We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay at Auberge McGee's Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge McGee's Inn
Ranked #5 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay at McGee's Inn in Ottawa. Each room is beautifully and uniquely decorated, very clean and quiet. They also serve a delicious breakfast. There is a lovely garden and patio area to enjoy a cup of tea or coffee. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed walking to the Byward Market, Rideau Canal and the Parliament builfings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at McGee's Inn for the Craft Beer fest. Another great stay!

The owners have upgraded the air conditioning system and changed the tv system to Bell. Both are great improvements.

Of course breakfast is still fantastic. The Inn is beautifully decorated.

Looking forward to the next time I stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at McGees Inn, on four occasions during July and August, ranging from three and four night stays to two single night stays. We were in Ottawa to visit our son, but also travelled around Ontario and Quebec,coming back to Ottawa in between our travels.
McGees is an excellent place to stay. I cannot fault it.the location is excellent, an easy walk to Byward Market, The Rideau Centre, Parliament and all museums and galleries. Staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. We met the owners, Judy, Jason and Sarah who were excellent hosts. Also the girls at breakfast were great, nothing was too much trouble,a real asset to the Inn. The Inn itself is beautiful, full of antiques that compliment the decor, some lovely quirky bits with a lot of attention to detail. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, with private bathrooms, AC and a fridge and all individually decorated. Good choice at breakfast, well cooked and presented. Decent coffee and tea with biscuits are available for guests at all times. There is a front garden with plenty of shady areas to sit in. I would definitely recommend McGees to anyone. We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely Victorian Mansion built in 1886 by John McGee (Canadian Prime Minister Sir John A. Macdonald, appointed him Clerk of the Privy Council of Canada as well as Deputy Governor to the Governor General). Lots of history here as his brother was the infamous D’Arcy McGee and his son was Frank McGee the “one eyed wonder” hockey player who was among the first 9 players inducted into the hockey hall of Fame.
We arrived early but were graciously welcomed into our room. We parked the car and as it was starting to rain our hosts kindly offered as an umbrella.
We stayed in room 15 on the second floor “the French Toile” suite. The room was very comfortable and quiet and the bathroom was modern with extra large shower. The house is a treasure of antiques and collectables that adds charm and character to the B&B.
Breakfast was in the spacious front room with large windows to enjoy the morning sunshine.
The service was prompt and the breakfast ample and tasty.
We will definitely stay at McGee’s next time we are in Ottawa.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are very quiet Park your car at the B&B and walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KAP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My visit to Ottawa was made better by a stay at McGee's Inn. The location, close to downtown and the Byward Market, is perfect and the bed was comfortable with cool AC. Breakfast was another highlight of the trip, setting you me for a great day of seeing the sights.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Best place in Ottawa to stay. Great family run Inn and extremely hospitable. Located in the heart of the city, close to all tourist attractions and great value all around. Great for families too!
Thanks again Armstrong family!

Room Tip: Loved the Egyptian Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have stayed here before and will stay here again. The staff at McGee's is by far the most helpful of anywhere I have ever stayed. They go the extra mile to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. I don't know if they do this all the time, but they were serving up ribs in the courtyard while I was there. There was even a live band. Not the sort of thing you expect from a BnB.

Room Tip: Call and ask about the rooms before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadRage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge McGee's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge McGee's Inn

Address: 185 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: £87 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge McGee's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Inn built in 1886, located within walking distance of the ByWard Market, The National Gallery, NAC, the Mint, Ottawa University and much more. Abundant in Victorian charm with all of today's amenities. Historic home of John McGee (member of the Privy Council) and his son Frank McGee (famous hockey player featured on TSN) Full breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Auberge McGee's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing