We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location downtown Ottawa, 25 mins walk from Byward, 15 to Rideau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location downtown Ottawa, 25 mins walk from Byward, 15 to Rideau”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good location downtown Ottawa, near the Parliament building ( 7 mins or 8 mins.. walking) Good little hall for lobby. Good rooms, always typical of marriots (yellow-ish orange and red for theme) Clean and nice views of surrounding (if you're on higher floors of course) Tim hortons walking distance as well for a quick breakfast and nice hotel personnel. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mixedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are delighted that our downtown location is within walking proximity to the Parliament Buildings and Byward Market. Access to public transportation is also convenient and offers guest a fast, efficient and inexpensive way to visit our city. And, to top it off you have a Starbucks located in the lobby to get your favorite beverage to start your day.

Thank you for you for staying with us and and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephane P
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    388
    121
    24
    19
See reviews for
279
248
36
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, ON
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a perfect location downtown near Parliament Hill, but that also meant that on the Sunday night was stayed there wasn't a whole lot going on directly near the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean though the bathroom was a very run-of-the-mill hotel washroom with blah colours and a dirty looking no-slip grip strip in the tub. The windows were very dirty and hard to see out of but it is a high rise so I doubt they can afford to keep them clean. Nice lobby. Friendly staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queensjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comment concerning the close proximity of the Ottawa Marriott to the museums, Parliament Buildings and cultural activities. It is true that Ottawa is a vibrant city and has many wonderful touristic attributes. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience it.

We are also grateful that our Hosts provided Brilliant service and that you recognize their dedication to making your stay inspiring. We are appreciative that you took the time to write about your experience at our hotel and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephane P
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The desk attendants and concierge were definitely the highlight of my stay. One concierge took a good amount of time to make sure I found a great running path. The hotel is located downtown, very close to the lovely parliament building. The lobby was underwhelming however, and the rooms/hallways were dated. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are fortunate to have wonderful Hosts that provide brilliant service to guests. They are without a doubt a fantastic group of people and we are delighted to have them on our team. We have made significant improvements to our Hotel in the past year and have received wonderful feedback from our guests. I am disappointed to read that these improvements did not inspire you. We will continue evaluate the feedback received and will do our very best to make your next stay memorable.

Sincerely,

Stephane P
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've been in several Marriott hotels and I must say that they've never disappointed me. The hotel is clean and charmy, with excellent rooms. The staff is super, they will do everything they can to make your stay perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the Parliament Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank André A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are delighted to read that the Marriott brand has delivered the experience you are seeking from a hotel chain. Our brilliant hosts work diligently to offer our guests an inspired experience and we will share your wonderful comments to recognize their efforts. Thank you for allowing us the pleasure of being your host and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Stephane P
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were able to get a corner room on the 22nd floor- and that was great to see the Parliament buildings and the rib fest on Sparks Street. The room was beautiful and the service great! Luc at the front desk was very helpful!

Room Tip: Ask about the parking options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are delighted that you had a perfect vacation and that the Ottawa Marriott was part of this. We are also grateful that our Host provided brilliant service and that you recognize their service and attention. Thank you for you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephane P
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just stayed at this hotel this past weekend during a business trip! The hotel is great with very nice facilites! The location is unbeatable! But, what makes the place is the staff!! Very, very nice!! So helpful! Especially Adam!! Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for mentioning the great people that provided brilliant service to you. We are delighted that this host has left a lasting impression and that you have taken the time to mention them by name.

We also believe that our location provide our guest the ability to truly experience what Ottawa has to offer. There are many museums, nature trails and great entertainment to explore during a stay.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephane P
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Valley, Sask
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in June 2014 and as it so happened Ribfest was going on along Sparks Street which ran right along our hotel. It is a five minute walk to Parliament hill and 15 min walk to Byward market, 20 min to the Basilica, just a great location. The staff was great and very helpful. They have 24 hour cabs there and were available for 4:45 am departure to the airport. The pool was good but would have liked it if it would have had a hottub. We had a fridge in our room and when we had leftover from a restaurant we warmed it up in the lobby in the microwave there, off in the little snack room . The room was clean and I would defiantly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandiceDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaMarriottHotel, Director of Operations at Ottawa Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are excited that our location provided you the opportunity to enjoy the annual Sparks Street Ribfest. This pedestrian street is a great source of entertainment during the summer period and we are fortunate to be adjacent to it. We are also thankful to have great hosts that provide brilliant service to our guests. It is apparent by the wonderful comments we receive that our guests recognize this has one of our strengths and we are delighted with this recognition.

Thank you for your time and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stephane P
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
282 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottawa Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottawa Marriott Hotel

Property: Ottawa Marriott Hotel
Address: 100 Kent St | Enter on your left from Kent Street (corner of Sparks Street), Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottawa Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodations in the heart of Canada's capital city, Ottawa Marriott Hotel will exceed your expectations with impeccable service as well as beautifully designed guest rooms. Business and leisure travelers appreciate our Ottawa hotel's premier amenities, which include free in-room Internet access and luxury pillow-top mattresses. Flat-screen TVs and Marriott's exclusive Plug-In technology help you stay connected and productive while you are a guest in our Ottawa luxury hotel's rooms and Executive rooms. Additional hotel perks like a heated indoor pool and our popular Kids' Zone ensure an enjoyable stay for guests of all ages. Enjoy comfort food with a modern twist at our "spin" Kitchen & Bar and sip fresh-brewed coffee at our onsite Starbucks(R). Meetings in our Ottawa hotel's meeting and conference rooms are memorable, thanks to more than 35,000 square feet of business and event space. Ottawa Marriott Hotel also offers expert meeting and event planning services. Our Ottawa luxury hotel's superb location makes it easy for you to explore famous Ottawa attractions, including Rideau Canal and the National Gallery of Canada. For a restorative and thoroughly enjoyable stay in the nation's capital, choose Ottawa Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ottawa Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ottawa
Ottawa Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing