We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty! Needs an inspection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ottawa East
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very disappointed with my stay last week. The website showed renovated guest rooms, but...
Big stains on newer carpet
Room smelled musty, smokey and dirty
Stains and dirt on walls
Splatters on side of bureau
dirty on bathroom light switch
hairs on the bathroom floor
tub needs resurfacing
tub caulking
TV reception poor
Parking lot light burned out (I parked under assuming it was safer)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank kedhaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CN302, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for the less than stellar housekeeping you encountered during your stay in June. Our Team Members will certainly be re-trained on Comfort Inn standards. Please do contact me directly to make your next reservation and I ensure you have an excellent hospitality experience. Once again, thank you for your review as its only through guest comments such as yours that we can continue to improve our operation!

Sincerely,


Peter Switzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here recently for work. I'll start with the positives safe neighbourhood with mall next door and lone star restaurant close by. Breakfast is good although very small and a bit crowded.

Now for the bad stuff...shady front desk worker doesn't smile and seemed annoyed to be serving or looking after customers had to repeat my reservation information to him several times really just not suited for front line customer service industry

Next the rooms... It's an older hotel and is apparently non smoking but rooms stunk like smoke. Bathroom was small dirty and dated cracks in the tub/shower.

Had my windows open the entire stay which helped get fresh air in, but hotel is next to major highway so lots of noise

I didn't see any bugs but the room/hotel need major $$$ updates to modernize or at the very least catch up with years of neglect

I looked to switch hotels but the entire city was booked so I stuck it out but I'd encourage anyone to look else where if staying in ottawa

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank cdnleafsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CN302, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review noting our great east-end Ottawa location and our complimentary breakfast! I sincerely apologize for the lack of customer service upon check-in and the housekeeping issues noted in your room. These are certainly not Comfort Inn standards and the Team will definitely be re-trained. Please do contact me directly to make your next reservation and I ensure you have an excellent hospitality experience.

Sincerely,


Peter Switzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband chose this place for its proximity to the memorial service we were to attend. He got locked into a non-refundable reservation before he had a chance to read any reviews because Comfort Inn has an arrangement with Google Maps to highlight their location over others in the same area. Luckily for us, the place has undergone a recent renovation, but the bones of a sorry old motel are still evident underneath. That said, the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is non-functional, the water runs out of the shower head but not out of the tub faucet, the tub is old, and the hallways still smell of days gone by when smoking was permitted. The motel is located in a dreary industrial area close to Rte. 417 and other busy roads -- all undergoing heavy construction. Nowhere to eat other than chain places, and the free breakfast is nothing to write home about. Lots of pickup trucks in the parking lot (though I'm not sure what that says about the place). Value was OK for the price, but we certainly wouldn't go here again.

Room Tip: Our room at the end was quiet, except when guests came and went from that door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn302GeneralManager, Owner at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send us some feed back on your stay with us ! We are proud of our newly renovated property and will definitely look in these technical and product concerns you brought to our attention ... i am truly sorry that some aspects of your visit did not meet your expectations , yet we hope that you will give us another chance, in this particular hotel or any other Comfort Inn in Canada.

Thanks again for your feed back,

sincerely yours

Xavier Icardo
SDO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I had previously stayed here and it was not very nice it was old outdated dirty and smelled, now that they have done the renovations and it's a non smoking hotel it's much better. my only complaints are that the patio door handle was bent and you could not lock the inside patio door
also the bathtub was in bad shape. it seems they changed everything except the tub and the coating on the floor of the tub was all peeled away so it was uncomfortable to stand on when taking a shower.also note this hotel is a stones throw from the highway so if you like to keep your window or doors open in the summer you will have allot of traffic noise. if you keep the windows closed you really don't hear much of the traffic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cn302GeneralManager, Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Stewart M
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed our renovations.
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CN302, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank VeroSec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CN302, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Rocky_L454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CN302, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ottawa East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#32 of 68 in Ottawa
214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#48 of 68 in Ottawa
566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#33 of 68 in Ottawa
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#14 of 68 in Ottawa
621 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn Orleans
Quality Inn Orleans
#62 of 68 in Ottawa
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ottawa East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ottawa East

Address: 1252 Michael St, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £67 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ottawa East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn(R) hotel is ideally located within minutes of downtown, giving easy access to the University of Ottawa, National Arts Centre, Rideau Canal Skateway, Carleton University and Ottawa International Airport. All rooms at this Ottawa hotel have been renovated and are now 100% smoke free. We also have a new lobby and breakfast area which features a daily complimentary breakfast which offers both cold and hot items including waffles, eggs, bacon or sausage. All guest rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, free wireless internet, 32 inch flat screen television, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and board. Ground floor rooms have patio door access. This Comfort Inn offers many high-value amenities, including: - Free high-speed Internet access- Free local calls- Free weekday newspaper- Pet-friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Ottawa East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ottawa East Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing