We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack-Hammering All Day Long”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jack-Hammering All Day Long”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

They did not mention that the work they are doing on their parking lot means not only that it is closed but that you will have to deal with jack hammering from early in the morning until late in the evening. You can hear and feel it even high up in the building. I looks like they have a lot more work to do and I'd strongly recommend giving this place a miss if you are looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MertotheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear MertotheTraveller,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Ottawa.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    108
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
72
60
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for one night on a quick stopover enroute to Quebec. I was assigned a smallish queen room on the 16th floor. It was clean and quiet despite backing onto the bank of elevators. Nice view overlooking city hall and parliament hill. My only complaint is that I was told there was secure parking onsite. There is not. It is closed for construction and guests must park at the city hall underground lot a couple of blocks away. It's not a major inconvenience, but I would have chosen differently had I known. Otherwise, location is good and central.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very unhappy with the communication at the time of the booking and when we arrived to check-in. We were not informed that the hotel parking lot was under construction and that there would be drilling all day from 10am-6pm. This driilling vibrated upto the 16th floor, which is the top floor. Restaurant and lobby was empty all the time. Also, I was told I could park at City Hall "it's only $3.75." They failed to verbally tell you that the price is only from 6pm - 6am, which means your charged by the 1/2 hr prior to 6pm then you need to get your car out of there by 6am or pay again every 1/2. I took my car out by 7 am and had to pay $22.00 in total plus you don't pay once then you can go in and out, NO....you have to pay again like a new customer.
Very inconvenient. Very time consuming. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Kim L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the parking options prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We choose the holiday inn because it appeared to be close by uOttawa when we went to visit their spring open house. It's was a good choice! Within walking distance to restaurants, local sites, and the university. The hotel is undergoing renos but staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was very spacious and clean, modern and comfortable. The Bathroom floor was heated and kitchenette was spacious and great to have. We parked around the corner in the city hall underground lot and it was an affordable and close by option, not too much inconvenience. Wish we had known about the breakfast deal, that was expensive. We would not hesitate to book here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chapmk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Attended the last weekend of Winterlude in 2014. Very good location as we only had to walk down one street to access the canal. Stayed on the 16th floor in a one bedroom suite that had a living room, dining room and kitchen. Good amenties if you're travelling with a young family. Hotel is a little dated looking, furniture in the rooms needs updating and the carpet was fairly dirty, but I understand they are embarking on a major renovation. Suite was comfortable.

They had no parking available onsite when we arrived which was probably a good thing as we just parked one street behind the hotel at City Hall for probably considerably cheaper ($7/day). They also had no late night facility to grab a drink after a long day of travelling, so we had to walk a couple of blocks to a pub. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was good.

Overall the location was the best feature.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoomerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Zoomerrs,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback. It is rewarding to hear that you appreciate our convenient hotel location for your activities. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry the room furniture and parking service fell below your expectations. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements and upgrades.

Once again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went to Ottawa for Winterlude and stayed here for 2 nights. Location was ideal as it is right next to the canal for skating. Check-in and check-out was a breeze and hassle free. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parked out minivan at the back of the building and everything was walkable distance. Room was clean and spacious. We had a queen sized bed with kitchenette, with a lovely view of the Parliament building. Very happy with our trip. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Loved the room with the park view and kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is in a convenient location to downtown and was a short walk and taxi ride. The rooms were a bit on the small side but were very clean. Consistent with other Holiday Inns I have stayed at before.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.1 mi away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing