We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for take out”

Oriental House Restaurant
Ranked #1,557 of 2,744 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Toronto
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OK for take out”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I went there on the recommendation of the Business Inn. They said the pot stickers were good but I got chow-mein take out as suggested by the restaurant as it's very popular. Big portion, price was OK at $11, taste was fine, neither very good nor bad. I would go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaysways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FOOD NEEDS SOME TLC”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Wasn't too impressed with this Cantonese/Szechuan restaurant. The portions were good, but sometimes you can see that a cook or the kitchen is starting to slip on how they cook the food. I think with a little TLC from the owner to the cook's and pep talk, this could turn around and start serving great food again. The restaurant is a little dated, but fresh paint and some plants can make this restaurant look good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAINENERGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good variety of spicy or mild dishes on the lunch menu. Prices can't be beat at around $8-$12 depending on which dish you order. I'm not sure I would recommend the venue for a formal diner, but for a casual lunch or quick dinner option, the Cantonese / Szechuan menu and prices are a good value for very tasty dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWFUL SAVE YOUR MONEY”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Horrible food, chicken fried rice tasted smoked and reheated several times. Schezuan chicken was tough and elasticy. Crispy beef had me questioning what part of it was beef the entire 2 minutes we attemtped to eat it. It was hallow thick soggy disgusting batter. They even messed up the steamed rice, didn't think this would be possible. 1st and last time what a waste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evathediva6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Nice place... The soup had too much starch, but the rest of the food was very nice. Restaurant was empty, service was very fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgev213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental House Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Oriental House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing