We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, nice place and very good service”
Review of Wontonmama - CLOSED

Wontonmama
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food, nice place and very good service”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I found out a few months ago that i have to watch what I eat: no gluten, dairy... etc. Eating out has been a challenge. But everyonce in a while, I find little gems. Wontonmama is clearly one!
My husband and I went last night amd the staff was just wonderful! They did not make me feel like a freak when I explained what I have to exclude from my diet, actually the waitress went above and beyond and read the ingredients in one of the items to make sure it was safe. It turned out it was not, so good thing!
Don't get me wrong, it is not because I have food challenges that we are not foodies: at the contrary. We love our food and for having lived in France, we are picky. But this place had it all: nice decor, good ambiance, great food and even better service!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank vlrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden secret”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Great food but with the usual menu items - sushi rolls, calamari, dry spicy beef and sake. But served with the influence of the chef. Not just as regular factory meals. Outstanding friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Third time and still a charm...”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

It was my third time at this restaurant, but the first in about a year; glad to see that the quality is still high, especially considering the modest price! I had the salt and pepper crispy beef and tom yum soup - both wwere very good. My daughter had the crispy spring rolls as an appetizer...and decided to have another order as her main course! Service is prompt and very friendly. Overall an enjoyable experience in a quaint, stylish restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bywater Market Area Gem”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It might tell you how I feel about this resto if I mention that I chose it as the one I wanted to be taken out to on my birthday. Not that it's a party place - its a small, lovely restaurant with great ambiance and great food run by really nice people. The vegetable tempura is the best I've had in many a year you can get a very generous plateful of 3 appetizers of your choice (eg spring rolls, tempura, gyosa) for $12. Mains are very reasonably priced, and lunch specials run about $9. A real gem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankW-Dr_Bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Value for Sushi”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I had their special of sushi, three rolls for $15 when purchasing a drink. The rolls were average compared to other sushi places, but it was a decent price compared to most others around. Would probably pay more to get better sushi next time, but not a bad deal. Waiter was also fairly nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Girlie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wontonmama also viewed

Stittsville, Ottawa
 
Cumberland, Ottawa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing