We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with computer/fax and kitchenette”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large rooms with computer/fax and kitchenette”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My business took 2 rooms at this hotel for a weekend trade show at the Ottawa Convention centre. Fairly close to downtown, the rooms are large. One room had a king, the other a queen, and each had a pull out sofa. Each room has it's own computer with internet connection as well as a fax machine and a ktichenette. The rooms are large and the bed/pillows were super comfortable. It's a quiet hotel - the make you sign a form that says you will be quiet after midnight. The lobby is kind of dingy and not at al spacious, so it is not good for meeting clients. Breakfast was on the 3rd floor and was included. Mostly cold items, although them make home fires and english muffin sandwiches. They also have a packed breakfast you can just grab from the fridge and go. The only issue we had was that we registered through an online discount site, and they lost the reservation for the second room. WE had to call hotels.com to figure it out...hotel staff did not call.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    466
    86
    38
    13
See reviews for
354
537
110
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I was highly satisfied with the meeting facility rental that TBI provided me with and I will not hesitate to choose this hotel again in future over and above any hotel in Ottawa! Likewise, I will highly recommend it to anyone visiting the city or looking for a short or long term room rental and a business or leisure meeting facility rental! My great appreciation of TBI singular service! Way to go!
Best wishes and hoping to rent again soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank est98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

There are so many places to stay in Ottawa that it's overwhelming. If you're looking to visit or shop, don't look any further and stay at The Business Inn. We picked this place for price and location and what we got surpassed all our expectations. We started by getting there around 10 in the morning and being early for check-in we decided to take a chance and ask if we could park and go see the sights. We were told our room was ready and we were welcomed to it if we desired. The pictures I had seen don't give justice to this hotel. The rooms are large and clean and you could not ask for a more friendly and courteous staff. This is a great value in a great location (about 10 minute walk from parliament and Rideau shopping centre). There are pubs and restaurants just across the street and the included breakfast is one of the best I've seen for this type of meal. I can't think of anything negative about the place and we will be staying here again soon. Did I tell you the staff and service are excellent.
p.s. on another note I recommend the amphibus tour at the top of the hill(if you can sit on the right side of the bus).

Room Tip: The gym and breakfast area are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Everything about our stay at the Business Inn was great. The location, the service, the quality of bedding, towels, toiletries, and all other things that are for our use were excellent. Rooms are super clean and room service is great. The breakfast had an excellent variety. Great gym and awesome facility to do free laundry. This hotel is centrally located close to everything a visitor would need. An all around fantastic experience. Highly recommend. Would stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Do not let the fact that the price of a room is somewhat on the economical side to fool you, and do not conclude about the interior just from the external view. On the contrary, what you get per $ is above and beyond expectations. A clean, wide, well equipped suite, with an excellent bed. Devoted personal service, a nice breakfast, and last but not least, the hotel is located 12 minutes walk (measured) from the Parliament and the downtown shopping area. In my opinion, the best choice Ottawa can offer.

Room Tip: Read my reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Business Inn in MacLaren Street is the perfect place for a short to medium term stay in Ottawa. With a full size kitchen and a spacious room the traveller can cook at home and spread out comfortably, however there is a wide range of well priced restaurants in the neighbourhood. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The price is very reasonable. A big plus is the free WiFi, but also a desktop computer, printer and paper are great additions. Close to all the attractions, I will definitely return and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: splash out on the Suites, the rate is very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie-Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is hotel is spotless. It is an older building but the cleanliness of it makes it so much better than some of the fancier places in the area. The rooms are spacious, there is a computer and printer in every room.
The gym is small but more than adequate, the equipment is always in good working order.
The staff are the real gems here, they are always so pleasant and very obliging.

Highly recommend this wonderful place with its great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjejermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Property: The Business Inn & Suites
Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing