We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic business trip”
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Ottawa
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic business trip”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My trip started well. Upon checking in I was told that I was the SPG member of the day and was given an upgrade to a suite. It ws ahuge with 2 full rooms, massive closet space, 2 or 3 TV's a tub + huge shower and a great view! My only regret was that I was in town for only about 40 hours so I didn't have the chance to use most of the amenities.

the location is hard to beat in Ottawa. It's right across the street from the Parliament buildings, a 5 minute walk from Sparks St. which good little shopping + restaurant area, and a 5 minute walk in a different direction from York St which is full of restaurants + bars. also, in a different direction, about a 5 minute walk from the University of Ottawa.

Room Tip: I had a free upgrade to a suite. It was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mike D,

Thank you for your comments! We are absolutely delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us here at the Westin Ottawa. We always want to provide our guests with a unique and special experience, so when we get great feedback like yours we know we’re meeting our goals!

We hope that when you join us again you have the time to fully experience the hotel as well as the amazing restaurants, shopping, history and culture surrounding us.

I hope to see you again soon.

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    599
    214
    86
    32
See reviews for
418
509
97
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
308 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were impressed with the room which had been updated. I remember the Westin as an upscale hotel with the softest, best linens and towels. Well, the towels felt like they had been taken off the clothesline...not fluffy. The room amenities were poor average and not good enough....the shampoo, etc.
What I found incredible was the charge for the use of room wifi. Neanderthal. In 2014, wifi should be available throughout the hotel.
These details are what makes a hotel experience more enjoyable, more of an "ahhhh" feeling. My feeling was more like, "meh". Too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear marcia s,

Thank you for your feedback. We are well known for our Heavenly experience and receive a lot of positive feedback regarding our bed, bath, and spa products. I am truly sorry that you had the opposite experience and I will definitely be taking this up with our team to further input procedures to ensure quality control when it comes to these products.

You also identified that you weren’t happy with our internet charges, I am going to take these comments to our next operations meeting and discuss. Thank you again for your feedback, as much as we like to hear that our guests have had an excellent experience with us; we realize that receiving this type of information is just as much a benefit as it prompts us to review our current practices and stay on top of our game.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Recently spent just one night here and everything was as I expected from Westin standards. Moreover, this property's proximity to downtown tourist attractions meant easy access to restaurants and shops. Found the hotel workout facility to be above average in terms of choices available, to include a pool. Interiors were well decorated and maintained. Service was predictably reliable. Great for business travel. Would return any day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My fiance and I booked a last minute room reservation at the Westin Hotel in Ottawa after celebrating our engagement party with our families down in the market. Melissa from Front Desk promptly arranged the booking then she congratulated me and assured me that the room would be available upon our arrival. Later that night when we checked into our room, we were pleasantly surprised by the breath taking view of our room. Melissa had booked for us a corner room on the 20th floor with one window facing the parliament and the other window facing the Byward market. We were also pleased to find an amenity (champagne & chocolate dipped strawberries) waiting for us and card with a message from the Westin staff that concluded with "...thank you for sharing this celebration with the Westin team."

Thank you Melissa from Front Desk and thank you Carly from Service Express for all your hospitality and for making our stay most memorable.

Sincerely,
Matt & Sophia Sellers

Room Tip: Choose a corner room that faces the Parliament from one side and the Byward market on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sophie D,

Congratulations again from the Westin Ottawa team and thank you for your feedback! At the Westin Ottawa we feel very special when guests choose to celebrate here. Most, if not all of our team, would tell you that it’s truly one of the best parts of our jobs. We are so happy that you had an excellent stay with us and wish you and Matt a lifetime of happiness!

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Pros:
-functional, cosy accommodation
-very comfortable beds
-attractive lobby
-central location
-mall accessibility
-helpful concierge
-delicious buffet breakfast

Cons:
-good but overpriced food (ex: $5 for a latte and $9 for a small cup of berries
-charged $1.75 for every local call made
-chairs in the room were dirty
-charged for parking at hotel
-defunct ice machine

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Westin Ottawa. Although the service was generally good, our biggest complaint was just that we felt nickelled and dimed with hidden fees and sneaky charges.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Alexandra H,

Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to hear that you had a comfortable and cozy stay with us at the Westin Ottawa, we are proud of our Heavenly beds and the great sleep that our guests have in them.

You identified a list of cons primarily revolving around our pricing. We make a point of being transparent about all of our pricing and charges so it’s unfortunate to hear differently, this is something we will definitely look over again to make sure that we are being as clear as possible. We view feedback as a gift, and as an opportunity to work towards improving the service and experience we provide, so thank you again for yours.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel. Its location is perfect, the rooms are very spacious, clean, and well decorated; truly 4 stars. The pool is very nice and kept clean; great for families! The breakfast buffet at the restaurant is really nice (although a bit expensive).

The only "problem" (although minor) for this particular stay was that both at check-in and check-out there was only one person at the reception desk, there was thus a long line-up and it took quite a bit of time to complete check-in.

Overall a very pleasant stay as usual, my favorite hotel in Ottawa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear JoeDassin1,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience staying with us. We spend a lot of time and designate a lot of focus on our guest rooms so that our guests feel as comfortable as they would at home. Hearing that you enjoyed our space makes us very happy!

I am sorry to hear that you experienced a longer than usual wait time at the front desk, I know that can be frustrating, especially after traveling. We try our best to staff according to our occupancy levels but this is something we are continuously looking to better, so thank you again for your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay, hopefully soon!

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A great choice in downtown Ottawa. Just park your car and walk everywhere. First class workout equipment. Nice pool. Very kid friendly. We were there for the Easter Sunday brunch which was excellent. Lots of chocolate eggs for the kids. The rooms are spacious, clean,with lots of towels. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matty348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Matty348,

Thank you for your comments. I am thrilled that you had an excellent stay with us over the Easter weekend. Our Daly’s team worked very hard to put on an exceptional Easter brunch for all of our guests, so you can be sure I will be passing on your feedback.

Thank you for making our day!

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
Ross M
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
198 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Property: The Westin Ottawa
Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing