We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew S, Guest Services at The Business Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Business Inn for the second time, the first time being >4 years ago. While it is not a fancy or high end hotel, once again I was extremely impressed by the service and all the included 'extras'. For $119/night, I got a large suite with separate bedroom and spacious living/dining room. Would highly recommend The Business Inn to anyone travelling to Ottawa, whether on business or with families.

PROS:
- Excellent value
- Excellent service, friendly staff
- Spacious rooms
- Well equipped kitchen
- Free laundry (they also provide detergent)
- Computer workstation with printer in every room
- Free Wifi (of course)
- Great location with lots within walking distance, including plenty of restaurants

CONS:
- Furniture/décor is a bit dated (but clean/well maintained)
- The air conditioning machine in the bedroom was quite noisy
- Rooms facing Elgin Street can be noisy on weekends

SUGGESTIONS:
- Would have loved to have a Nespresso machine in the room! A few tea selections in the room would have been nice as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomvula_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Huge apartment, great welcoming staff, underground parking facility although comes at 15$ a day but convenient, nice hot breakfast, even a breakfast to go bag while you leave, a printer and a computer in every room- may be the only hotel equipped with everything any traveller would need...

Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter100169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am in Ottawa at least 60 days per year. About 4 months ago, I decided to move from the hotel I used to go to. I checked on trip advisor and found this great place.It fits my needs perfectly. Very large bed, big tv with many french chanels, free internet, free breakfast with cheese, muffins, fruits,yogourt, cereals, orange juice etc..full kitchen and all that for a very small price. The front staff is very friendly and they always welcome me by my name when I enter the door. It might seems funny to some people but it is very important for me. I could not support anymore going to an hotel where after more than 100 times , most of the staff was still asking for a picture to confirm my reservation. The first time that I spoke to Josh, it felt like home. It is not a fancy hotel like some of the hotels, I went to. There is no view but it fits my needs perfectly and I like the student ambiance of the area. For the price,it is the best deal in Ottawa by far.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montreal011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Previous reviews are accurate, the rooms (apartments) are huge.

A little dated but everything in my room was in good order

Large balconies, big kitchen and living/dining areas.

Location is good, prices are great ( I paid $109) and parking is only $15 a night.

If your looking for value or an inexpensive apartment, this is it.

Bottom line, I'd come here again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Global4755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When we got to our room, the bed was very small, very uncomfortable, and we had requested a queen. In addition, the shower curtain was broken. However, they moved us to another room, which was much larger, remodeled and had a large bed. It was a suite with a lovely view, and nice kitchen and bath. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Josh took the time to tell us of things to do and where to find them on the map. Good experience.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Business Inn in a Executive Suite, which included a PC with printer, large screen TV, full kitchen, suit steamer. I could go on and on about all the little extras. Their attention to details and amenities is impressive!
One of the other things that impressed me was the free laundry. A large number of washers and dryers setup for guest use.
The breakfast included breakfast sandwich prepared individually by staff, plus the usual yogurt, fruit and cereals. Also prepared lunch\snack bags.
One of the biggest plus was location. Pubs, restaurants and grocery stores all very close and still only short walking distance to Parliament, the Market District and a Mall. We enjoyed several late night walks along the canal. We will be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Suite. It is worth the small increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lord Elgin
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
398 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
#13 of 68 in Ottawa
795 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 68 in Ottawa
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: £61 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing