We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - terrible beds”
Review of WelcomINNS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WelcomINNS
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 21 January 2014

WelcommINNS was a nice value hotel. Breakfast included and free parking. Hotel was clean and neat. I was disappointed when I was told I had to pay an extra fee ($10) per night for my 18 year old daughter.

That said I would NOT stay here again because:

Although there was a lot of good here I have to say the main reason you stay overnight in a hotel is to have a comfortable place to sleep and frankly the beds were HORRIBLE. They are supposed to be queen sized pillow tops but they had this hard border and sloped to an uncomfortable middle. Also the air/heat unit was quite loud when it kicked on.

So we didn't get a good nights sleep either night.

The shower was real good and the breakfast was fine but take your food back to your room as the dining area is tiny and cold every time the front door opens.

So I guess we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJJOENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear DJJOENY,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate your kind words in regards to the wonderful value and cleanliness of our product. However, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We take extreme pride in our hotel and we were truly shocked to hear that you were disappointed with our pillow top mattresses. We would greatly appreciate investigating your stay more thoroughly to better understand your concerns. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience at sales@welcominns.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

strayed here on Jan 4 2014 very nice and clean room nice workspace and lots of room with a small eating nook price was very good. nice continental breakfast but a little chaotic if it is busy. Wall thermostat to adjust room temp is a nice plus. definitely would return.
a little tricky to access off the highway and St Laurent make sure to print a map or directions

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear parkwarden,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you back to the nation's capital.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed there several times before and we know what to expect. We booked it through Expedia and selected a room with a queen bed and a pull out couch.
When we checked in, we were told that the hotel had no rooms with a queen bed and a pull out couch. Staff explained that some websites do not always keep the hotel details up to date and apologized for the mix up.
When we entered our room, we discovered that it did have a queen bed and a pull out couch !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Jean-Pierre C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you continue to appreciate the convenient location of our pet friendly hotel. We are sorry for the unnecessary confusion regarding the room type that you booked online. Many of our rooms with 1 Queen Bed do not have a sofabed, so we try to only offer the addition as a complimentary upgrade based on availability. Please know that we have now removed sofabed from our description on Expedia, however, we are happy to honor special requests for rooms with sofabeds while supplies last. We thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nov 11/12 - If you are coming from East of hwy 417 and exit St.Laurent you have to make an extreme right to turn right into Lemieux. It is very easy to miss, if you miss it, just turn right at the next street and another right and right again you will find WECLOMINNS. The hotel look nice from outside, very quiet around the area, opposite is another hotel also. Check in and check out was okay. The room was spacious for two people, lots of fresh clean towels. The beds and pillows were firm and comfortable the linens were clean and lily white. You can adjust the temp. to your likening. Bathroom was good, no problem except it take a while for the mirror to clear up. It was equipped with hair dryer, coffee maker, shampoo, soaps etc. Breakfast was great, not many people was around, had an enjoyable breakfast. The hotel is 15mims or less from d/town Ottawa. The World Exchange Plaza (45 O’Conner St) allow 2hr free parking on weekends and holidays. Most of the side streets between Gloucester and O’Conner have free 2hr parking during the weekend and holidays.

Room Tip: A room away from the elevator would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavenderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Lavenderwoman,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; your feedback is much appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the amenities offered were to your liking. While we are sorry to hear that you initially missed the turn to our hotel, we are glad you found our property immediately afterwards. We hope to welcome you back to our fantastic hotel whenever your travels bring you back to either the World Exchange Plaza or any other local venues and attractions.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel is right off the Highway, so although it is a bit far from downtown, it is convenient enough if you have a car. The parking lot is also very big, so no need to worry about parking spaces. Room is large and clean. The mini fridge in the room is a bit loud, so we unplugged it at night. The breakfast is OK. Extra points for the waffle machine! We made fresh waffles and took it back to our room to eat. The lobby eating area is a bit small, but eating in our room is just as good. Price is acceptable, but not budget type. But looking at anything around the Ottawa downtown/Highway regions, this hotel price is reasonable. So weighing all the factors, this hotel is quite good.

Room Tip: Get a room further away from the Elevator. There are rooms right at the elevator waiting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKCCHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear AKCCHN,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our Trip Advisor audience. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the free parking, the large guestrooms, and the delicious fresh waffles at breakfast. We are truly thankful for your comments and feedback.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had just a 1-night stay at this hotel in Oct 2013. The hotel is located about 5 miles from downtown Ottawa. We had a room with 2 queen beds - the room had a fridge, TV and a washroom.

What I loved about the place was great WiFi and the beds were VERY comfortable. The hotel is also close many restaurants in the area as well as a large mall. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and this was a standard continental type breakfast.

Also, there is a large parking lot, safe and at NO extra charge, which is a very rare in the Ottawa area. This saves you about $20/night. Loved that.

The hotel has 1 small elevator and does look a bit dated, however, everything worked well and we enjoyed our stay there. Check-in and check-out was quick and hassle-free. I would recommend it to people and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seraphimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Seraphimo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your recent one night stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in our deluxe room with 2 double beds. It is our objective to provide comfort, quality, and convenience at an affordable price and we thank you for letting us know that we have accomplished our goals. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spend here only one night and the overall impression was quite good. Check-in process was professional, lady at reception was really friendly, helpful, answered all our questions. Free parking next the hotel building is another decision making value. Our hotel room #310 was nice, spacious, clean, with two queen beds, fridge, dinette, flat screen television and big washroom with huge mirror. Seems it has been reconstructed recently. The heating in our room was possible to temper as we wish. Coffee/tea making facilities includes 1 coffee bag and 1 tea bag, so it should be for two people 2, but we did not spent a long time here so we managed. Our price include also free breakfast, which was basic, nothing unusual or special. I like that you can make fresh waffle by yourself.
My friend forgot the iPad in our room during the check out and we come after couple of hours...they found that and give us back. I know very well that this is deluxe behavior and worth to say to TripAdvisor members.
We want to thank again to Welcominns staff for nice time there. We felt welcome and comfortable here and we can definitely reccomend this accommodation to all of you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanka_Praha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Hanka_Praha,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for recognizing the phenomenal service you received from our team. We are pleased to hear that we made such a good impression on you during your recent visit in one of our 2 double bed guestrooms. We take pride in our rooms and it is wonderful to hear that you appreciated the value of our wonderful hotel. Just as you experienced, each one of our rooms are spacious and contain a mini-fridge, a coffee maker, a flat screen TV, and a seating area. It is very rewarding to hear that you received deluxe service – thank you for the compliments! We hope to welcome you back whenever you return to the Ottawa area.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#34 of 68 in Ottawa
212 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#48 of 68 in Ottawa
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
12.0 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#41 of 68 in Ottawa
510 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East - Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomINNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomINNS

Address: 1220 Michael St, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £92 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WelcomINNS 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WelcomINNS Ottawa features 109 rooms that offer comfort, style, and functionality. Our charming, pet -friendly hotel is ideally situated right off HWY 417 and minutes from downtown. We offer a variety of room types to suit the needs of all travelers, and we provide free wireless Internet connection in all 109 of our 100% smoke-free guestrooms. Complimentary continental breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your WelcomINNS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcominns Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing