We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD customer services”
Review of Hokkaido Sushi

Hokkaido Sushi
Ranked #1,714 of 2,746 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BAD customer services”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Bad customer services, bad attitudes toward customers. Terrible communication with customers. Manager does not know the meaning of " All you can eat", she keeps claiming that we eat a lot. As me and my friends understand, she also mentions that customers should finish food before get new order or not the manager will tell the employee to bring all the food at the same time. Food is good the beginning. But then now, the quality of food goes down. too raw teriyaki food. etc...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hong P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    17
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Should have known better...”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Joined friends who chose Hokkaido for a meal. Turns out to be yet another all-you-can-eat-sushi place run by non-Japanese (Cantonese appears to be the language the staff communicated in). Fish used in sushi and hand rolls was fresh, however the rolls were poorly constructed. Cooked dishes (soups & stir fry) were extremely salty and laden with MSG. Deep fried dishes fared the best. Service was brusque, serving dishes removed while still eating off them. Must admit that I am spoiled having spent some time in Japan and eaten well there on each visit, however that doesn't excuse the poor service and food here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
454 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Good service, but bland sushi”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First of all I need to state clearly I only tried their sushi, I don't like mixing sushi with cooked food so I never do.

Second of all I am not saying the food was bad because it was not but it was not nearly as good as some other All You Can Eat sushi places in Ottawa (Sushi Banc, etc..)

The Sashimi was very nice (fresh and well presented) however sadly the sushi rice was dry and hard (also shorter grains than we are used to). The wasabi was sharp and not as nice as we expected so our experience with nigiri dishes was not great.

The hand rolls were nice and crisp.

The wait staff was friendly and efficient and the decor was ok (but nothing special)

Overall I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Bomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good price”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Good quality-price for and all you can eat sushi. 13,99$ for lunch. Lot of choices for sushi, hand rolls, makis and hot meals. However, everything was too salty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank edelarosbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value sushi”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

'Summer sushi' lunch plate was visually attractive, reminiscent of the sushi plate on a Master Chef TV episode. Preceded by a bowl of average miso soup & a small lettuce salad with Caesar dressing. Six generous prawn, surf clam & salmon negiri were fresh & tasty, along with a crispy salmon skin cone, three California roll pieces and three surf clam maki pieces. Sushi were uniformly good & came with soy, wasabi & marinated ginger. Good value for 11.95 before tax & tip. I would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vin0tint0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hokkaido Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Hokkaido Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing