We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and the rooms are immaculate. We stayed in a king executive suite on the 15th floor. The views were great, the room was well taken care of and everything was very clean. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: 1518 has a lot of light, panoramic views ( however not of parliament)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was the first time I had stayed at this hotel & I was there five nights. Without a doubt, I met the friendliest hotel staff I have ever came in contact with. From the desk clerks on my arrival through the lobby staff, maintenance staff & cleaning staff, the experience couldn't have been better. I didn't know for a few days that the hotel had a restaurant because it wasn't advertized that well or perhaps it was my advanced age & sight. Just a couple of blocks from busy Elgin St. and a very short distance on foot to the National War Memorial & even the Parliament buildings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very comfortable and spacious room. Appreciated having large sofa and space to spread out on a business trip. Easy walk to Rideau Centre and Canadian parliament. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I was traveling with family to Ottawa and opted for the Holiday Inn. It was right in the heart of the city and had everything close by. The rooms were spacious and the stay was great. The breakfast spread was same like most Holiday Inns so would say it was good. I always like staying at Holiday Inn properties and this one made my stay in the wonderful city of Ottawa memorable. I will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in a suite while we were there. There were no kitchen facilities in this particular grade of room but we had a fridge which was very useful. The room was clean and well presented with great views over Ottawa. We were staying for the Duathlon World Championships and because of this the hotel was very busy, but the service remained excellent at all times. Even helping us find a bike shop when we had an equipment failure the day before the race!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank shelley_sprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here with family (3 rooms) and apart from the lack of a bar it was very good.
The rooms were supposedly doubles but they all had a lounge area and a fully functional kitchen as well as good bathrooms ensuite...more like a small apartment than a room. couldn't fault the facilities in the rooms - staff were, like most Canadians, very polite and very helpful.
overall a good place to stay - 10 min walk from the centre of Ottawa and two minutes walk to the famous Rideau canal which if you run/jog/cycles a fab place to exercise as it runs for miles and has good wide paths of both sides. this is a good hotel if you want central but quiet. there are numerous restaurants within 5 mins walk but a lack of convenience stores if you wanted to use your kitchen facilities. Prices generally are expensive compared to the UK, but a great city!

Room Tip: ask if the room includes kitchen facilities...most doubles do.....ours actually had an office area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trek700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Room was a bit tired, staff at check-in were nice, but room service asked me to come downstairs to get my own wine glasses, location is odd but convenient, price is about right but I did expect more. There were a couple of issues with cleanliness that suggested the vacuuming wasn't as thorough as you'd hope, and the jacuzzi was a bit grungy too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaEricM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear OttawaEricM,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience and apologize for any inconvenience the staff services may have caused you.

We are disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you used the hotel & facilities available here and this is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. We have addressed the matters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. We are pleased our Front Desk staff was able to offset this displeasure with friendly service.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#32 of 68 in Ottawa
357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#14 of 68 in Ottawa
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.4 mi away
The Metcalfe Hotel
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 68 in Ottawa
1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss Hotel
Swiss Hotel
#33 of 68 in Ottawa
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Address: 111 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £72 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing