We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with good location and okay price”
Review of WelcomINNS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WelcomINNS
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel is right off the Highway, so although it is a bit far from downtown, it is convenient enough if you have a car. The parking lot is also very big, so no need to worry about parking spaces. Room is large and clean. The mini fridge in the room is a bit loud, so we unplugged it at night. The breakfast is OK. Extra points for the waffle machine! We made fresh waffles and took it back to our room to eat. The lobby eating area is a bit small, but eating in our room is just as good. Price is acceptable, but not budget type. But looking at anything around the Ottawa downtown/Highway regions, this hotel price is reasonable. So weighing all the factors, this hotel is quite good.

Room Tip: Get a room further away from the Elevator. There are rooms right at the elevator waiting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKCCHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear AKCCHN,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our Trip Advisor audience. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the free parking, the large guestrooms, and the delicious fresh waffles at breakfast. We are truly thankful for your comments and feedback.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had just a 1-night stay at this hotel in Oct 2013. The hotel is located about 5 miles from downtown Ottawa. We had a room with 2 queen beds - the room had a fridge, TV and a washroom.

What I loved about the place was great WiFi and the beds were VERY comfortable. The hotel is also close many restaurants in the area as well as a large mall. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and this was a standard continental type breakfast.

Also, there is a large parking lot, safe and at NO extra charge, which is a very rare in the Ottawa area. This saves you about $20/night. Loved that.

The hotel has 1 small elevator and does look a bit dated, however, everything worked well and we enjoyed our stay there. Check-in and check-out was quick and hassle-free. I would recommend it to people and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seraphimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Seraphimo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent one night stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in our deluxe room with 2 double beds. It is our objective to provide comfort, quality, and convenience at an affordable price and we thank you for letting us know that we have accomplished our goals. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spend here only one night and the overall impression was quite good. Check-in process was professional, lady at reception was really friendly, helpful, answered all our questions. Free parking next the hotel building is another decision making value. Our hotel room #310 was nice, spacious, clean, with two queen beds, fridge, dinette, flat screen television and big washroom with huge mirror. Seems it has been reconstructed recently. The heating in our room was possible to temper as we wish. Coffee/tea making facilities includes 1 coffee bag and 1 tea bag, so it should be for two people 2, but we did not spent a long time here so we managed. Our price include also free breakfast, which was basic, nothing unusual or special. I like that you can make fresh waffle by yourself.
My friend forgot the iPad in our room during the check out and we come after couple of hours...they found that and give us back. I know very well that this is deluxe behavior and worth to say to TripAdvisor members.
We want to thank again to Welcominns staff for nice time there. We felt welcome and comfortable here and we can definitely reccomend this accommodation to all of you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanka_Praha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Hanka_Praha,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for recognizing the phenomenal service you received from our team. We are pleased to hear that we made such a good impression on you during your recent visit in one of our 2 double bed guestrooms. We take pride in our rooms and it is wonderful to hear that you appreciated the value of our wonderful hotel. Just as you experienced, each one of our rooms are spacious and contain a mini-fridge, a coffee maker, a flat screen TV, and a seating area. It is very rewarding to hear that you received deluxe service – thank you for the compliments! We hope to welcome you back whenever you return to the Ottawa area.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a pretty average hotel and I probably won't stay again. The room was clean, though it was rather dark inside (wasn't great for my business work). One of their two elevators was out of service. I paid extra for a King in the prepaid booking and they located me right next to the elevator, and said there were no other rooms they could move me to. I didn't appreciate this, as they left me with the choice of forfeiting the extra $ paid for the King, or putting up with noise. The front desk staff did not seem sympathetic at all.

The previous night I stayed at Chimo next door, similar price, better service, and I would much rather stay at Chimo again. That hotel was in better shape and I wasn't bothered by elevator noise.

Free wireless internet was good and fast. Free parking. The free breakfast was quite good. Good location, 15 minute drive to downtown and many restaurant options nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the elevators. The noise and people at the elevator woke me up both at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountain820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear mountain820,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we appreciate receiving both positive and constructive feedback. We are extremely sorry for any inconveniences you experienced due to our elevator being out of service. We regularly inspect and service our elevators in order to meet the required standards. As soon as we were aware of last week’s issue, we ordered in the parts and had the machinery fixed as quickly as we were able to. We are aware that this was an inconvenience to some of our guests, but we did all that we could in order to take care of the issue promptly.

We are also sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the location of your room. We always do our best to locate guests who are bothered by elevator traffic and noise as far away from the elevators as possible. Unfortunately it seems as though our other King rooms may have already been accounted for by the time you arrived and we were unable to make any last minute changes. Given that being busy is not an excuse for poor service, it is disappointing to hear that our front desk associate did not seem sympathetic to your situation. We would like to further investigate your experience to ensure it does not happen again. If you could please send us an email with more information at sales@welcominns.com we would greatly appreciate it.

We strive to provide each one of our guests with comfort and convenience at an affordable price. While it is unfortunate that your experience was not as fantastic as it should have been, it is wonderful to hear that you appreciated our amenities as well as our fantastic location. We hope you visit us again in the future to see that your average experience was out of the ordinary.

Thank you again for your feedback, your comments will help us improve our quality and service.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel the weekend of October 4-6, 2013. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were SUPER comfortable and lots of comfortable pillows were provided. Daily housekeeping ( including fresh towels), free parking, newspaper and continental breakfast were all included in the price. We even had a fridge and microwave in the room. All that for less than $100.00/night.

My only suggestions for improvement would be: Better lighting in the parking lot, and better bread/bagel selection (add whole wheat options) for the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longjohns83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear longjohns83,

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family appreciated the great value of our product. We pride ourselves in our ability to provide comfort and convenience at an affordable price and it is always wonderful to know our goals are being met. We greatly appreciate your suggestions for improvement; we will certainly take them into consideration when discussing potential changes and upgrades in our next management meeting. We hope to see you back whenever your travels bring you back to the Ottawa area.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We brought TeamBuy vouchers to WelcomINNS and booked for 2 nights this Thanksgiving weekend. Given that we booked 3 rooms for 3 families, the staff was very warm and welcoming to us all. The rooms were pretty clean and well equipped. Our personal room had a few issues with the sink and was missing the microwave, but when contacted, the staff was open to moving us to another room asap. We decided not to, as the sink wasn't leaking or anything - just moving alot! The free wifi and parking is a bonus. The breakfast in the mornings wasn't anything great, but it made do for a quick morning meal with muffins, cereal and freshly made waffles. As many others have mentioned, the breakfast area was literally the lobby of the Inn so finding a spot in the morning there was a bit of challenge. Overall the stay was pleasant - the Inn is right beside a mall, and very close to the highway (417) as well, so it was convenient. Would definitely recommend it to someone looking for an affordable, clean and conveniently located place to stay in the capital.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aastha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Aastha S,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family/friends had a wonderful time with us over the Thanksgiving weekend. While we are sorry that you experienced a few issues in your room, it is great to know that our staff members were accommodating and helpful. We pride ourselves on our ability to provide comfort and convenience at an affordable price and we are glad that we did just that. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to Canada’s capital.

Warm Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We held a webcasting conference in their meeting room for 8 days for a small group. The Sales and Marketing manager, Jessica Shabinsky, went out of her way to accommodate us in making sure that our internet connection worked properly and the room set-up was to our satisfaction. The service from Jessica and her staff was professional and courteous. We had a few technical glitches during the webcasting but nothing disastrous. Even with multi-use of the room ex. breakfast served for another group in the room prior to our arrival, the room was always clean and in order. We will definitely deal with this establishment again in the future. Complimentary parking was also included.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OttawaVictoria_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear OttawaVictoria_bc,

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience using our meeting room. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Best Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#34 of 68 in Ottawa
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
7.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
ARC The Hotel
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 68 in Ottawa
1,290 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East - Orleans
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 68 in Ottawa
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomINNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomINNS

Address: 1220 Michael St, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £77 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WelcomINNS 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WelcomINNS Ottawa features 109 rooms that offer comfort, style, and functionality. Our charming, pet -friendly hotel is ideally situated right off HWY 417 and minutes from downtown. We offer a variety of room types to suit the needs of all travelers, and we provide free wireless Internet connection in all 109 of our 100% smoke-free guestrooms. Complimentary continental breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your WelcomINNS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcominns Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing