We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lord Elgin(Ottawa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,686)
Filter reviews
1,686 results
Traveller rating
961
567
104
40
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
567
104
40
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesktop computerfree laundryfull kitchensignature suiteair purifiersnack bagbreakfast sandwichsteamersmade to order breakfastliving roomhuge tvbreakfast roomparliament hillelgin styogurtan applecomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,064 - 1,069 of 1,686 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Spacious, clean rooms, nicely located to all things downtown, great breakfast included and affordable! Price of parking seems steep. Lots of room if travelling with pre-teen kids. Older kids might complain about the quality of the hide-a-bed. Kitchen is well-equipped if you want to save $ on meals but lots of restaurants are close by as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JnJmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This Hotel is amazing value! Big spacious clean rooms with kitchenettes! The bed was massive and extremely comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone on a budget! They have a little complimentary breakfast in the morning as a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went to Ottawa for a quick getaway and stayed at the Business Inn as its location on Elgin Street is a very convenient. The clerk had my reservation and was friendly and informative at check-in as was the staff when I checked out. We stayed in the smallest suite but it still had an aisle kitchen complete with dishes, glassware cutlery a few pots and even paper towel! Good enough for making lunches and breakfasts and even a light dinner. Breakfast is included but we slept in so didn't take advantage. The TV was huge; there are computers and printers in the room and the printers are stocked with paper. We had a comfortable queen sized bed and couch in the room. The bathroom was small but clean and adequate. In hockey season this section of Elgin is known as the Sens Mile and the area has tons of hockey spirit when the Sens are playing. There are many bars and restaurants all within an easy walk and Maclaren's, a pub/pool hall with very friendly staff and good food is located on the ground floor. It's just a 5-10 minute drive from Parliament Hill, many museums, Art Centre and the Market area so a great location for sightseers. There is no pool but they have a gym. Because of the kitchen I think the larger suites might be good for families with small children to use as a base for touring the nation's capital.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TriniJuneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Been a very frequent guest here and really enjoy the location. Everything u need is within reach, bars, candy store, restaurants, Starbucks, about a 10 minute walk to Rideau centre and main bus area. It is a suite (kitchen Included hotel) and the closest grocery store is the Hartman's on bank street about 15 minute walk. There is no pool, no sauna. The rooms are clean and don't smell and also some have balconies. The bathroom products are decent. Neutrogena soup and hotel shampoo isn't bad. The kitchen has what u need for simple meals, missing some items (chef knife, measuring cup, bowls, cuting boards) this is common in most rooms so pre check what u have to work with before u do the big grocery list trip. The bed is very plush pillow top and the pillows are nice and plush. Crisp linens and an actual duvet! The hotel staff are quick, kind and helpful. Mark at front desk is very professional and helpful. The late night agent is helpful as well and sometimes calls to see if everything i need is in place and order. The luxury hotels in Ottawa dont do this!! Never an issue with extending check out if needed or luggage storage. The building is old so you will need to request heaters sent up during winter months we found but its nothing big to deter the good impression. Only certain areas cold. The television is huge and the channels selections are much more of an offering than ur typical hotel (national geographic, TMN, etc). Also having a personal computer with a printer in your room for you is a plus and unique to any hotel in the city. Breakfast is pretty stocked. There is a person working making breakfast sandwiches and there's continental stuff and take out grab and go breakfasts (apple, water, cookies, candy and yogurt). Very unique. The breakfast room is unappealling and old and smells bad as there is no proper food cooking vents or area but it works. There are washers and dryers available on floor 4 as well. I wish they had a loyalty program as we are there very often. I recommend to others and enjoy this hotel for the price and what u Get. Some remodelling needs to be done but this place is a winner in my books! Rate it a 3 star

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CanJAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for one very cold Ottawa evening in January 2014. Reception/check-in/check-out were efficient. Me and my wife booked a signature suite, which was indeed rather spacious (700 square feet or something), and very competitive pricing. Very large TV in bedroom with what looked like a very comprehensive listing of cable stations. In-room wifi was generally reliable. Full kitchen, including oven, would certainly be useful for longer stays. Used the in-room computer printer to print out some boarding passes for an upcoming flight, which again is a rather nice feature. Restaurant below/adjoining the hotel was OK...standard bar stuff. Sleep was fine. Only drawback was that the rooms are kind of showing their age and feel a little "institutionalized".

When considering everything, it is a very good hotel, would recommend, and would stay again. Especially recommended for people staying in Ottawa for a few weeks or even a month.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews