We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We finally found the perfect place to stay in our favorite city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge McGee's Inn
Ranked #7 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plattsburgh NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We finally found the perfect place to stay in our favorite city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

As frequent visitors to nearby Ottawa we have experienced the gamut of downtown hotels that cater to families. On our most recent venture north for Winterlude 2009, we were lucky enough to find Auberge McGee, and we will never look back! The Inn is ideally situated in a pleasant neighborhood that is a quick walk to the Byward Market and downtown. Free parking is available on site in the Inn drive.

Our room (#17) was spotlessly clean, quiet, warm, and comfortably accomodated our small family. We were free to come and go as we pleased - everyone, including the hosts, were happy to do their own thing. Antiques and memorabilia line the staircase, which we climbed to get to our room on the second floor. My six year old son explored these (respectfully and without incident) and did not freak us or the hosts out by doing so. We returned to the Inn on Saturday afternoon so my son and I could take a nap before walking out to dinner -it was extremely quiet, and pleasant to fall asleep with the winter afternoon sun coming through the lace curtained windows. My husband found the wireless Internet connection was fast and troublefree meantime.

The hosts were perfectly friendly and accomodating, but did not hover or fuss, which suited us just right. Mrs. Armstrong was perfectly happy to recommend nearby eating options when asked. The full breakfast featured many options and was well cooked and served; we appreciated the constant coffee refills!

We are grateful that this Inn accepts young children so we are no longer stuck in a downtown "family fun" hotel. This option will prompt us to spend more time in our favorite city - we have already booked a weekend in mid-April.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRWPlattsburghNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    63
    17
    10
    1
See reviews for
43
86
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

We spent my husband's 50th birthday in the Egyptian Room of this lovely Inn.

This decadent room is on the main floor and has a private bath with a double head shower. The bathroom itself is spacious and bright with lots of well thought out extras(large mirror,basket of cotton balls/
q-tips/makeup remover/lip balm/hand lotion) that you may need but may have forgotten to pack. Also included is a hair dryer, luxurious robes and fine quality towels.

The room is large with vaulted ceilings and well thought out decor. Keeping with the Egyptian theme, you'll find books, and many knick knacks as well as finely crafted mirrors and linens. The colour on the walls and the furnishings add to the experience and are as lovely and fancy as any 5 star hotel. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud! In the corner is a double jacuzzi with two more big fluffy towels and a display of bath salts and a sachet. The fireplace is lovely and it's position in the room, across from the jacuzzi provides for a lovely romantic evening. A candlestick sans candle is provided-luckily we had packed candles(I'm certain you could ask for one but that would be one thing I would add if it were my inn)The blinds darken the room nicely for a lazy morning. There is a small fridge and a private phone as well as a small table for writing. There is a flat screen wall mounted television in the corner.

We woke to delicious smells coming from the kitchen and were given a a choice of either an 8 or 9 AM sitting for breakfast. Upon arrival in the dining room we were delighted to find fresh squeezed OJ and apple juice, delicious home baked muffins and croissants, a selection of cereals and jams as well as yogurt, fresh fruit salad and your choice of either tea or coffee. The coffee was exceptional! The hot breakfast was a choice of either eggs Benedict- the house special-
which was a delight for the taste buds, 2 kinds of crepes or a ham and cheese omelet. All have a side of sausage and garnished with orange and melon. Scrumptious! All the while, nostalgic music was being piped though hidden speakers. You may either sit at a private table if you are lucky enough to get one before another guest, or you may sit at the main table and chat with other guests as we did.

We were warmly welcomed, several hours earlier than the 3 pm check in, which was very convenient for us as we had plans which took us into the evening. I found Sarah, the innkeeper to be the perfect hostess: showing us around, ready to aid but completely non-overbearing. She was happy to answer her guests questions and was delighted to talk about the history of the Inn and encouraged guests to explore the inn and take a look at all of the unbooked rooms. They simply leave the doors open for you to explore.

The parlour is lovely and the handcrafted mantle on the fireplace is the piece de resistance of the room. There is a piano and many periodicals, nostalgia and historic writings about the inn and the Ottawa area.

We will be back sooner than later!

  • Liked — Breakfast! Jacuzzi!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Italia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

we didn't book, we found their phone number at the tourist office so we were a little dubious, but the place was great, everything was perfect from the room to the breakfast.

  • Liked — The egiptian room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GiorgioGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

Just got back from a trip through Canada with friends and I can't tell you how lovely a place this is! The hosts were so pleasant and though they have alot of rooms in the house all are unique in themselves and very, very clean and quiet. Don't let the window air conditioner fool you, it isn't noisy at all!! We had a wonderful nite's sleep! Breakfast was a pleasant surprise with crepes or eggs, fresh fruit, crescents, rolls, juice, coffee and tea. All made to order, very good and plenty of everything.

My husband smokes a cigar so I wanted a room with a porch so he could do his thing, and it was perfect! Just outside our room was a door that led to a big porch. Our friends were on the same floor as us but on the other side of the house, but they joined us for some wine as we sat in enjoyment of the perfect B&B for our Ottawa visit.

The Hosts were kind enough to let us park there the whole next day as we walked to visit their beautiful city. Yes, it is in walking distance of downtown, only a few blocks and it was a very safe neighborhood. We only got to stay 1 night since we were on our way to Montreal the next day, but we now wish we had booked another nite as Ottawa is a great place to see. Don't miss the changing of the guard when you go there, it is very interesting how they go about it!

Book McGee's you won't be sorry!!

  • Liked — The wonderful bedroom
  • Disliked — stairs to climb,(but that was expected)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FloridaJunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

My family was very happy with our two night stay at McGee's. Our room---22, on the top floor---was comfortable, with a queen size bed for mom and dad and a single in a separate alcove for our son. Very nice private deck as well, where my husband strummed guitar in the evening. While the decor was a bit overdone for my taste---three kinds of red and white toile in one room must be some kind of world record---that seems to be the price you pay for B&B's.

The price was right, with free parking and choice of hot or cold breakfast. One of the things I liked about breakfast was that guests respected one another's space. There was chatting around the big breakfast table, but also smaller tables available for the less socially-inclined! The Sandy Hill neighborhood had ample dining choices. We ate at East African Restaurant---yummy Ehtiopian food. Ottawa's good bus system made it easy for us to get around without our car. i would certainly stay at McGee's again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CMerrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

McGee's is kind of a cross between small inn and B&B - there are more rooms than a typical B&B, but the feeling and amenities (breakfast!) are those of an excellent B&B. There is some outside staff, but the inn is run primarily by family. Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet, had a bit of a view, and suited us nicely. As others have stated, the breakfasts were ample and delicious, made to order. The location is kind of mixed blessing. Byward Market and the Parliament area are within easy walking distance, but some routes may take you past less than charming areas. We encountered no street people asking for money in Ottawa (in contrast to our stay in Toronto) and never felt threatened in any way. We found the Armstrongs to be warm and helpful and they made themselves available whenever we had questions or needs. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at McGee's and would recommend it.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank PAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

If you're looking for a traditional B&B experience, this isn't the place to go, as there are many rooms and it's run more like a mini hotel. But if you're looking for a good (and probably cheaper) alternative to a hotel, McGee Inn is an excellent choice. Our room (15) had the amenities of a hotel... a flat screen TV, telephone with free local calls, ensuite bathroom. At the same time it had the charm of an old Victorian mansion. The hotel also offers free parking (a cost not included in hotel prices) which is useful since it is centrally located downtown where it is mostly pay parking.

And of course there is breakfast, which was actually delicious. Better than the brunch offered at a restaurant we went to later for lunch. And we had a choice of 3 "entrees" versus some B&Bs where you are told what will be made on a particular day. We had eggs benedict and strawberry crepes, and they came quickly but was still hot. You can also help yourself to croissant / cereals / milk.

We recommend Auberge McGee's Inn and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nigma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge McGee's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge McGee's Inn

Property: Auberge McGee's Inn
Address: 185 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge McGee's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Inn built in 1886, located within walking distance of the ByWard Market, The National Gallery, NAC, the Mint, Ottawa University and much more. Abundant in Victorian charm with all of today's amenities. Historic home of John McGee (member of the Privy Council) and his son Frank McGee (famous hockey player featured on TSN) Full breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge McGee's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing