We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Location is perfect!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were a small class of 13 grade 7 students going to Ottawa for a 4 day trip. Originally we were booked at the Minto, but due to the hotel closure we were forced to choose alternative accommodations. It was between this and Albert at Bay, but since Albert at Bay was lacking a pool we chose Les Suites. There are not too many suite hotels in Ottawa that have large enough rooms to accommodate large groups.

Located just a stone's throw from the Rideau Centre and the Byward market, the hotel is in a great location. We checked in early, but luckily our room was ready. The kids were tired after the long drive, and it gave us all a chance to freshen up before getting started on all our activities for the day.

We had 2 - 2 bedroom premiere rooms on the 7th floor. One overlooking Rideau and the other overlooking a quiet terrace. My room was the one overlooking Rideau and it was a little noisy at night, so if you're a light sleeper I suggest you ask for one not with a street view.

Our rooms had 2 bedrooms, one with 2 doubles and an ensuite full bathroom, and the other with a queen bed. There was a 2nd full bathroom just outside the room. The room was very large, and spacious, but definitely is showing it's age. Some of the curtains were quite badly stained, but I wasn't too bothered. Beds were extremely comfortable.

There was a full kitchen and living room with a large desk, and sofas (one that converted to a double sleeper). Plus a 4 seat dining table. Overall, a very comfortable stay. Plus, a balcony if you want some fresh air.

We also used the washer and dryer in the room. It came in handy after long days in the heat, plus, after a swim.

The kids enjoyed the pool, and the fitness centre is very bare bones, but they do have one.

Parking is $20/day and is pretty much in line with other downtown hotels. We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on that. Chose to eat mostly in Rideau centre at either Michel's or Tim Horton's for a fast, quick bite. Everyone seemed to enjoy Michel's (try the almond croissant)!

We got an excellent price since they honored our rate at the Minto, so if the price is right I would definitely recommend staying here again. I've been to Ottawa tons of times, and have stayed at many hotels from Mid to high range. I must say that Les Suites is a good choice if you want the extra space. Overall, a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your school’s recent stay at the hotel and I’m pleased we were able to accommodate your group after the unfortunate closing of the Minto Suites Hotel. Our comfortable, fully-equipped two bedroom suites are quite spacious and the ensuite washer/dryer does come in handy. As you indicated, our location is perfect for those guests who want to walk to the majority of Ottawa’s attractions (Rideau Centre, Parliament Hill, museums, historic Byward Market, hundreds of restaurants, etc.). Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you and your group again on your next trip to Ottawa!

Sincerely,



Chris Pierce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    550
    187
    72
    45
See reviews for
621
277
48
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I recently spent a week in this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is in easy reach of the market and walking distance from Parliament etc but being on a busy road can be a little noisy from both traffic and late night revellers. The room was of reasonable size but was looking a little tired; TV reception was appalling but free internet service was a good speed for general use. There seemed to be a lot of young singles staying in the hotel over the weekends and it could get quite rowdy, so if you are looking for a quiet time you may want to try elsewhere. All in all an unspectacular but reasonable value hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank xsunseekers-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 3/5 review regarding your recent stay with us noting our excellent location, spacious suites and value for money! Because we are located in the heart of downtown, there will be noise emanating from the street. For future reservations, please do contact our Reservations Team and request a “courtyard view” suite to minimize any type of noise intrusion. Because many of our guests do have HDTV at home, the picture quality at Les Suites will be less sharp as we currently do not have high definition available in the hotel. We are in the process of receiving quotes to initiate this project. Once again, thank you for your review and I do hope to have the opportunity to host you again in future!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for 4 days while visiting the city.very convenient ,big and comfortable rooms, fantastic location,minutes away from Byward market.very close to different attractions.the hotel is a bit outdated bit very clean with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guylip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5/5 rating regarding your recent 4 day stay with us noting our fantastic location! Our huge suites are perfect for those who enjoy a comfortable separate living and sleeping area, full kitchen and the 5 appliances make our guests feel they are in their home-away-from-home. Once again, I appreciate your review and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canada’s Capital!

Sincerely,



Chris Pierce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Les Suites hotel offers very decent accommodations - nothing fancy but comfortable and clean - for good value. Originally we had booked a one-bedroom suite however were informed on check-in that this type of was not available . We were offered a bachelor plus free parking instead, which was perfectly fine for our needs. The only downside is that the walls are a bit thin and we happened to stay on the same night as many very loud prom kids. There was tons of commotion in the halls throughout the night despite the extra security hired by the hotel. Regardless, I would certainly book here again for the great location and good service. Easy walking distance to Byward Market and Parliament buildings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your awesome 4/5 review and I’m pleased we were able to accommodate you on arrival! The location of the room you stayed in is close to the elevators and stairwells and I do apologize for the guest noise you encountered. Once again, thank you for your great review noting our fantastic location, clean and comfortable rooms and value for money and I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Ottawa!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
1,102 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was conflicted, because for what it intends to be, this is a five-star hotel. Not in the kind of 5-star where your every luxury and whim is indulged, but a five-star in that it is an incredible hotel, with incredible staff, at an incredible price point in Ottawa downtown. We had a two-bedroom suite, which was exceptionally spacious, with two bathrooms, two TVs, a fully-equipped kitchen, and everything I look for in a hotel. Super clean, lots of towels, great toiletries, makeup/shaving mirror, little details.....I lacked for nothing. And I am picky. Just read some of my other reviews :) The hotel pool is a great size, with a nice hot tub. There is a wonderful little place on the lobby level to get paninis, snacks, and even wine, beer and drinks! This was an exceptionally pleasant surprise. This is not a full-serve, over-priced hotel restaurant, as they often are, but it was a remarkable little sort of snack bar but way more. Safe parking. The staff are completely accommodating, and they even had umbrellas for the downpour in which I had to walk our dog. Oh yes. This is a pet-friendly hotel. Total bonus. I have stayed at other "upscale" hotels in Ottawa before. Never again will I stay anywhere except Les Suites. GREAT job to all working here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your GREAT review! I’m thrilled you enjoyed our clean, well-equipped and spacious suites in the heart of downtown. I also appreciate your kind comments regarding the Presse Café located in our lobby and I will certainly pass along your review to their owners. All of our Team Members genuinely care about our guests and go out of their way to ensure all guests have an excellent hospitality experience. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next journey to Ottawa!

Sincerely,



Chris Pierce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just came back from the convocation of our daughter in Ottawa.
Stayed in "Les Suites" for 4 nights.
The hotel has a great location, 10 minutes to the ByWard market and restaurants ...
It is an old hotel and it could be time for renovations, though still clean and functioning well.
Hotel staff are wonderful. We had a big suite with a good size living room, a complete kitchen, two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. a huge conference room, and also washing machine and dryer in a laundry room.
We had a great view, comfy beds, and quite resting time. Great value for dollar.
We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your excellent review regarding your recent family stay with us to attend your daughter’s convocation! Many families of students attending local universities and colleges choose Les Suites to stay at because of our spacious, comfortable and well-equipped suites. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again in future.

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

this hotel is has a great location - walking distance to parliament hill and hop on/hop off bus stop. the suite setup is great if travelling with a large party - on our stay we had 2 - 2 bedroom suites for our extended family of 10; wonderful to have the full kitchen so not always eating out - grocery store 2 block walk as is the beer store and liquor store
lots of privacy for everyone with 2 bathrooms and tons of gather space in the living room/dining room
staff are incredibly accomodating, lovely large pool and outdoor courtyard - lovely balcony
only issue was that dishes were missing so we had to purchase disposable stuff but worked out great

Room Tip: pool is on the 5th floor if you want to be close by; ask for a room with a west view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisefan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow – it’s always a pleasure to receive excellent feedback! I’m pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious and well-equipped two-bedroom suites. Having a kitchen with full-sized appliances makes meal-time a breeze. In future, if you require more dishes or anything else to make your stay more enjoyable, please do let us know immediately as we are always at your service! Our beautiful outdoor courtyard located on the 5th floor is an oasis for our guests. Catch some sun and then go swimming in our indoor pool located on the same floor. Once again, thank you for your review and I certainly look forward to hosting you and your family again on your next journey to Ottawa!

Sincerely,



Chris Pierce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 67 in Ottawa
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
2,109 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#25 of 67 in Ottawa
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Hotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Hotel Ottawa

Property: Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Address: les Suites Hotel 130 Besserer St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Les Suites Hotel Ottawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Les Suites Hotel, Ottawa, you really do have the best of everything-the luxury of a great location and the comfort of spacious elegance. Situated in the heart of downtown Ottawa, Les Suites Hotel is next door to great shopping at the Rideau Centre and surrounded by fine dining and entertainment. Ideally located near major travel routes, government offices, and popular attractions, we offer the perfect location for business travelers and leisure guests alike. Les Suites Hotel boasts spacious One Bedroom Suites (700 sq. Feet) and Two Bedroom Suites (over 1000 sq. Feet) complete with full kitchen amenities, ensuite washer & dryers, seperate living and dining room and private balconies! Arrive Empowered and Leave Refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Les Suites Hotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Les Hotel
Les Suites Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing