We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay $20 more but avoid embassy Ottawa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Hotel and Suites
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights for the tulip festival on the Victoria Day weekend. In the night, the air conditioning was too cold so at midnight we called reception, - they said they couldnt switch off the ac and the whole hotel was freezing, then they came to our room to shut the vents, but the knob wasn't even there, there were no extra blankets or heaters as they were out since it was all used up.

Next day, they managed to switch off ac, but no heating. The management offered no apology, no make goods, didn't even acknowledge this issue. We aren't returning and suggest stay at holiday inn which is adjacent and is more responsive and respecting of guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smitakumar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a horrible time. Should have read the reviews before I arrived. By then it was too late and the reviews played themselves out like a terrible nightmare on repeat. Had to change rooms because I was first told the hotel didn't have A/C turned on (was 30 degrees celsius outside) and then my room's unit was not working. Then moved rooms only to find that the A/C came with a price--my sleep and sanity. Sounded like a beat-up car with no muffler. Rooms are dated, musty and in poor condition.

Best part? When I checked out, got a passive and disinterested response from Front Desk staff. They must be trained to be surprised since these reviews show a long history of neglect. No apology, no sign of empathy.

Anything good to say? Location is great and I did appreciate the efforts of Michael at Front Desk when I checked in and moved rooms.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank x-philia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Check in took 20 min , as I stood at the reception and waited for the front desk clerk to all on the phone about his personal medical issues. I wish him well, but when a customer is in front of you waiting to check in, get off the phone .
Then I went to my first room which was dingy and smelly, the sliding door had no locks. I was moved to a second room which was brighter and smelt better, but the screen on the sliding door was off the hinge and would not open. The hotel did take care of that quickly though.
Bathrooms were ughghg, around he outside of the bathtub at the floor level was a brownish black line, might be mild. Cracks in the walls , peeling paint in the rooms .
I travel to Ottawa on business every 4-6 weeks and can safely say I would not stay here again , even if the price was 1/2 of the going rate. Needs some work on customer service and basic upkeep .

Room Tip: Check out what else in available in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecanadianartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hot room 83 degrees, no a/c, screen door broken off, front desk says "dont worry about it" I asked what can you do he says "nothing" its not my hotel decor from 1981. I feel like I was stolen from. Econo lodge would be 3 steps up from this dump.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank counsellorpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been staying at this centrally-located hotel on a weekly basis for two years. Over that period of time, the standards have dropped drastically. Leaky toilets, showers and taps are but a few of the problems prospective holidays-makers/ business people to the Capital are likely to meet upon their arrival. The worst of it is that management continues to ignore the problems in spite of ongoing complaints, which are often meet with impatience and even rudeness.

Beware!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Its dated and some of the furniture is tacky, but its clean, bright big rooms, a quiet bar-resto downstairs, and the location is fantastic for visiting Ottawa. If you need the Hilton or higher quality, avoid. But, its not a budget, run-down hotel. Its a bit older but the quality is sound; your wife will be ok staying there.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a 'nook', as in the bed is recessed so the room is a bit bigger. You get a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I were looking to stay downtown near a friend's apartment for NYE, which is how we ended up at the Embassy. I found it pricey for its outdated state, but guess prices were predictably jacked up for the holiday season.

The good: Our room was very spacious, newer TV, wi-fi was free and quick, hotel staff were polite and helpful, the kitchen was a reasonable size and had everything we needed to make dinner and etc. Things seemed clean overall. We knew not to have high expectations with this one, so I felt pretty satisfied.

The bad: Most of all, the EYESORE of the astroturf-green carpet (which was weirdly lumpy and coming up in certain places). Furniture was peeling and chipped. The bathroom has nicely updated counters, but our ceiling was falling in above the shower head and there were lots of cracks and rust around the door and baseboards. Blankets were pretty thin and full of cigarette burns.

Definitely not where I'd choose to stay given more options, but not the worst either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 68 in Ottawa
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel and Suites

Address: 25 Cartier St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £103 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best hotel with suites in Ottawa! Our fully renovated hotel offers spacious and well-appointed guestrooms with a variety of room types to choose from, two queen size beds, or king bed. Ottawa offers you a perfect starting point for exploring countless attractions and endless adventures. With the cost of an entire suite less than a single hotel room, the Embassy Hotel & Suites in Downtown Ottawa, offers comfort, choice and convenience. Take time to celebrate, it's all waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing