machines co-located with the pop machines. It was a little strange.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was well priced and clean. This hotel may not have the bells & whistles of the larger chains but I think that if you are looking for somewhere to spend a night, this would do just fine.

Pros: Price, clean, decent sized room, free internet
Cons: Not as accessible as I would like, breakfast is poor, smoking areas by the front door

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#35 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#51 of 67 in Ottawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
7.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomINNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomINNS

Property: WelcomINNS
Address: 1220 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — WelcomINNS 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WelcomINNS Ottawa features 109 rooms that offer comfort, style, and functionality. Our charming, pet -friendly hotel is ideally situated right off HWY 417 and minutes from downtown. We offer a variety of room types to suit the needs of all travelers, and we provide free wireless Internet connection in all 109 of our 100% smoke-free guestrooms. Complimentary continental breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your WelcomINNS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcominns Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing