We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located Downtown--Walk to Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spent two nights in the Business Inn while visiting friends in Ottawa and doing some sightseeing in the city. We were very pleased with the convenient central location of the Business Inn, which allowed us to walk nearly everywhere. Our room was a suite style, with small kitchenette, bedroom and small living room area. Everything was well maintained and functional. You could hear some noise between the rooms--particularly through the door of "adjoinging" rooms (which ours was). The morning breakfast bar was well stocked and breakfast sandwiches were available. Many folks we saw were stocking up on fruits, yogurts, water and other items for a busy day...a nice feature for travelers. Though named the Business Inn--we would recommend the hotel to vacation travelers like us.

Room Tip: I think a higher room would be better from a street noise perspective. The breakfast area is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockytoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Rockytoo2,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
Your Friends at TBI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

We have just spent three weeks touring Ontario and Quebec and this was by far the best hotel we stayed in. The location was good, surrounded by many restaurants and supermarkets. Just a short walk into the city. The rooms are great. Kitchen, free computer, fridge, coffee machine. Rooms are large and airy. GREAT breakfast included in the price. Laundry room, with free washing powder. Friendly staff with good local knowledge. No complaints at all.
Mexican restaurant Pancho Villa very good. Out of the hotel turn left onto the main street, turn left again and a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter than those at the front. We also just had a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear David A,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
Your Friends at TBI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I found this gem a few years ago, I never stay anywhere else.
The rooms all come with a computer/printers, Free WiFi, full kitchen, dining table, nice big flat screen TV with full digital cable service, DVD players, large balconies and very comfortable beds.
you can enjoy a free hot or cold breakfast in the mornings, if you are on the run in the morning they have to go bags.
The location is fantastic! it is a 10 minute walk or a 6 dollar cab ride to the market. 5 mins walk to the Parliament. Lots of great bars and restaurants within walking distance.
The staff is great, they are always super helpful.

I just love this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titaniumiqaluit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Titaniumiqaluit

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
Your Friends at TBI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed 5 nights and found this hotel very quiet and comfortable and very clean. It had everything we needed and more. Plenty of places to eat nearby and only 10 minutes walk along the Rideau Canal to centre of Ottawa. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was great and plenty of choice - the breakfast room was quite small but no problem just taking it along to our room where we had plenty of space to eat. Would certainly stay there again next time we visit Ottawa and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Eastangliatwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear ColchesterEssextwo,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
The Business Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Enjoyed our stay there Labour Day weekend. Easy walk to the main sights. Several restaurants, pubs, a gas station, a Shopper's drug mart and lots of other retail/convenience stores around the corner. The room had a full kitchen, all the usual ammenities plus extras including computer and printer, DVD player, air purifier and a fan. It's a little tired/dated, but well-price at about $120 tax-in (plus parking). Included breakfast was good but the dining area is small. Only gripe is that both of their parking lots were full. Good thing street parking is free on weekends and we were lucky to grab a spot in front of the hotel when we arrived. Will consider a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedom_53Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear freedom_53Ontario,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
Your Friends at TBI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed in an executive suite on the 8th floor. Bedroom, living room, dining room and full kitchen plus a walk out balcony. Free laundry and an excellent breakfast assortment. All at a very reasonable price. The only downsides were that one of the two elevators were not working, the room a/c could not keep up with the heat, and parking is limited and expensive, $15 per day. Still, we would definitely stay here again when we next return to Ottawa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear SnowAvoiderSalem_VA,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
Your Friends at TBI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have been in this hotel some 5 years ago. It was outstanding by all measures. This is why when I traveled to Ottawa this time, I decided to stay in this same hotel . By all means, It is going to be my choice in the future, should I return to Ottawa for any reason. The best of this place was and is its STAFF. Very helpful, prompt and efficient.

On the other hand, the accomodation we had, was far better during the previous visit. That was probably because upon the then check in, our reserved suite was not ready and as a result the alternative was upgrading to one of the best suites the hotel had!. I was not as lucky this time,checking in "solo", but could not, however, stop my self of comparing!. The parking, as I recall, was FREE then. This time it is $15 per day!.The "OUT" Parking Lot did not change a bit, just it is not for free any more.

In conclusion, I hope that The Business Inn, continue to maintain its image and its loyal satisfied customers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talatalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel4inn, Public Relations Manager at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear talatalpha,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your feedback is invaluable and we look forward to your next stay at The Business Inn.

Sincerely,
Your Friends at TBI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
2,151 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £63 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing