We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some perks, some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Some perks, some flaws”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My friend and I came to Ottawa to write our board exams. Overall, we felt that Hampton Inn was a great deal, especially compared to the expensive downtown hotels. We wanted a good quiet place to sleep, enough room so we wouldn't feel cramped, and a decent location.

ROOMS: This hotel is definitely a bit dated, but aging well. =) The standard room was incredibly spacious, plenty of space for luggage and tables that we could study at. It was big even by North American standard. A full bathroom complete with amenities, large enough to put a bed into. There was an additional sink outside and a minifridge underneath. Everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable, with a soft duvet and fluffy pillows. This room would easily be comfortable for a four person family.

SERVICE: The breakfast is included and plentiful! Of course, that also means an elbow to elbow meal because no one misses breakfast. Variety includes basic breads/cereals, yogurts/dairy, heartier sausages/eggs, or fresh made waffles! The breakfast area was freely used by my group as a gathering place to sit and chat. The staff were friendly and helpful.

LOCATION: The bonus is free parking in the basement...which brings me to the next point, that you need a car. There are few restaurants nearby, so if you want some options, you will need to drive. If you aren't driving, hailing a taxi is not a problem because there's always a couple parked in front. The taxi ride to downtown is quick, 10 minutes at most.

*** We did have a negative experience. I tried my best to be objective above. During our stay June 2011, it was extraordinarily hot in Ottawa. Something was wrong with the AC, and ours was not an isolated case. We walked into the room and found it was quite humid, enough to make our papers limp and the bedsheets damp. Turning up the AC seemed to make it worse. At night, we called for housekeeping to change our sheets before bed, then we could at least get a good night's sleep. We spoke with the staff but the issue wasn't sorted out when we left (3 days later). I think it was a one time malfunction, but something to double check if you are going during the summer heat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hykwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    439
    117
    28
    9
See reviews for
462
209
54
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Very nice Hampton Inn though getting to it is one-way so can be a little challenging.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Great underground parking and was nice in the morning to have a warm car! Parking is free.
Beds comfortable as were pillows. Rooms very clean. King room very spacious with a big bathroom. You can do your ironing in the bathroom without any issues!
Rooms quiet even when facing a busy street.
Breakfast area in the lobby bar (they also serve lunch/dinner I think). The food was typical Hampton fare but I was hoping for more/different options given they must have restaurant facilities to serve the menu in the elevator.
Business area has 1 computer and printer which I never had a problem using. In room free Internet with good speed-no problems.
This hotel is across from the Canadian Mounted Police HQ. Will need a car to get around from this hotel. About 10-15 minutes to Parliament area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while on a getaway to Ottawa.

The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Underground parking is plentiful and free! Breakfast could be busy but staff did a good job of keeping everything replenished and there were lots of options. Pool is nice and clean and warm. Hot tub nice as well, but a little on the small side. We had a large king room with a kitchenette - everything was spotless and well maintained. Cleaning staff was also very friendly. We did not use the free wi-fi, but did use the complimentary computer in the lobby. Hotel is pretty much central to everything - very close to St. Laurent Shopping Centre and the Trainyards. We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jode88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We enjoyed the couple of times we have stayed here. Friendly staff at front desk, in room service and at the free breakfast bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I've stayed in many different hotels in Ottawa over the years, but as a place to stay this one totally leads the field. It's also exceptional in many ways, even for a Hampton Inn. The room I had was not a suite, but was much larger than normal Hampton size, and certainly bigger than any other hotel room I've ever had in Ottawa. Also a nice high ceiling, and large window for lots of natural light. Plus, the bathroom was equally spacious. The bed is one of the most comfortable in any mid-price hotel.

There's a mid-sized pool and small hot tub on the 4th floor. The main floor breakfast area doubles on weeknights as a bar and lounge with light menu -- another unusual feature! The large breakfast area allows for more choices than some Hamptons in the included breakfast. There's a sizable underground parking garage which is FREE.

Really, the only glitch is the location. Easy to get to off the 417 freeway, but when you leave the hotel you have to take a U-turn before you can get anywhere else. It's a fair distance out of downtown, and there are no restaurants within walking distance so a car is essential. You can leave the hotel eastbound on Coventry Road and come to the major St. Laurent Mall in about 5 minutes, so it's a good spot if shopping is your objective.

All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, including explaining the U-turn trick to get out on the road again. Definitely a keeper, and far better value for money than many of the highly overpriced and under-maintained hotels in Ottawa.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I stayed in a large number of Ottawa hotels and the Hampton Inn is the best quality for the price. Beds are super clean and comfortable. Rooms are spotless. Every employee I've encountered is friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and the hotel is generally quiet during the week. And sports teams on weekends are sports teams on weeekends. What can one do? A well-run and maintained property.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chacharea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Clean, friendly, nice rooms, complete breakfast included, heated underground parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TREDLindsay_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.8 mi away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
1.6 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Address: 100 Coventry Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#13 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Hampton Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing