We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable quiet weekend stay at a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel was very nice and in a beautiful location. It is not quite downtown but only a 10-15 minute walk. You could walk down Elgin Street or along the canal to get to the market, Rideau Center, or the Parliament buildings. Many restaurants in the nearby area to choose from.

The room and information was ready prior to arrival and we received our package. Check in was extremely quick and efficient.

The room was big and had a beautiful view of the city with floor to ceiling windows. The rooms were clean and spacious. There was an issue with the cable company and not all channels were available and we were not notified of this until arrival. That being said, it did not affect our stay.

Elevators were slow as they were under construction but it wasn't overly busy and did not affect us in any way but I can see it being an issue on a very busy weekend. Parking was also under construction but we just parked across the street at no inconvenience to us but the weather was nice.

The staff were friendly. We are looking forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotsunwarmwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is an average hotel. Service is ok and rooms are descent - nothing special - The location is ok is fairly centrally located but to the restaurant area and market is not so close, you will have to walk at least 15 minutes or take a taxi - The rooms are big and comfortable..

Room Tip: I always prefer nice views and in this case will be mainly city - I would recommend a room high up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelww40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear travelww40,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted to learn that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. We value all your feedback, whether positive or negative, for this will help us continuously improve on our services. I hope you give us another chance of hosting you again and provide you with a better hotel experience.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First time at this hotel. The rooms are nice and big. The bathroom floors were warm. The front desk were very pleasant. The only downsize was the elevators which were slow and the lack of parking, but we were warned. Another thing they should maybe look into is getting a pool that would be amazing. Breakfast was very expensive.

Room Tip: get rooms facing the street my room was room #416 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldantimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear ldantimo,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am very delighted that you found our rooms and hotel staff commendable. It is always our top priority to make sure that our guests have a friendly and comfortable accommodations.

I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the elevator and parking. I would like to assure you that all your comments, including that of the pool and breakfast, have been taken into account and will be used to consider upgrades needed.

Once again, thank you for staying and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I didn't have a terrible stay by any means, but it could have been much better. Pros: really friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, nicely appointed and large kitchen, large bedroom/sitting room. Cons: terrible wireless, scary elevators, stained carpets, not enough lighting in room, half the exercise equipment didn't work. Maybe the renovation will help the hotel realize its potential.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieUMFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear JulieUMFan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad you enjoyed staying in one of our large and comfortable rooms. I’m very sure that the staff will be delighted to hear about your kind words of praise. Conversely, we are sorry that some amenities including the wireless network and lighting conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We appreciate all your feedback as this allows us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the marathon weekend because of the location. I have to mention that it is under renovation and there is no on-site parking available and only 2 out of 3 elevators were working. The Ottawa Race Weekend uses Hudson Travel Group to provide hotel bookings. So that's what we did thinking we will have a late checkout if we book through the affiliated provider. There was no late checkout offered for runners and we all had to be out by 12 pm. The full marathon started at 7 am and the half at 9 am, so for the average runners there is no way you can go back to your room, shower and be out by noon. That's a rip-off right there. In Toronto, on marathon weekend, all the affiliated hotels offer a late checkout free of charge for runners. In the end, we left at 12:20 pm at no extra charge after mentioning the long wait for the elevator to come down to reception area.
We had an evening meal at the on-site restaurant and it was very good. The staff is very friendly and professional. We had free wifi in the room. Our room was on the 12th floor with a great view. We did not use the gym so i can't comment on that. There is no swimming pool and i was a bit disappointed for not been able the swim the day before the race but, instead, we went and watch the other races on saturday so it's no big deal for me. If we register for next year's marathon, we hope the renovations will improve our stay if we decide to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fauve4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Fauve4ever,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you liked the food served at our restaurant, our friendly staff and the great view from your room. However, I understand that your stay was not a 100% satisfactory because of the on going renovations and the issues you had during check out. I apologize for any inconvenience these may have caused you. I have shared your comments with our hotel management for review and consideration. Rest assured that these changes are for the improvement of our facility for us to give you the best hotel experience on your next stay.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A bunch of friends booked this hotel together when we were in town for a wedding. Here was the gist of the hotel situation:

PROS:
*They were accommodating of our requests to have rooms together (or rather booked it that way since we all booked on one reservation).
*The rooms were fine for the most part and the bed was comfortable.
*They accommodated many of our requests for a late checkout.

CONS: Important to note they are 'revitalizing' a lot currently, and they aren't doing it very well in terms of customer service.
*Parking: it's $25 per day and the lot is under construction. No solutions were forthcoming so we parked elsewhere for cheaper. I recommend doing this.
*Elevators: being revamped - only one worked in the 'down' direction, so we regularly had to wait 5 minutes for an elevator and the ride was terrifying. We took the stairs down from the 10th floor often, but if you had little kids it would be BRUTAL. Again, they didn't manage this situation at all - an apologetic note on the elevator was all.
*The TVs cut out regularly - it sounded like shows were constantly being `bleeped` for language.
*No fans in the washroom. I get why this isn't easily fixed, but it was an annoyance at least.
*cleaning staff made the bed by pulling the sheets over it. Anything I left on the bed in the morning was found inside the sheets at the end of the day.

The cons are mostly reasonable and maybe there would have been some kind of placating that happened if we'd all gotten angry while we were there, but it didn't seem worth the time. Any small gesture would have been nice - maybe complimentary breakfast while the hotel had so many things going on.

Me, I will just go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Higher is better - there's a nice view of the city higher up on one side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Natalie F,

Thank you for your review. We certainly apologize for the revitalizing issues and for any inconvenience or negative impression this might have caused you. We understand why you are disappointed, let me assure you that this is not our usual level of service. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the true Holiday Inn service when our revitalizing is complete.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Spent two days Ottawa on a work trip. Hotel is centrally located just West of City Hall and North of the Rideau Canal. Staff were friendly and helpfull. Furnature and fixtures in the room were dated. Room however was large, clean and had an excellent view. Free WIFI. Gym is poor. Overall recommended for short work stays. Only issue I had was that the building is undergoing noisy renovations to the parking facilities during the day.

Room Tip: Excellent view for rooms on the East side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recceptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear recceptl,

Thank you for staying and sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you found our hotel staff helpful and our rooms to be spacious and clean. However, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced brought about by the current renovations. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Ottawa
Days Inn - Ottawa
#29 of 68 in Ottawa
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
0.2 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown

Address: 111 Cooper Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £72 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Ottawa Location Ideal for All Travelers. Located in the trendy Golden Triangle District of downtown Ottawa, Holiday Inn & Suites - Ottawa Downtown is a well-appointed hotel in close proximity to the MacDonald Cartier International Airport (YOW) and the Ottawa Train Station. Our location places you mere steps from the Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage site where you can stroll, bike or skate by many great historic and contemporary attractions of downtown. Our Ottawa hotel is within walking distance of trendy Elgin Street's shops, restaurants and nightlife, historic Byward Market, the Canadian War Museum and Parliament Hill. Lodging here benefits business travelers who are visiting the Department of National Defense, the Government of Canada Conference Centre, and other businesses in downtown Ottawa. Our hotel's amenities include eight meeting rooms, event packages and a Business Centre to meet your business needs. From Lane's Restaurant and Lounge to the Fitness Centre, we aim to provide you with a convenient stay in downtown Ottawa. Each hotel room features a triple-sheeted bed, a sitting area, TV, a work area with a desk, and free high-speed Internet access. Our downtown Ottawa hotel staff go beyond the average hotels in Ottawa to give you the comfort you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Downtown
Holiday Inn Downtown
Holiday Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing