We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in September 2012. When I researched the hotel online, their website painted a picture that was far from reality. When we got to our room, we were shocked!!!! Everything was so dirtly, the capet was so filthy that we did not take off our shoes, the room paint was dirty, the washroom was so dirtly that we decided that we were better off not to shower that night. The TV was 1990s model.

When we booked, we requested a crib because we have a small baby with us. They placed us on the second floor so it was not easy to get the baby`s sroller up there since there was no elevator. Not to mention that, surprise suprise, there was no crib in the room.

Cont Breakfast in the morning was a joke.

So, if you are visiting Ottawa, think before you book at the Monterey Hotel as we had a horrible experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trave123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josee L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Travl123456
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Monterey Hotel. I am truly disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We are excited about our upcoming renovations to our buildings.
Our team takes great pride in providing our guests with a “home away from home” services and we were disappointed to learn of the many issues you encountered with us.
With our new chef at the helm of our kitchen we have revamped our continental breakfast, and we are confident that it will be to the total guest satisfaction.
Thank you,
The Monterey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here one night. Found the room very dingy and dirty and smokey. Not a good impression. The restaurant is a huge improvement. Location for the hotel is great though, right by the river. Hope this place gets a facelift soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josee L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Nadkr
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Monterey Hotel. We do offer smoking and non smoking rooms and charge a cleaning fee of $200.00 when a guest smokes in a non smoking room. I will speak to the housekeeping department as to retrain the housekeeping attendant who serviced the room last.
Thank you,
The Monterey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My family had booked the labor day weekend to stay here. We got a room in the front section of the hotel near the office. The room was obviously a smokers room but they deemed it as non smoking. The smell was not good. We looked a the beds and determined that we did not think we could get a good nights sleep. The microwave that I had requested was in the room but looked like someone had a fire in it. We asked for an alternate room but they said they were full. Normally we are campers, so a hotel room has to be pretty bad before we cannot live in it. But this room smelled bad enough and the beds were not good. We were lucky enough to find another motel just up the road that had rooms available at a similar price. We will not book here again.

Room Tip: I assume we had a bad room. Can't believe that most people would not turn around and leave as w...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josee L, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dave C
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Monterey Hotel. We do offer smoking and non smoking rooms and charge a cleaning fee of $200.00 when a guest smokes in a room. I will speak to the housekeeping department as to retrain the housekeeping attendant who serviced the room last.
We have placed duvets on the bed under the bedspread, with can give the appearance of the bed looking lumpy.
Thank you,
The Monterey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were attending a wedding in Ottawa & the hotel was suggested to us. An admitted hotel snob after reading the reviews I was less than enthusiastic about staying there. While the rooms are definitely dated and in need updating our room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was no different than one sees at a Comfort Inn or Best Western and was certainly adequate. The setting is lovely and the staff were very friendly both in the office and the restaurant. We learned that the hotel has been under new management for just a year and the new owners are working at updating the property. If the occasion arose we would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank hmkegk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josee L, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Hmkegk,
Thank You for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased that you have had a great stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Monterey Hotel.

the Monterey Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Pros:
Stayed at the hotel July 19 to 22 and loved the hotel site, the river front and the pool. We also loved our balcony overlooking the river. The food at the Pine restaurant was excellent and the staff was very friendly.

Cons:
Although the rooms had a fresh quote of paint, they are outdated and needs upgrading. That also goes to the furniture.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josee L, Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear John A,
Thank You very much for your review. We are very happy that you have had a good stay. Your pros and cons reflect the true image of our Hotel. The Hotel is undergoing a major renovation which will address all the issues mentioned in your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Monterey Hotel.

The Monterey Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Incredibly dirty. Booked a room with 2 beds, and they "mistakenly" gave us a room with one bed and a pullout, and thought that we were coming the day before, so they had already charged us for a night as a "no-show". Unbelievably uncomfortable bed...hard, and if one person shifted the whole bed jolted and the other woke up. The "pullout" was a shock - it was like a sheet over a some coils - no one could ever sleep on it. They tried to give us another room in a different building at 1:30 in the morning, but it reeked so much of cigarette smoke we just couldn't. So my husband slept in our car..our only solution to getting some sleep!! All other hotels booked. Skipped the sorry excuse for a breakfast (I've never seen anything so bad), and after seeing how filthy the hotel was, there was no way I would ever eat there, or use the pool. No updates seen!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dera Sue Traveller,

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry for the incorrect arrival date on your reservation, we have gladly refunded you the no show charge.
The wrong arrival date on your reservation and the sold out situation left us with no options but to give you the Queen Size room instead of the Two Double Beds requested in order to accomodate you. Our objective was to provide you with a good service and it was unfortunate that we did not have your requested room at time of arrival.
Again, we are sorry we could not provide you with a good experience.

Josée Lafortune
The Monterey Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just a motel - average quality, food below average. Our room was updated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#39 of 68 in Ottawa
490 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau

Address: 2259 Prince of Wales Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8, Canada (Formerly The Monterey Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £80 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of evergreens, pines and tranquil gardens, The Monterey has breathtaking views of the Rideau River. Known for its resort-style lodging and amenities, it is ideally suited for vacationers and traveling executives. Guests can enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on-site at The Pine restaurant. Located in a charming stone building, The Pine offers an extensive wine selection, with a summer patio and various meeting rooms. The Monterey Hotel remains one of Ottawa’s most affordable destinations, regardless of its superior service and priceless scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Inn Resort & Conference Centre Hotel Ottawa
Monterey Inn Resort And Conference Centre
Monterey Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing