We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, average hotel”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

One word : average. We booked the hotel trusting the Holiday Inn name and based on previous experiences with the Holiday Inn. However, although the hotel is centrally located, it is the overall experience during the stay that was disappointing. The service is just about average and honestly, I expected much better. When it comes to rooms, although spacious, there's nothing special when it comes to the decor and the overall feel is dark and damp.

Pretty much like a budget hotel in India. Like I said, average is the word.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    108
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
60
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed here for several nights for a business meeting. Its right beside the Rideau canal, but several streets away from the downtown core. The rooms were modern and in very good shape. When I booked there were few rooms left so I had to take a 1 bedroom suite. It was huge with a small dining area, full kitchen, living room (with sofa bed) and a king sized bed in the bedroom. For the rate this was an exceptional value for the Ottawa area and would be great for someone staying with families or simply needing the extra room. The suite had a connecting door so I imagine you could rent it as two bedroom as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtlFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel is just a few minutes away from parliment hill and other downtown attractions, and walkable to shops and restaurants. The room was nice and quiet, and I particularly appreciated the heated floor in the bathroom. Free wifi was included, which is a must for me when travelling business. The bed was comfortable and the choice of soft or firm pillow was nice.

I had a north facing room on the 16th floor, and the view was spectacular. I had a panoramic view of downtown Ottawa, which became even better at night.

My only comment is that blackout blinds would be nice. Sheer curtains don't do enough for sleep or privacy.

Room Tip: Upper floors, north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplegrapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Great location close to parliament hill and downtown but on a quiet street. We had a really spacious sweet. Service could have been better. Found the restaurant staff rather brisk. We were also put in a room that was not pet friendly despite our specific request. Front desk said they would sort it out and call us back but they never did... All in all fairly average hotel. Would go back if the price was right

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanster078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I was booked into this hotel by my association to attend meetings. The room was clean and the bed quite comfortable. Lighting in the room could have been better and only one bedside lamp was working. Internet service was provided which was much appreciated and having the daily paper delivered outside of my door each morning was also appreciated.
The meeting rooms were kept extremely cold, and many of us had to get our coats to stay warm.
A buffet breakfast was provided each morning for the delegates and the food selection was fantastic but would have been more appealing had it been adequately kept warm. The bacon especially was very cold.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritCan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We spend a couple of nights at this hotel. It was lovely to have such a spacious suite with the kitchen annex and even a coffee maker. The beds were amazing and we loved the choice of pillows. The a la carte breakfast was lovely and you can walk down to the Rideau Canal within minutes - or into town for that matter.
All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Walk down to the canal for a stroll before breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This place has been around forever but the management tried its best to make up for it. It is clean, the staff are friendly, and the rooms, although plain, are larger than normal, have lots of plugs, and havengood lighting.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emandernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 67 in Ottawa
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing