We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN AMAZING OTTAWA HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
409 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“AN AMAZING OTTAWA HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I have seen the Business Inn in Ottawa on numerous occasions since it is just around the corner from where our son lives. We've stayed at a number of other hotels in the area because it is very close to everything.

This was our first stay at the Business Inn and it will not be our last. Our experience was totally positive. While this is an older property, they get everything right. The place is very clean and well maintained. We were given an upgrade to a Suite which had a separate bedroom, its own computer and printer station and a proper kitchen. The hotel offers a choice of above-ground and underground parking at a reasonable cost. The complimentary breakfast which the hotel offers was a real bonus and included many items which are normally not part of a usual continental breakfast. What stands out is the high quality and professional service provided by the front desk staff.

We will definitely stay at the Business Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    445
    85
    37
    12
See reviews for
336
509
105
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed at Business inn & suites 7-10 April one bed room suite. Spacious suite with full kitchen. Centrally located in Ottawa downtown, 10 minutes walk from Parliament hill. Plenty of eating places and public transport. Desktop computer & printer available in the room. Only needs new furniture.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

You might say hotel is not smoking brand new or not a top 5 stars hotel in heart of Ottawa but believe me. I had being in many hotels in many countries and i have not felt so cozy, like in family place as in this hotel. When i first open the door i though i was getting into my bachelor's appt many years ago (of course without the mess)

Room 606 was nice layout. It does not give the impression you are in a hotel but at home. They take care of details on even having one of those power outlets with usb output for smartphones chargers. Tv's i bet is similar or better than one at home. Remote controllers are even high class Harmony 650!

At front desk Cesar was kind, offering great input on the city and providing great service. This is the kind of people you should love to have helping your business to grow.

True, i was only one night. But being in so many hotels you learn to see what you need to see.

Breakfast room is big. Even being a continental service you have a dedicated helper.

I believe hotel location couldn't be better.

For the price, conditions, commodity, location withing a city, service and quality i bet you wont be able to match a better hotel in Ottawa.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ERRveneno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

On this trip to Ottawa I decided to give The Business Inn a try. I must admit that this decision was influenced by the reviews that I read in advance on Trip Advisor. I have stayed at a couple of other hotels in Ottawa in the past (and those stays were terrific) but they can get to be expensive, and on this occasion I needed to be a little more budget conscience. I must agree with others who have reviewed this place that you get good value for your money. Don't expect brand new looking furnishings, or modern looking bathrooms, but the room/hallways were clean and everything worked. Although I brought my laptop and there was wi-fi, the hotel also provided a desktop computer in the room that had internet access. Our room also had a kitchen, but our stay was short enough that we did not use anything other than the refrigerator and the coffee maker. We did take in the complementary breakfast, and while it might not rival those offered by some chain hotels, it was fine. A nice extra however was that you could grab a bag from a cooler that contained an apple, a Nutrigrain bar, a small bottled water, and some prepackaged cookies to take for lunch (and if you so desire throw in some other stuff from the cooler such as some cheese snacks and yogurt).

As I was driving to Ottawa on this occasion, there was a $15 a day charge for parking - which I was aware of in advance - and I was assigned an underground spot. Access into the garage is controlled by the front desk staff, so I do believe it is a relatively secure area - and given the hotel's location meant that I could leave my vehicle there and walk to wherever I wanted to go (Parliament Hill, Byward Market, Rideau Centre). I did find the smell in the garage to be a little strong - as the garbage bins are in the parking area - but I did not have to spend much time there so it was not a major problem for me.

Bottom line is - as others have said - that given the location of The Business Inn and the rate that they charge, you do get good value for your money, and I would consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a great experience at The Business Inn. The staff were friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to be accommodating when I made an error with my reservation. The rooms were very clean and everything worked. The bed was extremely comfortable and the suite well appointed. The free breakfast was done very well with lots of choices including a freshly made hot breakfast sandwich. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at The Business Inn for one night. Since it was once an apartment building, the rooms are large and equipped with a kitchen. The hotel is located in the downtown core which makes it easy for walking to the major attractions in Ottawa. I would definitely recommend the hotel because of its location and the comfortable beds. The hotel also offers a breakfast which is certain to keep one satisfied for the day.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you choose a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blind Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Huge room....no upgrade asked for and bonus....a kitchenette and a remote for the BIG TV that really worked
Breakfast room on the 3rd floor was well stocked and you could even grab a bagged breakfast to go. Very nice touch.
Staff were helpful even if the Taxi companies did not always cooperate:).

We only stayed 5 days but anyone needing longer term stays for business would not be disappointed....oh yeah the computer and operating printer in the room was a nice surprise!
You can walk almost anywhere (not at -25) and the bus is right down the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#16 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Property: The Business Inn & Suites
Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing