We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John and Sandra Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was our second time staying at the Monterey Hotel.
Both times were very enjoyable. The only problem this time was that the pool was closed for repair work and it would have been great to have been able to use it because the weather was perfect!
We will surely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank SEAFAN_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights during june, one day of rain but the next was beautiful. got put in a renovated room, WOW, rooms are so modern and rich looking. Outside of the place is nice, I really didn't expect the room to look that great. Forgot our camera so no pictures :( sorry. They have a great spot to sit around a fire in the nighttime and a big pool for the sun days. Food was cool, apparently there's a new chef.
I recommend this place but take a renov. room

Room Tip: Take renovated room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was very happy with my stay at the Monterey. The newly renovated rooms were spacious and modern. The view from my room was serene with the Rideau river and the trees were lush. The menu provided very tasty food choice, and excellent presentation. I ordered the fillet mignon which was cooked to perfection (med rare), mash potatoes and nice selection of vegetables to accompany the dish. I would recommend the Pine Restaurant to anyone. The ownership is really striving to improve the product and services. It has come a long way from the last time I stayed at the Monterey 3 years ago.

Room Tip: I would recommend the newly renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Adrina,

Thank you for choosing the Monterey Hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and you meal, We strive to offer the best product that we possibly can and are currently making the changes in order to do so. Your comments indicate that we that our efforts so far are being rewarded by way of satisfied guests with an enjoyable experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Lowe
Reservations Agent
The Monterey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights this week and was pleasently surprised by the nice room we had. Very modern room,clean and quiet. Would stay there again. A tim hortons right in front of the room we were staying in .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitchenercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Kitchener Couple,

What a great compliment. We appreciate your kind words and thank you for choosing us. We hope you will come back and visit us again!

Thank You!

- Mark Lowe
Reservations Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The outside of the hotel looked promising as we arrived, but the lobby was our first sign that there is a real need for updating and renovation. Photos show great well appointed rooms. Our rooms were not anything like the photos at all. Loud poor functioning air conditioner, sagging beds, and old and tired flooring, walls, and furniture. The hotel is relatively close to the airport but there are nicer hotels closer to the airport. At the moment, this hotel is a real budget hotel, but I am not sure the savings are worth it. If you do stay, ask for an updated room. Otherwise, I would stay away.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don_K_Kingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Don,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Monterey Hotel. We appreciate and value your feedback. Yes, we are currently undergoing major renovations on our rooms and now have 57 of our 87 rooms completely redone from head-to-toe. The remaining rooms are scheduled to be renovated and completed by the end of this year. Since over 65% of our hotel has been renovated we are actively trying to promote them which is why the majority of our pictures have been changed to reflect the renovation. We hope you will consider us again the next time you visit Ottawa and will get to experience one of our newly renovated rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Mark Lowe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Monterey which is under new ownership/management. The hotel has undergone major renovations and looks great. The rooms are spacious and very modern looking. Not to mention the great location overlooking the water. The food is great and the facilities are wonderful for meetings or parties. The price is competitive and a good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Mike S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience / stay at the Monterey Hotel in one of the newly renovated rooms overlooking the Rideau River. You are absolutely correct, the hotel is under new ownership and new management and they are not sparing any efforts or money to provide our valuable guests with one of the best rooms available in the city and an unparralled approach to guest services and satissfaction, our goal is always to exceed guests expectations.

Once again, I appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

George Chaiban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Monterey is an independent hotel on the outskirts of Ottawa on the banks of the Rideau River. The tall pines and proximity to the river give it a rural feel.

The washroom was clean, the sheets were freshly laundered, they have a good cable package (including Discovery, History Channel, TSN, etc.), and I had no problems with the free WiFi. The in-room fridge was nice and all rooms include free parking.

I found the tired, dated décor depressing. The noisy fan in the bathroom, the old style "tube" television, and the stale smell of stale cigarette smoke still lingered from years before when hotel probably permitted smoking.

To be fair, management is renovating this property. I stayed in a cheaper room that had not been renovated. If you're on a budget, the Monterey isn't too hard on your wallet - but, if you get an unrenovated room, the time you spend there won't be uplifting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Michae B

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and fair evaluation of our hotel and services.
We are happy to know that you have found our rooms to be clean, our staff freindly and the setting is very relaxing. As you have indicated in your review, we are renoavting all the rooms in the hotel and we hope that during your next visit to the hotel you will enjoy the new and fully renovated rooms.

Again, thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back to The Monterey Hotel in the near future.

George Chaiban
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
1.1 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa West
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#40 of 68 in Ottawa
489 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau

Address: 2259 Prince of Wales Dr, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8, Canada (Formerly The Monterey Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £80 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on five acres of evergreens, pines and tranquil gardens, The Monterey has breathtaking views of the Rideau River. Known for its resort-style lodging and amenities, it is ideally suited for vacationers and traveling executives. Guests can enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast on-site at The Pine restaurant. Located in a charming stone building, The Pine offers an extensive wine selection, with a summer patio and various meeting rooms. The Monterey Hotel remains one of Ottawa’s most affordable destinations, regardless of its superior service and priceless scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Inn Resort & Conference Centre Hotel Ottawa
Monterey Inn Resort And Conference Centre
Monterey Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing