We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge McGee's Inn
Ranked #6 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from Home.”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have stayed at McGees Inn for a weekend in February every year since 2006. Ottawa has become our second home and McGees Inn too. The Armstrongs are gracious hosts. They and their staff take great care of their guests. They have always been willing to accommodate any request. The breakfast is great and so are the rooms. we can walk everywhere you'd want to go. Our plan is to go back every year.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    65
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
44
89
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a very established downtown B & B. It's owners are very professional and run the place almost like a hotel. Breakfast is served in a dining room with lots of tables and tourists from around the world. There seems to be a small contingent of business travellers like myself. The rooms are clean and comfortable. McGee's Inn is a great alternative to a hotel, without compromising the comforts that a hotel has in terms of allowing you to work or review material for your business trip. I would recommend this hotel, especially if you are travelling with a partner who might just want to hang out in Ottawa for a day or two without being based at a large hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchiChod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our home away from home! We visit Mcgees each and every year and are never dissapointed ... only when it comes time to leave.

Comfy, clean rooms, great decor, attention to every detail! Food outstanding.

Look forward to returning!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank atmabir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Great Victorian house with beautiful antiques, wonderful rooms, comfortable beds, & ensuite bathroom. We even had our own balcony. Judy's breakfasts were amazing (eggs benedict, goat cheese & sun-dried tomato omelette, cream cheese & blueberry crepes), coffee was good & strong. Staff was attentive & friendly. The whole team gave good advice regarding sightseeing. And to top it all off, an easy walk to the Parliament Buildings, galleries, Byward Market, and various museums. Definitely a place to go back to again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This delightful B&B is very well located only a 7 minute walk from downtown, with a bistro type restaurant and public transport a 3 minute walk. The hosts were very helpful, and the gourmet breakfasts were great. Our room was lovely though cluttered with knick-knack ornaments & pillows on the sofa, which required moving for us to put both suitcases up off the floor. We found the shower cubicle tiny, and as with many old houses we could hear people walking up the stairs and water running in the many other rooms. However we could not hear any other TV noise. Free internet was a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solo_passenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I specifically booked a B&B so I could eat breakfast and start my very busy day. I found out at check-in that breakfast was at 8am or 9am. I needed to eat at 7:30am and be on the road at 8am. I was not accommdated and I was definitely not impressed.

The street is nosy and I barely got any sleep. I would not recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKNLovely101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GladysOttawa, Owner at Auberge McGee's Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
It is very clear on our website and when you check in that we have 2 sittings for breakfast 8:00 and 9:00. We do try to accommodate business people with early meetings.
We had our staff come in early for your 7:30 breakfast. We are always in the kitchen before that time. We saw you leaving the Inn at 7:15 the first morning and you never came for breakfast. The other mornings we checked over and over in the dining room and you were never there. We don't know what time you left but we were definately in the kitchen waiting.
As far as location is concerned we are downtown - a 10-15 minute walk to the hub of the city. We are also very close to Ottawa University.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

My partner and I stayed at McGee's Inn during our last getaway to Ottawa. The location was ideal - a five minute walk to the downtown core. First impressions when we walked in - the place was very welcoming and clean - typical Victorian B+B. We stayed in room 14 - just enough room for two with fuzzy robes, a flatscreen tv and AC. The other hotels we had priced came in at $10 cheaper, but for $10 more we got a great breakfast and a relaxed environment to enjoy it in.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherdestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge McGee's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge McGee's Inn

Property: Auberge McGee's Inn
Address: 185 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge McGee's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Inn built in 1886, located within walking distance of the ByWard Market, The National Gallery, NAC, the Mint, Ottawa University and much more. Abundant in Victorian charm with all of today's amenities. Historic home of John McGee (member of the Privy Council) and his son Frank McGee (famous hockey player featured on TSN) Full breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge McGee's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing