We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not again, anytime soon.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were there for an Irish Dance Competition the weekend of remembrance day 2011.

We checked in very late on the Thursday (after 2am) so the pick of the hotel rooms were not apparently the greatest and we were placed on the 3rd floor.

DON'T accept a room on this floor, especially near the elevators. It is very noisy because it accesses the parking garage area.

Having a 12 year old who needed sleep and did not get it was frustrating. Not much we could do, the hotel was full.

When we checked in the rate I booked and the rate I was given at the counter differed. When I challenged it, i was brushed off as if I was lying. I had a confirmation number but not the person's name I originally booked it from...so I must have copied the amount wrong...really if it was a different price, i would have booked at the Novotel for that price.

Eventually the employee gave me a "discount" that I was agreeable to (don't forget it was 2am and we had just driven 10 hrs)...and we checked in...so I believe the rate reflected in the floor assignment.

The room was adequate, like an apartment. It was clean and spacious. It was cramped in the area when the couch was pulled out to a bed for my daughter, it blocked off the rest of the room. Maybe a better design layout would improve the flow of the room.

The best of the weekend was the location (note sarcastic tone), It is located across the street to an afterhrs club. Each night there was an ambulance (night 2 there were 2 at two separate times) and it was very noisy. We were on the 3rd floor and could hear everything including the garbage trucks on Sat AM...oh what joy.

I guess the highlight was when we asked for a late check out...we were willing to pay $10/$20 extra for a 3pm checkout but we were told on the Sunday it was not possible, we would have been charged afull night...so we had to boogie it back from the competition and get our stuff out there before 1230,,the latest they could give us. It is not like other places we have stayed (like Great Wolf Lodge) where the $20 could accommodate a family in transition...

So overall, it was poor to average...It was clean and not a bedbug in site, so that is the positive aspect... i guess we would have had a better experience if we were up a few floors. But for $150 a night, you think it would be better than that!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LasalleFeisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best-Suite-Hotel, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of the Hotel. I do appreciate your great comments about the spaciousness and cleanliness of our suites. The recently renovated one-bedroom suite that you booked is approximately 700 sq. feet, includes a full-kitchen, 5 appliances and separate living and sleeping areas. Additionally, last week we installed new flat screen TV’s throughout the hotel in order to improve our product for our valued guests!

I have investigated your comments regarding your rate. On 21 September, you made a reservation for two nights beginning on 11 November. Two days prior to your arrival, you requested another day to be added to your stay (10 November). The best available rate for that day was approximately $30 higher. When you arrived at the Hotel, our Night Auditor did make a decision to process your reservation at a lower rate than what was quoted to you.

At Les Suites, we make it our first priority to ensure our guests’ stays are enjoyable and pleasant. Please rest assured that as soon as we receive a noise complaint, our staff deal with it immediately by calling the City of Ottawa’s By-law Officers. For those guests who are not accustomed to city downtown noise, I do suggest requesting a courtyard view suite to minimize any time of noise intrusion.

During your stay, the hotel was full. During high occupancy, we cannot allow late check-outs as the suites need to be cleaned for guests arriving at 3:00 p.m. I do apologize if this information was not conveyed to you by the Front Desk.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment and I do hope to host you again in future.

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

I attended CANSEC 2011 during the week of May 30 and stayed at Les Suites. It was the only hotel left in downtown Ottawa; rooms were sold out due the opening of Parliament after the May election. Rooms were clean, but very tired - they haven't even upgraded the TVs to flat screens. The bed was OK, lumpy in places. Overall, it was OK given how I was travelling on company business and was the only establishment left for me and my management team. We would've stayed at the Westin had there been room.

The decor in the lobby NEEDS and update - hunter green carpeting and marble is very 1980s/early 1990s. Please remodel the whole place!

Service was good - they managed to not lose track of many packages sent to me c/o of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best-Suite-Hotel, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Hotel this past May. A lot has changed at the Hotel in the last 6 months!!!

In May, and in order to improve the bed comfort for our guests, we purchased bed pads. We did receive a few guest complaints that their beds were “lumpy”. As a result, our Team Members were re-trained on how to place these pads on the beds properly.

During the past two weeks, 82% of our suites now have new flat-screen televisions. The remainder will be completed by mid-January. On 5 October, we finalized the installation of our new complimentary high speed network. As a result, our guests now enjoy using this complimentary service, as it is just as fast as the service you would receive in your home. Stay tuned as we will be installing fiber optic lines for our valued guest in the near future.

In December, we will be continuing with our floor-by-floor guest suite renovations to our Premiere Suite product. Once all guest suites have been completed, we will be focusing on our public areas.

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband I and go to Ottawa a few times per year to just get away. We always stay at Les Suites as the staff are the friendliest, suites are always spotless, suites are priced very reasonalble, and the location is fantastic for everything you need to do in downtown Ottawa.
We have recommended the hotel to friends and we have taken friends with us when we stay in Ottawa at Les Suites.

Room Tip: Suites facing north have view of Parliment Bld. tower and Byward Market. Ask for higher floors thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiner754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best-Suite-Hotel, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Guest,

I thank both you and your husband for your continued patronage over the years and your excellent comments. Our team members are indeed friendly and it’s such a pleasure to work with these hospitality professionals!

During your stay this month, you may have noticed that we have installed a new wireless network. As a result, our guests now enjoy using this complimentary service, as it is just as fast as the service you would receive in your home. Additionally, we will be conducting further enhancements to this network within the next 2 months, as we are installing Fiber Optic lines for our valued guests!

For your next stay, you will certainly enjoy our new LCD flat screen televisions (32” in the bedroom and 42” in the living room). By 25 November, 82% of our suites will house these new televisions and the remainder will be installed by mid-January.

In December and January we are continuing with our floor-by-floor renovations to our Premiere Suite product. As you can see, we are striving to improve everything our guests touch and see!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great location and very handy handy apartment hotel with adequate kitchen. Large rooms, friendly staff. Close to all the spots in the market, the Parliament Buildings, etc.

Downsides: the parking lot is very tight, even for an intermediate sized car and the entry is particularly challenging. Make sure that your hotel room door electronic lock works before you unload all your bags from the baggage dolly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the floors with kids' sports teams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best-Suite-Hotel, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear Guest,

I appreciate your great review! The hotel is located very close to the famous By-Ward Market. Established by Lt-Col. John By in 1826, the ByWard Market is one of Canada's oldest and largest public markets. The legendary builder of the Rideau Canal, Colonel By himself laid out the street plan of the Market, designating George Street and York Street to be extra wide to accommodate the creation of a public market and gathering place. Within an area roughly four blocks square, you'll find museums, cafés, specialty food shops, boutiques, galleries, restaurants, pubs, hair & aesthetics salons and more!

Our HUGE suites feature a full kitchen, five appliances, separate living and sleeping areas. Why book a normal hotel room when you can have a suite for the same cost?

I do apologize about your room key. Keycards can be quite sensitive at times -- if a keycard is carried too close to a magnet or other credit card, it can lose its code.

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Very good modern apartment with balcony, good size rooms. Full cooker, dishwasher, washing machine & tumble dryer. The rooms were clean although cutlery & crockery had been left in the dishwasher all clean except for 1 item. Computer room for internet, free. Good location, walking distance to shops & tourist sites. The only real negative, pillows a bit hard; the bed was fine. Paying car park at the back. Dearest accommodation of our 3 week tour, but good opportunity to do clothes washing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soundsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best-Suite-Hotel, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure receiving your good review of your September stay with us! Our guests certainly do appreciate the ensuite washer and dryer – I can’t imagine returning home with a suitcase full of dirty clothing! For future stays, please do not hesitate to contact the Switchboard should there be anything we can do to make your stay even better (i.e. different pillow type). We have recently upgraded our complimentary wireless internet, are currently installing brand-new flat screen televisions in all of the suites and are continuing with our Premiere product installation later this year. I look forward to your continued patronage!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

stayed with my family at Les Suites in a two bedroom/bathroom suite. This room had it all, a fully equipped kitchen including, dishwasher/tumbledryer/washing machine and a large living area.

We were able to stay affordably, with lots of room to spread out my son's toys.

I recommend this property to anyone visiting the Nations Capital.

Room Tip: I always like the higher floors away from the elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best-Suite-Hotel, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Todd M,

We appreciate you posting a review on Trip Advisor. You will be pleased to know that within the next 2 weeks the hotel will feature new flat screen TV's in our spacious suites! All the more reason to bring your family back to our hotel!

The team will be pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed the spacious comfort of our Two Bedroom Suites. These suites are over 1000 sq feet and provide our valued guests with all of the comforts of home!

We look forward to hosting you and your family in the future,

Chris Pierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Living room, kitchen, bathroom all good. Bedroom too, but bed not too very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geetap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best-Suite-Hotel, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good review of the Hotel! The majority of our guests do enjoy our mattresses but mattress firmness / softness is of course a personal choice. You will be pleased to know that we will be upgrading to flat screen TV’s in the coming weeks. I look forward to hosting you and your friends again in future!

Sincerely,

Chris Pierce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#28 of 68 in Ottawa
1,495 reviews
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#10 of 68 in Ottawa
2,191 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Hotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Hotel Ottawa

Address: 130 Besserer St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £97 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Les Suites Hotel Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Les Suites Hotel, Ottawa, you really do have the best of everything-the luxury of a great location and the comfort of spacious elegance. Situated in the heart of downtown Ottawa, Les Suites Hotel is next door to great shopping at the Rideau Centre and surrounded by fine dining and entertainment. Ideally located near major travel routes, government offices, and popular attractions, we offer the perfect location for business travelers and leisure guests alike. Les Suites Hotel boasts spacious One Bedroom Suites (700 sq. Feet) and Two Bedroom Suites (over 1000 sq. Feet) complete with full kitchen amenities, ensuite washer & dryers, seperate living and dining room and private balconies! Arrive Empowered and Leave Refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Les Suites Hotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Les Hotel
Les Suites Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing