We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Felt like home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

The moment I met Sabina I felt like part of the family. She was so generous, helped me with my 4:30 a.m. cab, made me great Swiss coffee, let me use a room even though I arrived 7 hours before check in! Swiss Hotel is near the university so there are always lots of folks on the street. It is an easy stroll to the Museum of Civilization, across the river in Quebec. And Byward Market is at your doorsteps. 3 blocks away at the most. I booked this hotel blind, except for TripAdvisor recommendations, and I will definitely stay there again! Good hot chocolate and tea in the room. Gas fireplace. Internet and ipads in every room! A great combination of old and new style. Good beds. Good European bedding. There were young Europeans and old Americans. A great combination of people!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REJ810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    114
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
163
45
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

The newly reno'd and named Swiss Hotel was a pleasure to stay at. Clean, up dated small rooms were perfect for our stay this weekend. Yes parking is limited, yes you have to walk up and down stairs, but if your looking for a comfortable bed and clean up to date room this is a quant little charming gem for a quick get a way.

Only cons: Water pressure was low and bit of a sketchy area but not too concerned as we felt more than safe walking about very close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

Though it would seem that things have been in flux in the weeks prior to our arrival, I have to admit that the Inn was far more lovely than I'd expected. It has a charming, and definite European feel to it.

The service was wonderful, we felt welcomed as we were checked in. The room itself was absolutely lovely, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. There was a bit of water damage in places on the ceiling, but nothing more than is to be expected in such an old building.

All and all it was an incredibly comfortable, wonderfully romantic place, and we definitely enjoyed our stay. I would quite happily stay there again on my next visit to Ottawa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Friendly staff and clean, modern rooms made for a great stay in this inn. The authentic Swiss experience made it feel like a home away from home.

The room was perfect in size, newly renovated, with modern furniture. Loved the ipod/iphone docking station/radio in the room. Beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and clean! Renovations are now complete. Another great addition was the free wi-fi and computer in the lobby with high speed internet access free of charge.

The inn is centrally located, allowing you to walk to all major attractions (byward market, parliament, rideau centre) within minutes. Even though it is central, it is tucked away in a quiet neighbourhood away from the hustle/bustle of the city.

Everything was great, service, friendliness of staff, location, and quality for the value! I would definitely recommend this place to others and would stay here again on my next trip to Ottawa!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vziemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

The owner really shouldn't have taken paying guests during the refurbishment of the inn.
We had to drag our cases to the 3rd floor up stairs covered in dust sheets, around workmen and women painting, avoiding wet paint and potential falls. The rooms are going to be really plush when they're completed but at the time of our stay they had mirrors propped up against walls, lights hanging loose from sockets and they were covered in dust. Breakfast was not an option as they couldn't cook amid all the disruption. We felt at the very least we should have been forewarned but we weren't and neither were we offered any reduction to compensate.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wills51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans Herts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We arrived in Ottawa full of expectation, Canada's capital etc. I'd booked this hotel back in March this year, having read its rave reviews on Trip Advisor, so imagine our disappointment when we arrived to find a building site. The hotel was being treated to a major refurbishment, we were subjected to a lengthy apology and I'm sure it will be wonderful....one day. 3 flights of stairs covered in drugget with no lift (too expensive)was not an enjoyable experience and positively dangerous, given that we'd been on the road for hours.Our room will be beautiful, no doubt , when it's finished and they get to screw in the light fittings, turn on the loo water supply and don't cut off the water when you're in full flow in the middle of the beautiful double shower. Why they didn't cancel I've no idea; There was no breakfast either; only a full refund would have ameliorated our disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Godknowswhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

canada is a country with nature and nice people, what makes the best trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARC The Hotel
#21 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Property: Swiss Hotel
Address: 89 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiss Hotel is ideally located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. This European-style boutique hotel has modern flair and offers its clients a warm, cozy and intimate accommodation experience with friendly service in a quiet, stress free environment. Each of the 22 rooms has private bathroom, A/C, European style white bedding that is 100% cotton with plush duvets, hardwood floors, free hi-speed wifi internet, an iPad and a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. For business or pleasure, choose from standard, superior, deluxe rooms with a fireplace or our romantic getaway suite with a double Jacuzzi. The hotel offers an optional healthy Swiss buffet breakfast, as well as opportunities for small meetings. The hotel also has a pretty courtyard garden patio for relaxation - a true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing