We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient comfortable stay near airport. But no late food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Convenient comfortable stay near airport. But no late food.”
Reviewed 31 December 2007

The Day's Inn Airport is a standard Day's Inn with above average rooms. Upkeep is above average. There is no restaurant. Bonus: a small
fridge and microwave in the room, which is very useful if you arrive late. Room was large and comfortable.

We got there on a slushy snowy evening (we had our car parked in the airport parking lot - $60/week) and could not drive home.

There is a Tim Horton's on the same property, but at 10.30 pm they were "out of soup and sandwiches. Donuts only". We then had the choice
of ordering pizza (which would come cold - but there was the microwave) or find the East Side Mario's further down Hunt Club road. We chose the latter (slow 4 km. drive) and found that ES Mario's is open til 1 a.m, serving real meals.

  • Liked — Convenience, comfort
  • Disliked — Search for food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JPC1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    282
    102
    40
    13
See reviews for
230
144
59
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

THIS PLACE SUCKS!! Staff are all rude. My air conditioning stopped cooling in my room and I had to ask 3 times for someone to fix it. The front desk kept asking me if it was "really broken." When the man did come to fix it, I was told I had to keep the radiator at 70 degrees and no cooler. At 70, the room wasn't even getting cool enough on some of these hot days. Staff didn't even care and no apology for the inconvience of this crappy cooling unit.

I would check out in a heart beat if I wasn't still working. Yes, this place is new, but the equipment in the exercise room is rusted and barely useable. The rooms are too warm (if you follow the rules for the tempermental cooling unit), staff are not pleased with helping or even seeming friendly (check in was cool and robotic like).

Furthermore, you have to pay 50 cents per local call. So if you plan to call lots of local attractions to find out about times or prices, etc., get ready to pay for it. Also, the cleaning staff takes forever. I wanted my room made up. I put the sign on my door. I left at 6am to 11am. My room still wasn't done up. After I had been in my room for about an hour and a half, the cleaning woman knocked on my door and said "Oh, your here?" I then said I would be leaving in an hour and she can come back. When she did, I left for an hour. I came back, and she was still cleaning my room. She then told me it would only take another ten minutes of which I had to wait in the hall!!

I will be complaining to the manager. Staff doesn't care. Equipment is sub par. Cleaning staff is slow and not considerate at all.

Just came from another hotel where none of these problems existed!! I'm not overly picky, but I hate having to wake up in a hot room at 6am because the air conditioner decided it had enough and have two staff members this morning basically tell me it was my fault for putting the air at 65 degrees. Days Inn Airport is awful.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank workinginottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2005

This was your average, run of the mill Days Inn property. The hotel is clean, quiet and almost brand new, which is always a plus.

Rooms were a good size and the beds were very comfortable. Cable TV selection was also quite good.

I only tried the complimentary breakfast on one occasion and it was pretty average: cereal, coffee, juice, yogurt and muffins.

I got a reduced rate because I was in town on business and given that this location is almost a stone's throw from Ottawa International Airport, the business traveller is obviously their target audience. So make sure you ask about corporate discounts.

The pool was ridiculously small, in fact, I'd barely call it a pool. Wading pond is a better description. It's also a drowning hazard waiting to happen - there were at least 20 kids too many in the pool each time I walked by and since the area is unsupervised, guests can do what they want.

The location is crappy if you're looking to be close to shopping, entertainment and restaurants. There is a Tim Horton's across the parking lot, but you need to drive at least 15 minutes to get to any kind of mall or other amenities. Bus service is almost non-existant despite the fact that the hotel is along a major road.

I arrived late for check-in when I stayed here (after midnight) and a male colleague picked me up at the airport and helped me with my bags into the lobby. The night clerk pulled up my reservation - which said single occupancy - and assumed that since a male companion had come into the hotel with me, he was staying with me as well. The clerk kept referencing my single occupancy and then winking & nodding while looking at my colleague and making totally inappropriate sexual innuendos. I had to tell him off in no uncertain terms and complained to the manager the next day about this guy's unprofessional behaviour.

I found all the staff here to be a bit strange, truth be told. Would stay here again, but only because the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShabbyChique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2005

As soon as we pulled into the parking lot we could see that this was not your usual Days Inn. Check in was fast and friendly. Our room was spacious with a king bed, dresser, desk, fridge and table with 2 chairs. The bathroom was average size and contained the tub, toilet and sink. A nice touch was that the window treatments included sheers with the drapes. Everything was very clean. Breakfast is complimentary and is served adjacent to the lobby. It included toast, bagels, croissants, muffins, cereal, oranges, apples, juice, tea and coffee. There are numerous tables and chairs and even a dedicated attendant is present to keep things clean and well stocked. I forgot to have a look at the pool. There is a Tim Hortons right in the parking lot and various other restaurants a short drive away. Even though this property is very close to the airport, we did not hear any planes passing overhead while in our room. Internet access is free but it is not wireless.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank themoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2005

This hotel offers great value, very large and comfortable rooms with ample parking. This is a fairly new hotel and it shows with the lay out and amenities. The location is within minutes of the airport so is idea for the short hop to return a rental or to get a taxi.

There is a 24-hour donut shop across the parking area where guests can get a snack or beverage.

The staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and answered any and all questions. Free newspapers are located in the lobby and there is free high speed Internet in all rooms.

The hotel has a small but very inviting swimming pool and excellent workout facilities.

All considered this hotel is excellent value for the money and should be seriously considered as a place to stay when in Ottawa.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank coldcanukwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
1.1 mi away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa Airport
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Ottawa Airport
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa West - Nepean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Ottawa Airport

Property: Days Inn - Ottawa Airport
Address: 366 Hunt Club Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#28 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Ottawa Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn - Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Ottawa Airport Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing