We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My family rented 2 rooms for 5 nights at this great location. What made our stay exceptional was the attitude of all the staff we interacted with - from the pleasant attitude at check in and check out; the tips provided by the concierge on where to do "fluff and fold" laundry; and staff we met along the corridors or in the elevators who always asked if our stay at the hotel was going well. Kudos to management for ensuring that all the hotel staff are ultimately responsible for their guests stay. And for a group traveling for a long period of time this certainly makes a difference! To add, the rooms (1 queen suite and one double) were clean and spacious, and the hotel is in a quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    108
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
60
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

In a wonderful, convenient and quiet location, I stayed in a spacious suite with everything I needed. Pleasant decor, nothing elegant but nothing faded. Service was excellent. Breakfast was a la carte with plenty of selection and reasonable prices for a hotel.

Room Tip: All locations would be quiet. Face north and east for a stunning view, either of Parliament or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SantiagoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

All I needed for my business stay: short walk to NDHQ, Rideau Centre, and Parliament; one block from Rideau Canal, clean, spacious and comfortable room with a mini kitchen (fridge, microwave, coffee maker, electric kettle, toaster, dishes and cuttlery) and free wireless internet. Cons: no swimming pool and (as all across Ottawa) expensive parking. But overalI I was still very satisfied and this is my first option in Ottawa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padregerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a typical holiday inn. I've stayed here a couple of times before and this trip was more of the same. Large sized room with a kitchenette, quite clean and welcoming really. The bathroom is a little small however. The wi-fi internet connectivity was spotty at best. Parking is a little pricy at $17/night, and the underground lot is a bit of a strange layout. I ate breakfast one morning at the hotel restaurant, and was less than impressed; the service was good but the taste of the food was not great. I ended up the next day on Elgin for breakfast.

The location is pretty good downtown, as you're in easy walking distance to the Market, the canal, and parliament hill and all of the downtown offices.

In summary, this hotel was good value for money and I would stay here again for business and/or family trips any time I was in Ottawa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanbigslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is a bit old and outdated, but the staff has a great can-do attitude, the have dome their best to make our stay comfortable. More attention should be given to the cleaning service though...

Room Tip: Higher floor, downtown view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My sister and I stayed for three nights back in October. The hotel is within walking distance of many attractions. Our room was huge!!! and it had a fridge, which is great when on a road trip. The hotel wasn't too hard to find, and that is saying a lot considering I have no sense of direction. The front desk staff were quick to point give me a map and point out various attractions.
Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank aingeal_cailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a school group. We had reserved a block of 17 rooms and all was handled perfectly. From the original reservation with Catherine to the front desk service with Connor, all was handled without any complaints. The students and the teaching staff were treated very well. The rooms were very spacious and well maintained. The students loved the rooms. The location is outstanding. In the wintertime you can walk to the Rideau Canal for a long 7 km skate. It is close enough to the Rideau centre and Parliament to walk as well. This is the fifth time I have booked this hotel as part of a school trip and have yet to have a bad experience. Well Done!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#27 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.9 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing