We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a great price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location for a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very comfy hotel at a very central location. Easy to walk to most attractions around (By market, parliament, ... all at less than 10-15 min walk)
We were 11 friends, staying in 2 suites (2 doubles bed + 1 sofa bed in each room). The rooms were great, and big enough for our need. The staff was helpful and provided us quickly with everything we needed (extra towels, linen, etc.).
Breakfast was included and very satisfying (eggs, sausage, french toast, toast, bagel, fruits, yogourts, cereals, muffins, coffee, juice, etc.). It stops at 10AM, but the staff did check with us if we wanted to take anything else before cleaning away all the food stations.
Pool was a bit small and shallow, but it's ok if you just wanna play a little in the water.

Only downside was a rather noisy ventilation system : if you're a very light sleeper you might have trouble with that - the plus was that it was loud enough to cover every noise coming from the hallway and the other rooms :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Maude G,

Thank you very much for your comments on TripAdvsior about the Residence Inn by Marriott in Downtown Ottawa. I am grateful that you took the time to share your thoughts with us and the travelling community.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed most of your stay, and that our staff were very helpful. Having friendly and attentive staff is priority #1, and we feel that we are one of the best in the city in this aspect! I am very proud of our team.

We have noted your issues with the vent fans, and we will begin investigating alternatives for this in the future. We appreciate your insight.

If you should ever need anything regarding this past stay, or a future trip, please feel welcomed to contact me directly at 613-231-2020 ext. 4004.

Kind Regards,

Doug Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    384
    113
    33
    7
See reviews for
342
128
28
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is withing walking distance of most of Ottawa's must see sites. The room was comfortable and large enough and laid off so that my wife and I did not feel that we were underfoot of each other. The kitchen is small with only two burners so only one can be the cook. Still we were able to prepare two great meals. There is a pass-through to the dining area making serving easy as well as allowing the delegation of prep jobs to a second person. The cupboards are high so a short person has a problem reaching the highest shelves. Initially my wife thought that we were missing items, only to realize that they were on a high shelf out of sight.

Overalll the staff was helpful but there was one occasion of going beyond the call of duty. We travel with a pepper mill and had run out of pepper corns. I asked if there were a supply in thr house, and a few minutes later an employee arrived with a container which he used to fill out mill using a funnel made out of paper towel to make the transfer easy.

Room Tip: Shops for food are about ten (south on Elgin to Busbys) or fifteen minutes away (Byward Market, mult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear DRWG,

Thank you so much for the excellent feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and I am so glad that we were able to help you out when needed, and that your suite helped for a comfortable stay.

The room you had booked is a studio room which does indeed have a smaller kitchen area, however should you ever return, I would strongly recommend booking a 1 bedroom suite which features a full kitchen, including a 4 burner stove sufficient enough to prepare a feast! If you felt the studio was large enough, you will be extremely pleased with the size of our full suites.

If you are returning to Ottawa, or have any questions regarding this stay, I would be happy to hear from you. I can be reached directly at 613.231.2020 ext. 4004.

Kind Regards,

Doug Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
douglas.crosbie@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel is favourite with the famiies who come to Ottawa to stay over the weekend or during special occassions like, family day, winterlude festival, Canada Day etc. I have stayed at this property number of times. Have to admit that this is not a fancy place but one gets what one needs as a single traveller or as a family. The rooms come with a kitchen with utensils, microwave, refrigerator, and a living room, two TVs ( quality of cable was not great though, a bit grainy) The TV in the lobby level ( Level 4) is much better. Some rooms have laundry machine. Else, one can use the coin operated laundry machines one level ( i think its level 2). The b'fast is simple, almost same everyday, pancakes, sausages, eggs, diced potatoes, kidney beans, bread/muffin, yoghurt and sometimes bananas. I like the place as one can make a request with the hotel to order groceries from the market if you are staying with the family for a longer duration. Just place the request form ( in room) at the front desk before 9 am and its in your kitchen by the time you return in the afternoon ! The local calls are free, internet in free. the hotel has recently been given a facelift. In all, its close to all the touristy places around, I like it, for its no fussiness. Feels like home.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rshamni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear rshamni,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Residence Inn by Marriott in Downtown Ottawa! Your insight will help many families and single travelers alike make an informed decision when choosing to stay with us. Your review touches on a number of things that we love to share about our property, and I couldn’t be more pleased to see you take time out of your day to help our potential guests. I was wondering if you could share with me when you last stayed, so I could investigate any issues with the television service. We have had the provider at the property a few times over the past months, and have been working on the transition from analog to digital service which produces a much clearer signal.

If you ever need anything in the future for an upcoming visit to Ottawa, please feel welcomed to contact me directly at 613-231-2020 ext. 4004.

Thanks!

Doug Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
Douglas.crosbie@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel was a life saver, going above and beyond to rescue us from a nearby disaster. Doug made every accommodation for us to secure top notch facilities within a moments notice - thanks for going the extra mile!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMS5025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you so much AMS5025!

Your kind words are greatly appreciated, and it is our pleasure to help make your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown Ottawa as comfortable and relaxing as possible! If you need anything at all, please do not hesitate contact me directly at ext. 4004.

Yours in Hospitality,

Doug Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
613-231-2020 ext. 4004
douglas.crosbie@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have spent a couple of days at the Residence Inn during the Winterlude´s last week. It was excellent. The hotel is within walking distances to most attractions in Ottawa. The room is big and comfortable. It has a small kitchen so that we can cook, make coffee it´s well done, practical and very clean. Personnel were helpful and very polite.

Room Tip: Suggest a room at a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 704Edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much 704EduardoW!

I could not be more happy to see that you enjoyed your time at Winterlude. The weather this year was phenomenal, and there were plenty of things to explore this year!

I am pleased as well to see that you enjoyed the hotel, and we met all your needs. We are very popular at the Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown Ottawa for Winterlude because of our spacious suites with kitchens that are located a VERY short walk from the festivities!

If you need anything for your plans for next year, or decide to visit during another time of year, I would be happy to help. You can reach me directly at 613-231-2020 ext. 4004

All the best,

Doug Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel, over the holidays. Our daughter had given us tickets to a show at the NAC and we decided to make a mini-vacation out of the trip into town. The location is fabulous. We had a HUGE corner suite with a king bed and living room and kitchen.Very comfortable and close to our venue. Mattress was a lumpy is my only complaint. Check in staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Suite had full kitchen, dishes, dining table - everything. Breakfast next morning was included and more than adequate with things like eggs, french toast etc. Not too busy and lots of seating even though it was a weekend. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdcruisingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N R, General Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
HI dcruisingmom,
Thank you for staying with us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We are sorry that you found the mattress to be lumpy and we will certainly take a look at this. While we are close to the NAC and we are glad you went for a show, we are also close to the Winterlude venues. We are glad to know that you had adequate breakfast and space to sit.
We try hard to please all our guests and my team and I are happy to know that you were happy.
Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at the Residence Inn for 2 nights during Winterlude. It was conveniently located near Confederation Park to view the ice sculptures, as well as close to the canal to go for a skate. The furniture is starting to show its wear, but the room was spacious enough that we were not tripping over each other. Having 2 TVs was a great benefit, especially since it was Superbowl weekend. The gym was nicely laid out, with personal tvs on the treadmills and ellipticals. The breakfast was decent - food was average - and it was very busy. The location was quiet and we did not hear other hotel guests around us. The only real complaints were the lack of storage in the bathroom - there is nowhere to put washkits for 4 people, and on Sunday night when my daughter went in the hottub, the temperature was so hot that she felt like she got burned. She couldn't stay in it, and came back to the room with red skin. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wloo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear wloo11,
I hope you had a great weekend at Winterlude! We are very lucky to be in a great location for such a fun and entertaining time in Ottawa. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and we do hope to see you again in the future! We are constantly looking for ways to improve the hotel, and your comments go a long way in helping us to decide where our next improvements will be made. We have checked the hot tub, and everything is in working order and within safe operational temperatures.

If you are looking to book again for the future, please feel welcomed to contact me directly at 613-231-2020 or douglas.crosbie@marriott.com.

Kind Regards,
Doug Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Address: 161 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing