We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Spacious, and Unbeatable Value!”
Review of WelcomINNS

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WelcomINNS
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The hotel has recently undergone full renovations from top to bottom - inside and out so the decor, furnishings, amenities and living areas are all up-to-date and modern. The rooms are extremely spacious (and most include full furnishings such as couches, desks, lounge-chairs and plasma televisions) with lots of room to breathe and move around - even when staying 2-4 to a room like we did on our tour! And I have to say that the price for the rooms is unbeatable for what you are getting - free continental breakfast, complimentary parking, high-speed wireless internet & local/1-800 calls, spacious modern rooms, and extremely friendly and accommodating service from the staff! I definitely recommend this hotel to any traveller - individuals, families, tour groups, students, etc!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for WelcomINNS
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2010

We came to Ottawa for an extended stay. Started out at a different hotel, were very dissatisfied, so we checked out and came here. We were very pleasantly surprised. We were given adjoining rooms on the top floor. Great view of the city!. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The continental breakfast is nice and there are many restaurants nearby, some within walking distance. Across the street is a very large shopping mall and downtown Ottawa is a short drive away.
Best of all, we stayed for a week so we were given the weekly rate. Much better value than any of the other area hotels, oh, and the parking is convenient,and free. We were extremely pleased and will definitely be back on our next visits to Ottawa.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustangsallie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We have stayed at this hotel about 4 times now and we are always pleased with their services. Its always clean, always tidy, we have never found anything gross or moldy inside the rooms or out.
There is only one front desk individual that we werent very fond of, but we've only seen them there once. The front desk is small and looks like it could be updated but thats the only complaint we have, and really, who cares about that.
Again, the rooms are amazing, if you want a clean stay, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiAndDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Visited Ottawa for the Tulip Festival weekend and this was the ideal stay and deal!
We came by car so the free parking was great, the area is safe to leave your car at the outdoor parking surrounding the hotel. The downtown is only a 10 minutes away by the highway which was only a minutes from the hotel.
The internet was very fast and reliable!
Breakfast was a small and satisfactory continental held in the main lobby.
The room was very roomy with all the essentials and room service came around daily for clean up.
Front staff was always present and helpful
...we got all this for just $85 with tax per night over expedia :)
Overall, excellent stay! Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanatravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We were at Welcominns for 3 nights(May 21-24) and it was very pleasant. The location is good, it was minutes from downtown Ottawa. The room was clean, furniture are a bit old but we didn't mind that. The hotel is next to a shopping center(St. Laurent) and minutes away from the outlet mall (Trainyards). We had no problem with staff, the continental breakfast was good: cereal, croissant, muffin, breakfast bar...tea, coffee ...The second morning we took breakfast into our room cause the breakfast area is a bit small to sit down. We got good rate for this hotel from expedia. We defintely will go back to this hotel the next time we visit Ottawa.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandDMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

This was a great hotel, it was clean, quiet, and the staff was friendly. Its immediately off St Laurent, which means if you're heading towards the museums, the directions are generally fairly straight forward (although driving around downtown ottawa is difficult if you're not local) if not necessarily close; several restaurants within easy walking distance. The morning breakfast is simple, but its very nice not to have to go hunting for food first thing in the morning. Its a non-smoking hotel, which makes it much nicer. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasani48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Stayed here for one night. The check-in/check-out process was quick and efficient. The beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms were clean, and there was WiFi and parking included. The location is great for business downtown, University, or Health Centre. Being next to a mall, also helps with shopping and food choices. It is a no frills place to stay, that gives you some coffee and pastries in the morning. I stayed on one of the coldest nights of the year (-32 C with the wind chill), and had no problems with the heat in the room. I would stay again for business.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#37 of 68 in Ottawa
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#14 of 68 in Ottawa
597 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#49 of 68 in Ottawa
551 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East - Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomINNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomINNS

Address: 1220 Michael St, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £95 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WelcomINNS 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WelcomINNS Ottawa features 109 rooms that offer comfort, style, and functionality. Our charming, pet -friendly hotel is ideally situated right off HWY 417 and minutes from downtown. We offer a variety of room types to suit the needs of all travelers, and we provide free wireless Internet connection in all 109 of our 100% smoke-free guestrooms. Complimentary continental breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your WelcomINNS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcominns Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing