We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star hotel with 5 star staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“3 star hotel with 5 star staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an old hotel in need of updating. We stayed in a 2 queen bed room on the 12th floor. The beds were ok, the room was spacious and the bathroom was average. We didn't have problems with counter space in the bathrooms as others have suggested, the vanity around the sink was certainly big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel only has 2 elevators, which meant sometimes we had to wait a bit to get up to our room or down to the lobby. The soundproofing is non existent, we heard other people, the elevators and pretty much everything outside our room easily.
All this being said, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Honey made great suggestions for local restaurants that were child friendly, and quickly solved our problems with access keys timing out before our stay was over. The location is fantastic, we were in town for Ottawa race weekend and it was a 5 min walk from the hotel to the starting line. Parliament, the Rideau Centre and Byward market are all less than 10 mins away by foot with young children.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZandBMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I see that you stayed with us during one of the busiest times in city, over the Ottawa Marathon weekend. We certainly are in a prime location for the race, and are glad you were able to enjoy your visit. You are correct, that the hotel does only have the 2 elevators, and we will be making some updates to them with an anticipated time frame for the beginning of 2015. At that time, we will be doing some interior/exterior modifications as well as some re-programming to adjust the timing and efficiency. I will make sure to pass along your positive service comments to our staff, and are hopeful you are able stay with us again in the future.
With thanks and best regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    238
    225
    98
    60
See reviews for
197
191
46
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is an older hotel with large rooms. We stayed in this hotel as part of a cosmos tour. The room we had did not have a fridge but some of the other rooms did have a fridge. Some people on the tour also got suite rooms. My photos are of the smaller room which we had which was still a good size. The hotel is in an excellent location walking distance to most things. We had no view except of the office building directly across.
If you want and excellent breakfast of 2 eggs 2 toast bacon or sausage, potato, tea or coffee for $5 and the best chicken sandwich ever go to Royal Cafeteria which is left out of the hotel at 116 Albert St . It looks like an office building door is to the right of the lifts and follow signs. We found it and was pleased we did, they will make the sandwich to go so you can take on the coach.

Room Tip: ask for large room with a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLC146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We have been very fortunate to have many Cosmos tours stay with us over the years, and we are so pleased that you were also happy with the accommodations, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. One of the many great aspects of our location is the close proximity to interesting and historical tourist destinations as well as the variety of great restaurants and coffee shops, including our very own Bibliotheque Cafe.

We are hopeful that you are able to travel to Ottawa again in the future and that you choose to stay with us again.

With thanks and best regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was an oldish hotel which needs some work. We had a view of the goverment building next door which was not very good as we could not evensee the sky. There were some issues with the plug sockets not being safe as well. Good breakfast out of the hotel left along the road acoss the juntion to number 166 follow the signs to the back of the building. Bacon eggs potato toast and refill coffee for under 5 dollor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

As we are located at the start of both the business and tourist districts, we are in close proximity to a number of office towers as would be the same for our other hotel neighbours. Our north facing rooms have balconies on most of the levels and face Albert Street, which might be an option you would like to consider if you are able to stay with us again on your next visit to Ottawa.

We are hopeful however, that you were able to experience some of the most popular Ottawa tourist destinations that are only a few blocks from our hotel, such as the Parliament Buildings, Sparks Street Pedestrian Mall, and the Byward Market.

With thanks and best regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a very old hotel, and it seems they've just slapped on layers of paint & carpet freshener to hide its absolutely appalling stench. I came home with a suitcase full of clothes that smelled like they'd been caught in a smoke-box. Years of smoke and no fresh air made it a very un-enjoyable place to return to at the end of a busy day. I would generalize this statement to the entire hotel (all rooms). I don't think we were unlucky with our room - our entire floor smelled like it could do with better air circulation.

Bathrooms in particular are strangely arranged - so tiny and a bit gross!. The price point is reasonable for the location, but I'd rather stay farther away from all the happenings for a room that didn't give me a headache and had fresh air flowing through its windows.

The staff were friendly - especially one of the gentlemen who always offered to carry our bags, and support with our vehicle, etc.

I would not stay at this hotel again. It's important to me to feel clean and that I am able to be in a space where I won't wake up with stale smelling clothes for my work day. I suppose it depends on what you value - there is no doubt that this hotel is efficient and gets the job done. Rooms are clean overall (albeit, quite dated) and the location is spot on. If that's what you're looking for, and you don't mind waking up with a headache from the smell, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catrina i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.

We do our very best to address any concerns while guests are still with us, whenever possible. Should a guest find that they are not happy with their existing room, we are more than happy to find them an alternative room within the hotel, provided there is another available.

Please note, that we are in fact a smoke free property and do adhere to our non-smoking policy. Without knowing the full details on your stay, we cannot say if a guest in the adjacent room was unfortunately smoking at some point without our knowledge. Once this is discovered, they are charged a fee for deep cleaning, as outlined on our website. As we are concerned about the comfort of all of our guests, if our request to refrain from smoking within the hotel has not been adhered to, then they may be asked to leave the hotel.

We have also recently updated our hallways by sanding and painting our wainscoting, adding new wallpaper and carpets throughout all of our guest levels. This was completed at the beginning of May 2014, and may have contributed to a new carpet smell in the hallways if you stayed with us during this time.

We are hopeful you will consider staying with us in the future - and will be sure to pass along the positive service comments you had for our staff.

Best Regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Spent two days at the hotel during a recent work trip. Hotel is centrally located. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Furnature and fixtures in the room were very dated. Hotel needs a refit. Room however was large. Sound carried between the ventalation systems in the Washroom. Would only book if Plan A and B did not work. Rooms have no views given location.

Room Tip: No good views given hotel location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recceptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay while you were here. We do our best to address any issues or concerns if there are any, while our guests are still in-house.

I see that you stayed with us in February 2014, and as of the beginning of May 2014 we have completed some updates to the hotel, such as sanding & painting, re-wallpapers and laying down new carpet on all of our guest room levels. In addition, some of our guest room washrooms have also recently been updated. We will most certainly pass along the positive service comments you had in reference to our staff, and we are hopeful that you will consider staying with us on a future visit to Ottawa.

With thanks and best regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour. The hotel is very well located near to lots of eating and drinking places. The market and shopping centre is just a short stroll away. Parliament Square being a 5 minute walk around the corner, plus also is the cathederal, Canadian Royal Mint and other attractions being only a 10 minute stroll away. Also if you wish to wander over the bridge (wonderful views) you will come to the Canadian Museum of Civilisation which is well worth a visit. Also should you wish to have a city bus tour, Lady Dive Tours operate from the end of the road the hotel is situated on.

Please note, it would seem city museums are open late on a Thursday until 2000, and are free to enter after 1600 (please check though)

We had a very large room which was spotlessly clean with a smallish but clean and functional bathroom. The room had 2 king/double beds (not sure which size they were) a coffee table, 2 seat sofa, coffee maker, large flat screen tv and other furnishings. The beds were super comfy with nice quality bed linen used.

We did not eat or drink at the hotel, however some people on our tour ate next door at a cafe and said that a good value breakfast could be had for just a few $

If I find my self in Ottawa again I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caulkheadmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of the hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Ottawa, and were able to see many of the sites that are in close proximity to us. We will pass along your positive comments regarding your guest room - and we appreciate and value your feedback. We hope that when you are in Ottawa next, that you will stay with us once again!
Best Regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

the front desk staff was wonderful. Unfortunately insufficient parking so I was forced into the Valet option and a long wait in the morning. Bathroom is tiny! and the queen bed is smaller than my double at home. But seriously the bathroom is a problem. There is no place to put my toiletries, except in the toilet. hard to get around the door and not hit the bathtub. Tooooooo smalll bathroom! Unworkable and wastes my time in the morning --- too inconvenient trying to get dressed. Fix the bathroom!!!! It really doesnt work! too small. I need to get my makeup on and do my hair.... where to put soap, deodorant, hairbrush? Even if I was a guy, I would need to shave, no? Bathrooms need a counter space.

Also, we started with two small towels with 2 people. Works for one, but not for 2 overnight. Please... we told you we were 2 people. I have had better in Ottawa for $80/nite. For $119/nite, on a Tuesday at the start of May, well, i expect a real queen.... maybe a King and a counter to put my toiletries on and a large enough towel to dry off in the shower.

THe front desk staff person was so nice, I hope he is the owner.

Really close to Parliament buildings and Byward Market for tourists. Clean.

Not business, cause you need a good mirror and somewhere to put your toiletries. You need to dress for business and you dont need valet parking because time and getting out fast and easy in the morning.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We do have a variety of room types in the hotel; the majority of which have 2 Queen beds, and counter space within the bathroom to layout toiletries. The room type that you booked with us (1 Queen bed) is the smallest room type that we have and has a pedestal sink within the washroom. We have updated a number of our guest room bathrooms throughout the hotel, and we are currently looking at addressing a more appropriate storage solution in the washrooms of the room type you stayed in.

We appreciate and value your feedback, and will also share the positive guest service experience you had with the staff.

We hope you will consider staying with us again, when you visit Ottawa next.

Best Regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.6 mi away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Property: Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Address: 88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 152 guest rooms and 10 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing