We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottawa Westin and Winterlude: a winning combination”
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Ottawa
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ottawa Westin and Winterlude: a winning combination”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our first time in Ottawa during Winterlude. The Westin is the perfect location for skating on the canal (literally across the street). The rooms are gorgeous and luxurious with excellent service. Salt water pool and top notch gym is great. Spa is right next door or you can enjoy in room massages. Shopping linked indoors via a bridge to a huge shopping centre and local Byway market is one block away with local shopping and goods. Excellent restaurants nearby within walking distance from haute cuisine to cheap eats. Don't miss $4.89 made to order italian sandwiches at local italian specialty market and beavertails on the canal. The ice sculptures, ice slides and fun in the park and a 15min drive to Quebec to the casino. You can walk to the Parliament Buildings and dress warmly if going to Winterlude and enjoy.

Room Tip: High floor with view of canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleWhoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    595
    213
    84
    31
See reviews for
415
507
97
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wonderful weekend with my family, outstanding service with every associate we came in contact with. the room was comfortable and spacious highly recommend the westin

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCLCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear SniperMonkey,

Thank you for your comments! I am thrilled to read that you were able to enjoy the Winterlude festivities, and of course that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, perhaps for one of Ottawa’s summer festivals! If during your next stay you would prefer toiletries with a more neutral scent, simply notify one of our guest service agents and we would be happy to accommodate.

Thank you once again for your review, and be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here the first weekend of February for a night. We found it wasn't much more expensive than other hotels that weekend in the area - well worth the extra price. We did take advantage of the Ontario Resident rate. Also, the hotel is completely non-smoking whereas some hotels have smoking and non-smoking rooms.

No bed bugs.

We were on the 17th floor. It was designated a "quiet floor." The room was clean - even smelled clean. The bed was very comfortable and had a nice view of the Parliament buildings and the canal. Elevators were fast and the room was quiet. The toiletries are too fragrant though but we do prefer very neutral scents.

The location of the hotel was worth every penny. The Rideau Canal was right across the street where we went skating and had Beaver Tails. A few blocks to the Byward Market where we had dinner and more Beaver Tails (cheaper here than on the Canal). The mall was attached which allowed us to grab a quick lunch without lugging all our winter gear with us. Parliament was a few blocks away too. We ended up taking transit (97 bus, $3.25) from the airport rather than taking the taxi. We took the taxi going to the airport though because the 97 got full along the route. It's fine if you're the first ones on the bus, but we would have been a pain if we got on at Rideau Centre.

Great stay for visiting Ottawa for a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SniperMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Nice hotel, but for the price you pay this is minimum requirement and reason I gave three stars. Great location; close to parliament, the Market, malls, convention center, walking distance to downtown. Check in very good, valet parking was efficient. Room very nice, if not a bit small; was in corner room so strange config, but great view and ridiculously large shower made up. Good desk to work on, and bed was more than comfortable with many many many pillows. As stated, was up on 22 floor, so very nice view of city. Gift shop nice touch, very convenient with good hours. Nice TV's.

Only downside for this hotel was the elevators, which brings me to my title. When you are on the 22nd, and are debating walking down you know there's a problem!!! When elevator did come, you either flew all the way down to the lobby or did the milk run of floors!!!! Not sure what they could do, but it's about as bad as I've seen in a newer hotel. I get this at places like the Fort Garry in Winnipeg but in a modern building??? Anyways, we were there for four days so I guess this starts to get on your nerves; short stays probably won't notice.

All in all, you get about what you pay for for central location!!! Can't help but feel though that there are better, more affordable options!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatWhiteMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear GreatWhiteMark,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read that there were many aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, such as your Heavenly Bed and shower, the view from your room, and of course our central downtown location. While our elevators have been a challenge for us, I am pleased to say that we are beginning a modernization project which will allow our elevators to better communicate with eachother, thereby providing a quicker, more efficient elevator ride with fewer interruptions.
I appreciate your feedback, and welcome you to stay with us again to experience our refreshed elevator system in the future.

Be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel was very nice, updated and clean. Location was the best feature- close to sightseeing, shopping, restaurants, and bars. Staff was very friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mersnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I have stayed here twice while attending conferences (most recently Feb 8 - Feb. 10). This is a great hotel in the heart of Ottawa. Easy walking distance to the Byward Market, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal, Rideau Centre (shopping mall) and a 15 minute drive from the airport. Not far from the train station either I believe. The hotel is fairly quiet and if you get a room over looking the canal and parliament hill, it will come with a gorgeous view. I used the gym one morning and the facilities were excellent, lots of room and machines, including a fair size pool and hot tub. The direct connection to the mall is a bonus. My only complaint is that staying here isn't cheap and I wouldn't have stayed if my company had not been footing the bill. So, it's not for everyone's budget, but if you can find a deal or are here in the low season, it's a great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Rideau Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoBlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I frequently take mini-vacations and whenever I head towards Ottawa, I always stay at The Westin. My latest weekend stay coincided with the start of Winterlude - Ottawa's three week celebration of winter. I got a panoramic view of Friday night's fireworks from my hotel window and skated on the Rideau Canal all day Saturday - located right next to the hotel.

I would recommend reserving a deluxe room just for the size and comfort and if you really want to spoil your self, ask for a corner room, called a junior suite - incredible view and very spacious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Property: The Westin Ottawa
Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing