We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I didn't have a terrible stay by any means, but it could have been much better. Pros: really friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, nicely appointed and large kitchen, large bedroom/sitting room. Cons: terrible wireless, scary elevators, stained carpets, not enough lighting in room, half the exercise equipment didn't work. Maybe the renovation will help the hotel realize its potential.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieUMFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear JulieUMFan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad you enjoyed staying in one of our large and comfortable rooms. I’m very sure that the staff will be delighted to hear about your kind words of praise. Conversely, we are sorry that some amenities including the wireless network and lighting conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We appreciate all your feedback as this allows us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the marathon weekend because of the location. I have to mention that it is under renovation and there is no on-site parking available and only 2 out of 3 elevators were working. The Ottawa Race Weekend uses Hudson Travel Group to provide hotel bookings. So that's what we did thinking we will have a late checkout if we book through the affiliated provider. There was no late checkout offered for runners and we all had to be out by 12 pm. The full marathon started at 7 am and the half at 9 am, so for the average runners there is no way you can go back to your room, shower and be out by noon. That's a rip-off right there. In Toronto, on marathon weekend, all the affiliated hotels offer a late checkout free of charge for runners. In the end, we left at 12:20 pm at no extra charge after mentioning the long wait for the elevator to come down to reception area.
We had an evening meal at the on-site restaurant and it was very good. The staff is very friendly and professional. We had free wifi in the room. Our room was on the 12th floor with a great view. We did not use the gym so i can't comment on that. There is no swimming pool and i was a bit disappointed for not been able the swim the day before the race but, instead, we went and watch the other races on saturday so it's no big deal for me. If we register for next year's marathon, we hope the renovations will improve our stay if we decide to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fauve4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Fauve4ever,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you liked the food served at our restaurant, our friendly staff and the great view from your room. However, I understand that your stay was not a 100% satisfactory because of the on going renovations and the issues you had during check out. I apologize for any inconvenience these may have caused you. I have shared your comments with our hotel management for review and consideration. Rest assured that these changes are for the improvement of our facility for us to give you the best hotel experience on your next stay.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A bunch of friends booked this hotel together when we were in town for a wedding. Here was the gist of the hotel situation:

PROS:
*They were accommodating of our requests to have rooms together (or rather booked it that way since we all booked on one reservation).
*The rooms were fine for the most part and the bed was comfortable.
*They accommodated many of our requests for a late checkout.

CONS: Important to note they are 'revitalizing' a lot currently, and they aren't doing it very well in terms of customer service.
*Parking: it's $25 per day and the lot is under construction. No solutions were forthcoming so we parked elsewhere for cheaper. I recommend doing this.
*Elevators: being revamped - only one worked in the 'down' direction, so we regularly had to wait 5 minutes for an elevator and the ride was terrifying. We took the stairs down from the 10th floor often, but if you had little kids it would be BRUTAL. Again, they didn't manage this situation at all - an apologetic note on the elevator was all.
*The TVs cut out regularly - it sounded like shows were constantly being `bleeped` for language.
*No fans in the washroom. I get why this isn't easily fixed, but it was an annoyance at least.
*cleaning staff made the bed by pulling the sheets over it. Anything I left on the bed in the morning was found inside the sheets at the end of the day.

The cons are mostly reasonable and maybe there would have been some kind of placating that happened if we'd all gotten angry while we were there, but it didn't seem worth the time. Any small gesture would have been nice - maybe complimentary breakfast while the hotel had so many things going on.

Me, I will just go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Higher is better - there's a nice view of the city higher up on one side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Natalie F,

Thank you for your review. We certainly apologize for the revitalizing issues and for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. We understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the true Holiday Inn service when our revitalizing is complete.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Spent two days Ottawa on a work trip. Hotel is centrally located just West of City Hall and North of the Rideau Canal. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Furnature and fixtures in the room were dated. Room however was large, clean and had an excellent view. Free WIFI. Gym is poor. Overall recommended for short work stays. Only issue I had was that the building is undergoing noisy renovations to the parking facilities during the day.

Room Tip: Excellent view for rooms on the East side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recceptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear recceptl,

Thank you for staying and sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you found our hotel staff helpful and our rooms to be spacious and clean. However, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced brought about by the current renovations. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is barely an okay hotel.It does has a very convenient downtown location .The bed is comfortable.The problem right now is that it is undergoing renovations.There is no on site parking at the moment.When we made a reservation this fact was not disclosed.If Holiday Inn was smart they would have made an arrangement with a local parking lot and made this information available at the time reservations were made.Also one of the three elevators was out of service making lengthy wait times especially during high traffic times.Early in the morning very loud noises emanated from the elevator under repair/renovation Our suite included a kitchenette which was convenient however the coffee maker was very old and barely worked.The coffee was very poor quality also.Why bother even including such poor quality extras?This hotel like many others in Ottawa is old and tired.It could use an update.i would suggest going somewhere else for the time being.

Room Tip: The north side rooms and near the elevators are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousGeorgeIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear CuriousGeorgeIV,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the current renovations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent a little over a week at this hotel during a recent business trip and I enjoyed my stay.

The hotel reception staff was kind and courteous, the standard room had a small fridge which is always welcomed. The bed was very comfortable and I always had good sleeps. My room cleaned nicely each day.

The location of the hotel is perfect for walking time of about 10-15 minutes along the canal to the Rideau Center shopping mall, and the ByWard Market. Shops and restaurants are only two blocks away, so it was very convenient to get away to eat without a car.

The only thing I did not enjoy was the elevators, as they creaked, and shaked, making it an unpleasant ride, but these elevators are being revamped as I write this post, so this situation should be short lived. Also, the hotel is undergoing renovations which includes a a complete overhaul of the underground parking, so parking is inconvenient at the moment.

This will not deter me from returning and I would recommend this hotel to any traveler in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Reserved this room for my sister and her husband and everything was nice. We went there to check them in and the staff were friendly and rooms clean. It's a good location for going around so they thanked me for it. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#33 of 69 in Ottawa
387 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East - Orleans
1 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Address: 111 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £68 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing