We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge McGee's Inn
Ranked #7 of 55 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Splendid.”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Had a splendid two night stay with my daughter. Loved the staff and owners. Great location near Bytowne with it's great selection of restaurants. We were also able to walk to the National Gallery and House of Parlement. Good coffee and a broad selection of breakfast items and choices. I will stay there on my next visit to Ottawa.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobalbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    66
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
48
92
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This place was absolutely fantastic. We were greeted by Jason, who was friendly and welcoming. He showed us to the room with the outside entrance, and it was awesome. Nice big clean room with comfy furniture and bed. Decorated very modernly. There was a fireplace thing, not a wood burning one, and it gave the room a really nice cozy glow.

The inn was about a 10 minute walk to Byward Market, which I highly recommend, and 15 to Parliament. It is located on a really quiet street.

Breakfast was very tasty and filling and coffee and tea were served all day. Also, the chapstick stuff they give you is amazing, so says my wife.

Seriously, this was a fantastic place and I have nothing negative to say about it. Nice folks who run it, good food, comfy bed. Just stay there.

Room Tip: Stay in the room with the private outdoor entrance, it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Recently stayed at the McGee Inn for 3 nights while in Ottawa for a conference. The inn was a easy 10 minute walk to the conference centre, which was a lovely way to start and end the day.

I paid half as much for my room and breakfast as many of my conference colleagues paid for their rooms along... terrific value!

I stayed in room 19, which was on the top floor, nicely decorated, comfortable and quiet.

I had a choice of 4 different breakfasts every morning. The breakfast was fresh, tasty and homemade and service by very pleasant and helpful staff.

I would definitely stay McGee's again! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencerport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Gracious hosts and excellent staff. Breakfast was great (the wonderful young ladies can take your order in English or French). Interesting a nicely decorated historic inn. Easy walk to the Byward market (tons of shops and restaurants) and the Parliament area.

Room Tip: Big variety of rooms. Some are suites, some have a screened porch, etc. Check the website to view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1000Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Did not understand when I booked that this room was apart from the Inn only that it had a separate entrance. Missed out on all the charm of this historical building as it was raining the night we stayed and didn't feel like going outside to go into the common area of the Inn. This room is decorated in a modern style completely different from the rest of the Inn. It was a bit on the small side. The shower and toilet area were very nicely decorated.

Breakfast was atrocious from the horrible coffee to the overly cooked eggs, the cold toasts and the way past their prime fruits.

Maybe the rooms in the Inn would be better and hopefully we happened on a day the chef/cook was off.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAnnieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed in the John McGee room and loved the myriad of nick nacks (like Old Camera's and designer plates, etc..) that are not only located in the room but throughout the B&B. This would appear to us to be a sign of a very caring owner who likes the B&B to look like a home and not just your run of the mill hotel. The B&B is very centrally located and an easy walk to the ByWard district as well as Parliament Hill. The breakfast is served on the first floor with a hostess coming to take your choice of roughly four dishes that can be made to order for you. Not something we normally get from a B&B and was delicious. Really felt like a guest at this B&B and not just another "passer by". Will stay here again when we are in Ottawa.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Beautiful property, about a 30 minute walk for us from Parliament, but you pass the Byward market and downtown on the way. Excellent breakfast service with delicious hot choices. Daytime staff is not very attentive or knowledgeable about tourist questions. No restaurants in the immediate area. Parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
714 reviews
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
236 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge McGee's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge McGee's Inn

Property: Auberge McGee's Inn
Address: 185 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge McGee's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Inn built in 1886, located within walking distance of the ByWard Market, The National Gallery, NAC, the Mint, Ottawa University and much more. Abundant in Victorian charm with all of today's amenities. Historic home of John McGee (member of the Privy Council) and his son Frank McGee (famous hockey player featured on TSN) Full breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge McGee's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing