We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Ottawa West
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank nixonreaganbush
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rosalind K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Court623
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank susandodge
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 July 2014

+ upgrade from queensize-bed to kingsize-bed
+ interior (fridge, coffee maker)
+ Wi-Fi availability was okay
+ clean room
+ very nice staff
+ near to a super market and (fast) food possibilities

- noisy

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piwinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Good
When I travel for business, I routinely select properties that are the most economical and nearest to my job site. Travelodge is very inexpensive for the location so that is a good thing. Also, the cleaning staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed. Though the rooms look dated, there are no odd smells from the towels and sheets. I think they run a very clean operation here even though it needs work with furnishings. I must also commend the people at the front desk. Incredibly friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Well done!

The Bad
I understand that this is a family oriented hotel so the noise is expected. I would warn people away who are expecting a quiet place to stay. Unfortunately, I was not aware of the water slide in the center of the place. I do recommend if you bring children along. Children make lots of noise, and that is fine. I just wish I did my home work prior to booking. I do not recommend for business travelers.

The Ugly
Internet! I spend all day at a job site and I have to come back to check emails every evening. The wireless at this hotel is the worst I've ever experienced. It routinely drops me every two minutes or so, then I wait two minutes, then I'm on two minutes, then it drops me, etcetera. It's hard to write emails and work online if I can't keep a signal.

Air Conditioning! I get it. This is Canada so a lot of the rooms aren't sized to accommodate a heat load; however, when I first checked in, the thermostat was reading 28C/82F. I turned AC on and it was blowing warm for 30 minutes. Did not cool down. I requested a room transfer and they obliged. My new room cannot get lower than 26C/78F throughout the night. It's tolerable but they need to maintain their refrigerant levels better and check for freezing. I'd advise against staying in the summer.

Chlorine! Since there's a giant (albeit very fun looking) wave pool and water slide, the whole hotel smells of chlorine. If you're sensitive to this, I'd advise against staying here.

Final Thoughts
All in all, it's very affordable. The people are nice and everything seems clean. It has terrible internet, terrible air conditioning, and smells of chlorine. I do not recommend for a business traveler.

Room Tip: Check the AC before unpacking! If you are business oriented and must stay there, get a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevScar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Travelodge Ottawa East
#48 of 68 in Ottawa
559 reviews
Days Inn - Ottawa West
#41 of 68 in Ottawa
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanata
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#39 of 68 in Ottawa
367 reviews
Holiday Inn Ottawa East
#33 of 68 in Ottawa
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Ottawa West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Ottawa West

Address: 1376 Carling Ave | Carling and Kirkwood, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7L5, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range: £89 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Ottawa West 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Ottawa Hotel and Conference Centre is a CAA/AAA 3-Diamond Full Service Property. Boasting Over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, a full convention services department and exceptional customer service. We offer an Executive Club Floor with a private Executive lounge for our business travelers enjoyment. Enjoy Ottawa's largest hotel Water Park, the Wet and Wild water Park. It features a wave pool, kid s pool, slide, hot tub and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Ottawa West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel And Convention Centre
Travelodge Ottawa
Travel Lodge Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing