We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Everytime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay, Everytime!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a great hotel,
Every time me and my family come to Ottawa we stay at the Hampton inn. Not only is it the lovely staff and service that keeps us coming back its the way they make you feel at home, just like any hotel should. The rooms are clean, and the complimentary breakfast is always a bonus! I must say I will continue returning to this hotel every time I stay in Ottawa!
Special thanks to Rosie at the front desk and Anwar for making us feel so welcomed this on our most recent trip.

Room Tip: 5th Floor, ask for 540's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Victoria S,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad to hear you have always had enjoyable stays here - we will continue to provide the best service possible!

Rosie and Anwar are amongst our top employees and they will be both delighted to hear you were so happy with all your stays!

Thank you again for being a loyal Hamptonite!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    417
    113
    27
    8
See reviews for
444
198
52
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Decided to try a new hotel on our annual visit to Ottawa and we were all pleased with everything. The location was close to everything we wanted to see (by car) and service was amazing - staff was very friendly. Rooms were a great size. The free hot breakfast was different everyday (we stayed 3 nights) and was great for us and the kids.

The decor could use an upgrade but is in fine repair. The lobby looks great though.

Elevators were hard to come by with a fully booked weekend (not long weekend). Toilets were low to the ground and had poor flushing power.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScouterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear ScouterJ,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services and facilities up to your standards!

I will definitely share your comments with our staff, they will be delighted to hear another guest went home happy!

As for the toilets flushing, if I might just add, they are low flow toilets, and they require the lever to be held for a couple of seconds to work properly. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to discuss this any furtherl

We do hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I have stayed in several hotels in Ottawa during the five years our son was at the U of O but the Hampton Inn was the best place during our recent visit (July 28.) The room was spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast was good with numerous items available. The secure underground parking area was appreciated as our vehicle was broken into elsewhere on a previous visit to Ottawa.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maf3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear maf3065,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, services and location - sorry to hear your previous stay in Ottawa was not so enjoyable, as your car was broken into. I am glad your last stay was a lot better!

We wish all the best to your son at the university, and hope to be able to welcome you and the family soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a nice hotel. The rooms were lovely. Unfortunately we were put into an area where there was no internet and this was very frustrating. Nothing could be done to help us. Plus the restaurant was being renovated. We had to hunt for the area being used as a restaurant. Very very inconvenient and awkward.

I would recommend the hotel as long as you make sure you are in an area that has internet!

Room Tip: Make sure you have internet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Carolyn B,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at our hotel! I am very glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities and services, but am a bit confused about your comment on breakfast area - we have renovated and opened newly finished lobby in January. You mentioned that restaurant was being renovated during your stay in June. We do not have a restaurant, only lobby area where breakfast is served. This area has not been closed since January. Please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to discuss this any further.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back soon - whenever your travels bring you back to Canada and Ottawa!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I stayed for three nights in 2 queen room and I'm very pleased with our stay.
It has a friendly staff, good full breakfast, coffee and tea in the ground floor all day.
The room was spacious, even the bathroom, bed comfortable, they change your linens every day. My kids and me also enjoyed a swimming pool and a hot tub.
We had a great time, I recommend this hotel to everybody and we definitely will choose it when we will be in Ottawa next time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luba072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear luba072,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you and the family enjoyed your stay with us and will be very happy to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having stayed at this Hampton Inn many years ago on business for 3 to 4 weeks, I decided to book into this Hotel again for the August Civic Long weekend (Aug 01-04/2014) away. Throughout my current 3 night stay the staff were friendly and helpfull, and the rooms and Hotel were clean and well maintained to the standard that I would expect of a Hampton Inn or similar class of Hotel that would cater to a business traveler. Unfortunately, however the good comparison ends there.

I had originally booked this Hotel via the Hilton/Hampton Inn website for $136.00/night for the 1st two nights, and for $119.00 on the 3rd night. I was surprised when I saw a fee for $4.08 for each night (3 x $4.08 = $12.24 in addition to a further 13% tax (in Ontario it is called the HST or Harmonized Sales Tax) being charged on top of the $136.00 room rate. This worked out to an additional 3% on top of the room charge, even before tax. THIS WAS NOT DISCLOSED ON MY RESERVE CONFIRMATION EMAIL THAT I RECEIVED FROM HAMPTON INN's RESERVATION CENTRE! At check-out I noticed this on my Room Bill, and since it is not a legal tax required by the Government (Federal, Provincial, or Municipal) I asked them to remove it, but the HOTEL REFUSED. Unfortunately they already had my credit card information, so I will have to try to dispute this with my Credit Card carrier. However, my self being from Ontario I feel that this Hampton Inn is ripping me off, along with the Ottawa Gatineau Hotel Association who encouraged this additional 3% room fee masquaraded as a tax on the Hotel Bill, which it collects from Member Hotels (Refer to the "Ottawa Destination marketing fee checks back in to capital" Article from the Ottawa Business Journal, dated Feb 11, 2014).

Anyways, as long as Hotels in Ottawa continue to collect this 3% fee that to the average tourist from outside of Ontario, or Canada may not realize is not a tax, I would encourage all tourists coming to visit Ottawa to visit other city in Canada, that does not try to collect such a fee from it's guests.

Wayne R.
Mississauga, ON

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd Floor they put the breakfeast buffet in the 2nd floor meeting roooms, caused a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Wayne R,

Thank you for submitting your feedback on your stay at our hotel! We are very glad you enjoyed our services and facilites!

I am sorry you feel so strongly about the DMF, even after it was explained to you and offered to have it removed. Our Reservations Manager, who remembers you well, had offered to remove it from your bill, but you refused. She explained that almost all hotels in Ottawa-Gatineau area, with exception of three or four, charge this fee (which is not a tax), and that hotels in other big cities charge it also. Our front office clerk Claire had shown you her bill from Quebec City where she was also charged this fee. I personally have paid homeless tax in Miami, FL, as a tourist.

We have spent good three weeks with the brand trying to even incorporate DMF in confirmations which are emailed to guests - as there are more than 2,000 Hamptons worldwide, it is impossible to show individual country, state or city taxes and/or fees.

We will be glad to welcome you back, should you decide to return to Ottawa.

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hampton Inn is a great hotel. Our room was very spacious (so spacious that we were able to fit a cot in the room as well) and the bathroom was double size. This room also included a kitchenette. Very clean hotel throughout and the breakfast was good. They must have anticipated a busy weekend and included a breakfast on the main and second floor. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmar1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear karmar1965,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review and share your thougths on your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and are glad you found our services, facilities and location suit your needs.

I can see you were here on one of our very busy weekends: yes, we do open up our meeting rooms upstairs for breakfast overflow on those days, to make sure everyone can get breakfast and actually sit and eat it without being rushed by waiting people.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Courtyard Ottawa East
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Address: 100 Coventry Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#13 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Hampton Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing