We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Reasonably Priced Hotel”
Review of WelcomINNS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WelcomINNS
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed one night for a meeting, Room was clean, comfortable and one of the least expensive hotels that was available. Close to downtown and many other malls sights. Included breakfast, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear James M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our TripAdvisor audience. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will likely stay again in the future. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed one night in the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable and one of the least expensive hotels i could find. Close to St.Laurent mall. It was close to the highway, but I could not hear road noise. I would return..

Room Tip: My room was on the opposite side from the highway. Very quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlleCurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear mlleCurie,

We are so pleased to see that you had such a nice time with us. We are very proud of our clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced property and we love receiving positive feedback from our valued customers. Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our TripAdvisor audience; we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Ottawa!

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Got stuck here as all Ottawa hotels downtown and near the airport were completely booked. Didn't have high expectations, so was pleasantly surprised.

Rooms are large and clean. Beds are fairly comfortable (not luxurious, but they totally do the job). The bathroom was clean, shower had decent waterpressure and a hairdryer was supplied.

The area isn't convenient to downtown - it's just off a highway, with limited dining options and no coffee shop or variety stores nearby. It's adjacent to a Lone Star restaurant, but other than that, it's a bit of a hike to restaurants. It's about a 10-minute walk to a large mall across the street, but it's not a pleasant walk. There are no pubs nearby either.

Room came with a free continental breakfast, but it was barebones - Sad muffins, white bread, cheerios, juice and those make your own waffles. Coffee was pretty awful.

All in all, good value if you're looking for a night's sleep, but not at all convenient to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear 007_nic,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our TripAdvisor audience. We are pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with the great product you received during your recent visit, however, we are sorry that you were unable to discover the many restaurants and pubs within a 5 minute drive from our hotel (both on St. Laurent Boulevard and Ogilvie Road). We are thankful for your feedback regarding our location; though we have always considered ourselves conveniently located due to our proximity to HWY 417 (only 2 exits from downtown) and a main city bus terminal, we can appreciate and understand your viewpoint as well.

We hope that you choose to enjoy the value in our product whenever your travels bring you back to Ottawa!


Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Chambres de qualité standard, très propres et lit très confortables. Le personnel est courtois et sympathique. Le déjeuner continental est de très bonne qualité avec ses gaufres et ses 4 variétés de muffins très frais. Meilleur prix du moment avec forfait pour la visite de musée au centre ville. Merci pour le séjour! Standard room, very clean and comfortables beds. The staff was courteous and kind. The continental breakfast was good quality with his waffles and his fresh four variety of muffins. Family Museum package was the best deal at the moment to discover Ottawa. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Stephane A,

Thank you for choosing the WelcomINNS Hotel Ottawa. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor audience. We are very pleased to hear that you found our Museum Package to be an excellent value and we thank you for posting your kind words about our professional staff, our clean rooms, and our continental breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Merci beaucoup!

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very nice motel went with friends to Ottawa stay here for two night...very friendly staff...a bigger breakfast would maybe be a plus but to round it all up very nice motel...I would suggest it to anyone...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydiann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Lydiann2014,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to host you and your friends soon.

Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

WelcommINNS was a nice value hotel. Breakfast included and free parking. Hotel was clean and neat. I was disappointed when I was told I had to pay an extra fee ($10) per night for my 18 year old daughter.

That said I would NOT stay here again because:

Although there was a lot of good here I have to say the main reason you stay overnight in a hotel is to have a comfortable place to sleep and frankly the beds were HORRIBLE. They are supposed to be queen sized pillow tops but they had this hard border and sloped to an uncomfortable middle. Also the air/heat unit was quite loud when it kicked on.

So we didn't get a good nights sleep either night.

The shower was real good and the breakfast was fine but take your food back to your room as the dining area is tiny and cold every time the front door opens.

So I guess we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJJOENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear DJJOENY,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate your kind words in regards to the wonderful value and cleanliness of our product. However, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We take extreme pride in our hotel and we were truly shocked to hear that you were disappointed with our pillow top mattresses. We would greatly appreciate investigating your stay more thoroughly to better understand your concerns. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience at sales@welcominns.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

strayed here on Jan 4 2014 very nice and clean room nice workspace and lots of room with a small eating nook price was very good. nice continental breakfast but a little chaotic if it is busy. Wall thermostat to adjust room temp is a nice plus. definitely would return.
a little tricky to access off the highway and St Laurent make sure to print a map or directions

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear parkwarden,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you back to the nation's capital.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#34 of 68 in Ottawa
217 reviews
3.1 mi away
ARC The Hotel
ARC The Hotel
#23 of 68 in Ottawa
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 68 in Ottawa
580 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
3.1 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomINNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomINNS

Address: 1220 Michael St, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £76 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WelcomINNS 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WelcomINNS Ottawa features 109 rooms that offer comfort, style, and functionality. Our charming, pet -friendly hotel is ideally situated right off HWY 417 and minutes from downtown. We offer a variety of room types to suit the needs of all travelers, and we provide free wireless Internet connection in all 109 of our 100% smoke-free guestrooms. Complimentary continental breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your WelcomINNS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcominns Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing